Research Assistance
Research assistance in the social sciences and humanities is available at the Charles E. Young Research Library. See Reference and Research Help for complete reference service options.
UC Library Search
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
UC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
Browse UCLA Holdings by Language
- Digitized UC BooksUC's copies of our mass-digitized books and serials are loaded into HathiTrust. In addition, our digitization partners (Google and Internet Archive) also host copies of the UC books they have digitized. In all cases, copyright status determines whether books can be viewed in full.
- Early Arabic Printed Books from the British Library
This link opens in a new window
Covers 1475-1900, with searchable full-text books in subjects including religion, law, science, literature, history, and travel. Includes European translations of Arabic works and Arabic translations of European books. - Noor Digital Library
- This link opens in a new window
Noor Digital Library is a website affiliated with the Computer Research Center of Islamic Sciences. It identifies and offers digital books of humanities and Islamic knowledge, with access to scientific texts and resources.
E-books beyond UCLA
Below is a selection of e-books and e-book collections. Some are freely available, others are subscription services, so remote access may be necessary when accessing from off-campus.
- Bibliotheca Alexandrina Digital Assets RepositoryAn institutional repository of Bibliotheca Alexandrina (BA) digital collections.
- Bibliothek GoussenContains prints in Western classical and modern languages, but predominantly prints in oriental languages such as Syrian, Coptic, Ethiopian, Arabic, Armenian and Georgian languages from the 16th to the 20th century.
- Collections électroniques de l’Institut français du Proche-Orient"Le site des collections électroniques de l’Institut français du Proche-Orient offre en libre accès une sélection d’ouvrages scientifiques en texte intégral..."
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A repository of scanned books contributed from academic institutions across the United States, including UCLA. Books still in copyright are scanned and searchable, but the full text scans will not become available online until their copyright expires.
- Ircica Farabi Digital LibraryDigital collections comprising materials on Ottoman periodicals, Ottoman yearbooks, international relations, maps, historical photographs, Turkish literature, calligraphy, and other topics.
- MENAdocThe MENAdoc - Digital Collections is one of the central components of the German Research Foundation (DFG) Specialised Information Service for Middle East, North African and Islamic Studies' digital services.