Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics
This link opens in a new window
Comprehensively covers all aspects of Arabic languages and linguistics. It is interdisciplinary in scope and represents different schools and approaches in order to be as objective and versatile as possible.
- Encyclopaedia of Islam This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes the first, second, and third editions of the Encyclopaedia of Islam, as well as An Historical Atlas of Islam.
- Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World (Macmillan Reference, 2004)
- This link opens in a new window
This encyclopedia looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in the context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries. Containing thematic articles, biographies of key figures, definitions, illustrations, maps and more, this new encyclopedia fills a need in this key area of religious studies. - Encyclopaedia Islamica
- This link opens in a new window
Based on the abridged and edited translation of the Persian Dāʾirat al-Maʿārif-i Buzurg-i Islāmī, one of the most comprehensive sources on Islam and the Muslim world. Important attention given to Shiʿi Islam, the Persian contribution to Islamic civilization, and the spiritual dimensions of the Islamic tradition. - Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures
- This link opens in a new window
Online edition of this major multi-volume work on numerous aspects of religion and culture, encompassing many geographic regions. - Gazetteer of the Persian Gulf, Oman and Central Arabia Online
- This link opens in a new window
The Gazetteer of the Persian Gulf, Oman and Central Arabia is one of the most important European primary sources for the study of the modern Gulf region from the 17th to the early 20th century. - Oxford Islamic studies Online
- This link opens in a new window
This authoritative, dynamic resource brings together the best current scholarship in the field for students, scholars... to foster a more accurate and informed understanding of the Islamic world. Features reference content and commentary by renowned scholars in areas such as global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture, and is regularly updated as new content is commissioned and approved.
- Qurʾānic Studies Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of five online reference tools:
Dictionary of Qurʾanic Usage
Early Western Korans Online
Encyclopaedia of the Qurʾān
Encyclopedia of Canonical Ḥadīth Online
Qurʾān Concordance
Indexes and Bibliographies
- Arabic Literature of Africa Online
- This link opens in a new window
A bio-bibliography on the Arabic manuscript tradition in the African continent, which continued well into the 20th century CE. It offers authoritative information about African authors, the texts they wrote in Arabic, the manuscripts in which these texts are found, and the locations of these manuscripts, together with bibliographical references to the literature. - Bibliography of Arabic Books
- This link opens in a new window
Contains almost 100,000 bibliographical records from the National Library in Egypt, the British Library, and the Library of Congress. Focuses on books published in Arabic before 1960. - Brockelmann Online
- This link opens in a new window
Carl Brockelmann's (1868-1956) Geschichte der arabischen Litteratur offers bio-bibliographic information about works written in Arabic and their authors, with an emphasis on the classical period. Individual entries typically consist of a biographical section and a list of the author’s works in manuscript and print, with references to secondary literature. - Brockelmann in English
- This link opens in a new window
This online publication is the English translation of Brockelmann's famous Geschichte der Arabischen Litteratur (GAL).
- Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to literature on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Includes citations to over 2,000 journals, conference proceedings, monographs, and book reviews from 1906 to present.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Islamic Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Annotated bibliographies for topics in the field of Islamic Studies. Combines encyclopedia-style introductions with expert recommendations of the most important reference works, books, journals, and primary sources on the topic.
Dictionaries
Arabic
- Ejtaal.net Arabic AlmanacThis is one of the best resources for Arabic. Searches multiple Arabic dictionaries as once, showing full page scans of original pages. Includes Lane, Hava, Wehr, Penrice, Steingass, and more. Updated frequently.
- E.W. Lane, Arabic-English LexiconAvailable online in PDF
Turkish
Farsi
- Vajehyab (Farsi)Searches multiple Persian dictionaries and provides other resources.
- Dehkhoda's DictionarySearch the whole of Dehkhoda's Loghatnameh online.
Calendar Conversions
Romanization Tables
Click the links below to see Library of Congress Romanization tables, which you will need in order to locate UCLA Library holdings: