Research Assistance
Research assistance in the social sciences and humanities is available at the Charles E. Young Research Library. See Reference and Research Help for complete reference service options.
Databases and Indexes
See also the A to Z list of all databases to which the UCLA Library subscribes.
The databases and indexes below are particularly useful for Middle Eastern Studies. Some are freely available, and others are subscription services, so remote access may be necessary when accessing from off-campus.
Arabic
- Dar-Almandumah This link opens in a new window*NEW* (July 2022) Provides access to databases with full-text content of Arabic scientific conferences, dissertations, and academic journals from 1921 to present day. Includes the following: EduSearch, HumanIndex, IslamicInfo, AraBase, EcoLink, and Mandumah Dissertations.
- Digital Library for International Research - Middle East Research Journals ProjectProvides article-level indexing and bibliographic access to over 2,000 selected Middle Eastern journal titles in various languages (including four non-Roman script languages: Arabic, Greek, Hebrew, and Ottoman Turkish).
- ShamaaThe Arab Educational Information Network (Shamaa) is an online database that documents educational research carried out in Arab countries in all fields of education, in the three languages, Arabic, French and English, providing free access to researchers and those interested in educational research. Shamaa collects educational bibliographic data on books, articles, reports and university dissertations (master's and doctoral) from universities, colleges of education, research centers, publishing houses, journals, ministries and regional and international organizations in the Arab world. Bibliographic reports and abstracts are then prepared and in some cases full texts are made available.
Turkish
- TR IndexThe TR Index consists of journals in the main fields of Science and Social Sciences, and subfields of Dentistry, Pharmacy, Engineering, Basic Sciences, Health Sciences, Veterinary Medicine, Social Sciences and Humanities.
- DergiParkHosts more than 2500 Turkish journals inclusive of 500,000 articles.
General
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new windowFull-text coverage of more than 600 journals and 220 books on "a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design." It wholly incorporates and significantly expands on the coverage and contents of the Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective databases. Indexes illustrations. Coverage: late 1920s-present.
- ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new windowIndex to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all scholarly fields of religion; includes articles written in 36 languages.
- Index Islamicus This link opens in a new windowIndex to literature on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Includes citations to over 2,000 journals, conference proceedings, monographs, and book reviews from 1906 to present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowIndexes worldwide publications on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, television, and theater from 1923 to the present. See also the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
- Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) This link opens in a new windowFull text access to international, scholarly literature in the arts, humanities and social sciences journals from the first issue to 2005 or ceased date that indexed are in the Periodicals Index Online.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowFull text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.
Europe
- IBZ Online This link opens in a new windowInternationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur is a multilingual database indexing over 5600 periodicals, including a significant proportion of the periodicals published on the European continent, 1983 to the present.
- DigiZeitschriften This link opens in a new windowGerman periodicals (subscription and open access) in the following areas of research: arts, economics, education, Egyptology and Coptology, English language and literature, geology, Germanic language and literature, history, law, librarianship, music, oriental studies, philology, philosophy, religion, Romance language and literature, sciences, sociology.
- FRANCIS This link opens in a new windowAn index to European journal articles in the humanities and social sciences. Multiple languages, 1972 to 2015. FRANCIS is no longer being updated.