Google Scholar Metrics
- Top Journals in Latin American StudiesCalculated automatically by Google Scholar.
Core Journals
You can use article databases to search across hundreds of journals by subject. But sometimes you just want to browse through a few top journals to keep abreast of current research. Below are some of the major journals in Latin American Studies.
- Hispanic American Historical ReviewPioneered the study of Latin American history and culture in the United States and today, stands as the most widely respected journal in the field.
- Journal of Latin American StudiesPresents recent research in the field of Latin American studies in economics, geography, politics, international relations, sociology, social anthropology, economic history and cultural history. Includes an extensive section of book reviews.
- Latin American PerspectivesDiscusses and debates the political economies of capitalism, imperialism, and socialism in the Americas offering a vital multidisciplinary view.
- Latin American Research reviewThe leading interdisciplinary scholarly journal on Latin America. Publishes in-depth refereed articles as well as bibliographic essays that critically review new literature in the field.
- Luso-Brazilian ReviewInterdisciplinary scholarship on Portuguese, Brazilian, and Lusophone African cultures.
Journal Directories and Collections
Use these sources to identify journals published in or about Latin America. Most article databases also provide lists of journals indexed.
- Central American JournalsDirectory of journals published in Central America.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)DOAJ's mission is to increase the visibility, accessibility, reputation, usage and impact of quality, peer-reviewed, open access scholarly research journals globally, regardless of discipline, geography or language.
- ISI Journal Citation ReportsResource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from over 8,400 scholarly and technical journals worldwide. Coverage is both multidisciplinary and international. Contains citation data on journals.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text back issues of core scholarly journals, browsable and searchable across multiple disciplines. Coverage starts with first issue, with moving wall for most recent 3-5 years. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books only. JSTOR also includes primary source collections, including images from Artstor.
- MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new windowProvides information on journals and book series that cover literature, literary theory, dramatic arts, folklore, language, linguistics, pedagogy, rhetoric and composition, and the history of printing and publishing. Articles published in works listed in the directory are indexed in the MLA International Bibliography.
- SciELO This link opens in a new windowScientific Electronic Library Online, a JSTOR-like project for Latin America, is a model for cooperative electronic publishing of scientific journals on the Internet. Includes some social science and humanities titles. Provides scope and editorial policy.
- Ulrichsweb: Global Serials Directory This link opens in a new windowLists publication details for more than 300,000 worldwide periodicals (journals, magazines, newspapers). Includes information on which databases index specific journals and online availability of periodicals.
