Online Archival Resources
Search the following databases in order to locate archival collections:
- ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window Searches finding aids for historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in libraries, museums, and archives around the world. Researchers searching ArchiveGrid can learn about the items in each of these collections, contact archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, and order copies.
- California Architecture Collections Search Portal Search within Online Archive of California finding aids for materials relating to the architecture of California. NB: This custom search only returns records with the terms “architect*” (architecture, architect, architectural, etc.) and “ca*” (California, Calif., CA, etc.) in subject headings.
- Online Archive of California (OAC) This link opens in a new window Finding aids for primary source collections in all UC campuses and other contributing institutions, including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California.
- WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window OCLC FirstSearch catalog includes citations for books, journals, manuscripts, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, computer files, newspapers, slides, videotapes, archival material, etc., in libraries around the world.
This link opens in a new window
- The AIA Historical Directory of American Architects The AIA Historical Directory helps you locate information about past U.S. architects in the AIA Archives and elsewhere.
- Archives of American Art - Architecture & Design Collections The Research Collections at the Archives of American Art include records of prominent architects such as Marcel Breuer, architectural historians such as Ester McCoy, and architectural publications such as Arts & Architecture.
- Cooperative Preservation of Architectural Records (COPAR) Contact information for the COPAR National Effort and the regional and local COPAR Committees. COPAR was established to encourage the preservation of architectural records, and to serve as a clearinghouse of information on the location, preservation, and cataloging of these documents.
- Historic American Buildings Survey/Historic American Engineering Record/Historic American Landscapes Survey Achives of the Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS), the Historic American Engineering Record (HAER), and the Historic American Landscapes Survey (HALS) in the Prints and Photographs Division of the Library of Congress.
- ICAM: International Confederation of Architectural Museums An organisation of architectural museums, centers and collections, dedicated to fostering links between all those interested in promoting the better understanding of architecture (includes a directory of member museums and collections).
- International Council on Archives, Section on Architectural Records (SAR) An organization that aims to to encourage the identification and the preservation of architectural records and to be a forum for all persons responsible for the care of architectural records.
- National Register of Historic Places The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation.
- Landscape Architecture Archives Collection A directory of landscape architecture archives, maintained by the American Society of Landscape Architects
Archival Resources at UCLA
The Special Collections Department in the Young Research Library houses several important architectural archives, including the collections of architects A. Quincy Jones, Richard Neutra and Lloyd Wright. The Max and Rita Lawrence papers document architectural pottery and other items associated with modern Los Angeles architecture and the S. Charles Lee drawings and photographs, documents the evolution of motion picture theater buildings. Papers of landscape architects include Ralph D. Cornell, Edward Huntsman-Trout, Ruth Shellhorn, Florence Yoch and Philip E. Chandler and there are also records of the American Institute of Landscape Architects. Consult the following links for additional collection information:
- UCLA Library Digital Collections This link opens in a new windowRare and unique digital materials developed by the UCLA Library to support education, research, service, and creative expression, including the AIDS Poster Collection, the Los Angeles Times Photographic Archive and more.
- Calisphere: Cornell (Ralph D.) papersPhotographs of Ralph D. Cornell, who was supervising landscape architect at UCLA from 1937-72. Some of Cornell's other landscape architecture projects included Pomona College, Torrey Pines Park, Los Angeles Music Center, and La Brea Tar Pits.
- Calisphere: Lee (S. Charles) PapersDrawings, renderings, blueprints, photographs, and surveys relating to the professional career of architect S. Charles Lee. Most of the collection reflects his work as a developer and the most prolific architect of art deco movie palaces in Los Angeles.
- Calisphere: Pierce (C.C.) Photographic CollectionCharles C. Pierce (1861-1946) was a pioneer Los Angeles photographer. He came to Los Angeles in 1886 documented the people architecture of the area. Los Angeles is well represented with views of downtown streets, commercial and civic buildings, and residential areas.
- Calisphere: Tract Maps and Cadastral Maps of Southern California CollectionThe tract and cadastral maps in this collection are of real estate developments located in Los Angeles, Orange, Riverside and Ventura counties.
- Photographs from the Ralph D. Cornell Papers, 1925-1972Ralph D. Cornell was the supervising landscape architect at UCLA from 1937-72. Some of Cornell's other landscape architecture projects included Pomona College, Torrey Pines Park, Los Angeles Music Center, and La Brea Tar Pits.
