Online Newspapers
Many newspapers and newswires published in Latin America are available online in news databases. The following are available to UCLA students.
- Access World News - Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full-text of key international news sources, including 42 newspapers and newswires from Latin America and the Caribbean. Also includes local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers. - Caribbean Newspapers 1718-1876 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of 18th and 19th-century Caribbean newspapers. Colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, New World slavery with a comprehensive resource for studying the development of Western society.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic and minority press in America. Includes La Opinion. - Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Worldwide full-text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, business-rich Web sites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country/company profiles. - Latin America Digital Beat / Data Base This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An online news service that produced three weekly electronic news bulletins about Mexico (SourceMex), Central America and the Caribbean including Cuba (NotiCen) and South America (NotiSur) which ceased publication April 30, 2018. Produced by the University of New Mexico. The LADB webpage and archive will remains online and accessible to current subscribers. - Latin American Newspapers from the World Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
More than 35 fully searchable newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere. Latin American Newspapers offers unprecedented coverage of the people, issues, and events that shaped this vital region between 1805 and 1922. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text news (including broadcast transcripts), business, legal, and reference information. Useful for finding full-text of current performing arts and media industry news in major newspapers. Includes biographical information from Who's Who titles. Formerly LexisNexis Academic. - U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text dating back to the 1980s for five of the nation’s major newspapers, including the New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal.
- Historic Mexican and Mexican-American PapersThis project at the University of Arizona "documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s."
- U.S. Hispanic Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes titles from around the U.S., including El Diario/LA PRENSA (New York City), La Opinión (Los Angeles), Conexión (San Antonio) and Extra (Chicago).
Find Newspapers at UCLA and Beyond
Microfilm holdings of Latin American newspapers can be difficult to locate. Use the links below to search for the newspaper title and location of holdings. UCLA faculty and students may request microfilm on interlibrary loan from other institutions.
- WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
In advanced search, search title, city of publisher location, limit to serial publications, sub-type limit microform. - Center for Research Libraries (CRL) Online Catalog This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A directory of over 6,000 newspaper titles published outside the United States available at the Center for Research Libraries.
- ICONInternational Coalition on Newspapers database of over 25,000 records pertaining to global newspapers and holding libraries.
- Library of Congress NewspapersForeign newspapers currently received by LC and Commonly used foreign newspapers on microfilm. Also search LC's library catalog for titles of newspapers.
- Current Latin American Newspaper Holdings in UK LibrariesThis provisional census of Latin American newspaper holdings in United Kingdom libraries covers runs from 1970 to the present.