Major Sources
Please note: The resources listed on this page are just a sample of what is available and constitute major repositories for the most part. For additional digital primary sources, please consult your librarian, the list at Latin American, U.S. LatinX, and Iberian Online Free E-resources (LACLI) or the Latin American & Caribbean Digital Primary Sources database from SALALM (Seminar on the Acquisition of Latin American Library Materials).
- Archives of the Presbyterian Church of Cuba Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The records of the Iglesia Presbiteriana-Reformada en Cuba (IPRC) and predecessor Presbyterian churches and missions in Cuba, including a complete run of Heraldo Cristiano, the church’s newsletter, 1919 – 2010 includes session minutes and membership/baptism/marriage/death records, as well as minutes of men’s, women’s, and youth groups, including their mission work in their communities.
- Castro Speech DatabaseIncludes speeches, interviews, etc., by Fidel Castro from 1959 to 1996. All texts are in English.
- Cuban Culture and Cultural Relations, 1959-. Part 1, "Casa y Cultura" This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary-source collection of ca. 45,000 fully-searchable documents from the Casa de las Américas in Havana, documenting the culture and cultural relations of Revolutionary Cuba and countries in Latin America and the Caribbean.
- Cuban Culture and Cultural Relations, 1959-, Part 2: Writers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary-source collection that documents the literary, intellectual and cultural milieu of Revolutionary Cuba. Sourced from the archives of the Casa de las Américas in Havana, it provides access to files covering more than a thousand writers, thinkers and artists from Cuba and abroad.
- International Digital Ephemera ProjectDigitized resources from Cuban institutions, including film posters, newspapers, and magazines.
- Socialism on Film: The Cold War and International Propaganda This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba. Browse sub-collections for more on subjects covered.
- University of Miami Cuban Heritage CollectionsDigitized materials from the CHC focus on the Cuban exile community in Florida and elsehwere.
- World Communism: Pamphlets From McMaster University (Archives Unbound) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection contains un-catalogued pamphlets pertaining to communism, socialism, and class struggle. The pamphlets are global in scope, although they are all in English unless otherwise noted. The bulk of the collection originates from China and Soviet Russia during the post-WWII period, although Cuba and Britain are strongly represented as well.