- Pierce (C.C.) Photographic Collection. [Southern California photographs from 1898-1934]Collection consists of historic negatives and prints. Most are of Southern California scenes.
- Richard and Dion Neutra Papers, 1925-1970. [Architectural drawings and travel sketches]A collection of modernist architect Richard Neutra's architectural and non-architectural art works, including photographs and drawings of his structures, architectural drafts and sketches, small paintings, intaglio prints, travel sketches and descriptive manuscripts.
- S. Charles Lee, ArchitectPhotographs relating to Lee's professional career including his work as a developer and the most prolific architect of art deco movie palaces in Los Angeles.
- S. Charles Lee Papers, 1919-1962. [Art deco movie theatre images]Drawings, renderings, blueprints, photographs, and surveys relating to the professional career of architect S. Charles Lee, including the Bruin Theatre in Westwood, the Los Angeles Theatre, and the Los Angeles Tower Theatre.
The UCLA Archives houses records related to the history of the UCLA campus, including records related to campus planning and building projects. Consult the following links for additional collection information:
- Calisphere: Cornell (Ralph D.) papersPhotographs of Ralph D. Cornell, who was supervising landscape architect at UCLA from 1937-72. Some of Cornell's other landscape architecture projects included Pomona College, Torrey Pines Park, Los Angeles Music Center, and La Brea Tar Pits.
- Calisphere: UCLA Historic PhotographsThe UCLA Historic Photographs collection is drawn from many collections held in the UCLA University Archives. Many photographs in this collection are drawn from the photographs taken by Thelner Hoover. The images in the collection range from the State Normal School in 1925 through 1982.
- Hoover Collection: Images of UCLAFrom the Thelner and Louise Hoover Collection of Photographs of UCLA, 1927-82; photographer Thelner Hoover was UCLA Class of 1930 alumnus.
- UCLA Historic PhotographsA collection of 310 black and white photographs related to the history of UCLA, beginning with the Vermont Avenue Campus in 1927; the Westwood campus groundbreaking ceremony in 1927; the construction of Royce Hall, the Powell Library building and Kinsey Hall (the Physics building); models of the earliest buildings, and the moving days to the Westwood campus, among others. A highlight includes the photographs of the first snowfall on campus.
- UCLA University Archives (searched through the Online Archive of California)Includes records for UCLA's academic and administrative units, such as Capital Programs, Planning Office, Campus Architects and Engineers, and more.
Note that access to some records is RESTRICTED and may require prior permission of the UCLA Capital Programs office before access is granted. - University Archives, UCLA Library Special CollectionsThe UCLA University Archives identifies, collects, arranges, describes, preserves, and provides access to official university records in all formats, including electronic, that document the history of administrative offices and departments, academic departments and programs, related organizations, and activities of faculty, staff, students, and alumni.
- Elmer Belt Library of VincianaPart of UCLA Library Special Collections, the Elmer Belt Library is a special collection of books and materials concerning Leonardo da Vinci and the Italian Renaissance. The Library was given to UCLA in 1961 by Dr. Elmer Belt, a Professor Emeritus in the UCLA School of Medicine and a collector of Vinciana for over sixty years.
- William Andrews Clark Memorial LibraryLocated in the historic West Adams neighborhood of Los Angeles, UCLA’s Clark Library is a rare book and manuscript library specializing in the study of England and the Continent from the Tudor period through the long eighteenth century. Other subject strengths include Oscar Wilde, book arts and fine press printing, and Montana and the West. The Clark Library is open to anyone who wishes to conduct research with its holdings.
Southern California Special Collections and Archives
Selected sources for images of Southern California architecture, including repositories of architectural archives.
- Architecture, Landscape Design, and Planning (The Huntington Library, Art Museum, and Botanical Gardens)The Huntington's principal architecture and planning holdings relate to Southern California. The Library holds approximately 35,000 plans, renderings, photographs, and project records from around 1900 through the 1950s. Chief among these are archives for some of the region's most important architects: Morgan, Walls & Clements, Wallace Neff, James Dolena, Florence Yoch and Lucile Council, Edward Warren Hoak, the Foss Construction Company, and Samuel Lunden.
- Architecture and Design Collection, UC Santa Barbara Art, Design and Architecture Museum Please see the List of Collections at: for specific information about the AD&A Museum's holdings.
- SCI-Arc Media ArchiveThe SCI-Arc Media Archive hosts over 1000 hours of continually–updated videos of architecture and design lectures, symposia and events featuring the most significant voices in architecture since 1974.