Online Current Newspapers
UCLA subscribes to a number of databases with current newspaper content from the last few years. If connecting from home, make sure your computer is configured for off-campus access.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full-text news (including broadcast transcripts), business, legal, and reference information. Useful for finding full-text of current performing arts and media industry news in major newspapers. Includes biographical information from Who's Who titles. Formerly LexisNexis Academic.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes a range of recent full text international newspapers and industry/company news in magazines like Hollywood Reporter. - Access World News — Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text world newspapers, mostly post-1980s in coverage. Especially useful for local and state news and reviews, including many California papers. - New York Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1980 to the present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times [1851-2020]
- Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search recent articles in the Los Angeles Times. - Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text, from 1984 to present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal [1889-2012].
- Irish Newspaper Archives This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of many Irish newspapers, including both historical and current content from the 1700s to current day.
- Times (London) [recent]
- This link opens in a new window
last 20 years, selected article text in LexisNexis Academic
Online Historical Newspapers
UCLA subscribes to a number of databases with both current and historical newspaper content. If connecting from home, make sure your computer is configured for off-campus access.
- ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searches all ProQuest newspapers to which UCLA subscribes, both current and historical newspapers from major U.S. cities (Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal), international news sources, and alternative press.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the first issue in 1851 to 2020. For access to current issues, see The New York Times [1980-present]. Contains the former Historical Index to the New York Times (1851-1923) from the database Historical Newspapers Online.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the first issue in 1881 to 2015. For access to current issues, see Los Angeles Times [1985-present].
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text, covering 1849-2014 of the paper. For access to current issues, see Chicago Tribune [1985-present].
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: the Wall Street Journal. This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text, from 1889 to 2012. For access to current issues, see Wall Street Journal [1984-present].
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender (including Daily Defender) is included as part of Black Studies Center (1921-2010). Proquest's Chicago Defender content does not include the newspaper's "City Edition," which is currently only available on microfilm.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the first issue in 1877 to 2007. For access to current issues, see Washington Post [1987-present].
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: San Francisco Chronicle This link opens in a new windowFull page and article images with searchable full text from the first issue as the Daily Dramatic Chronicle in 1865 to 1922.
- Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersDigital project from the Library of Congress including online access to newspapers published from between 1690-present. Search newspaper pages digitized through the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
- Boston Globe Historic ArchivesOnline database to the Boston Globe, 1872-present. UCLA does NOT have online access to the articles. Once you locate articles, check the UCLA Library Catalog to see if we have the dates you need on microfilm. If we don't have it, UCLA students, staff and faculty can request it on Interlibrary Loan.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports This link opens in a new window
The United States' principal record of political and historical open source intelligence, including transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news translated into English. Translations of print and broadcast news, Foreign Broadcast Information Service Publications 1996-2004, are available on CD-Rom. Years 1941-1996 are online in Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports.
- Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new windowFull-text 19th Century content and images from numerous newspapers, including a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Times of India This link opens in a new window
Complete issues of the widely circulated English daily newspaper, 1838-2011.
- Times of London Digital Archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new windowIncludes full text and page images of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials, advertising and images (excluding the Sunday Times) for 1785-2006.
- Irish Newspaper Archives This link opens in a new windowFull text of many Irish newspapers, including both historical and current content from the 1700s to current day.
- World Newspaper Archive (Center for Research Libraries) This link opens in a new window
American, African, Latin American, and South Asian newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. UCLA subscribes to a subset of this collection.
- Old Fulton Post CardsIn addition to digitized post cards, this site also contains searchable New York State historical newspapers.
- Keesing's Worldwide Online This link opens in a new windowDigest of political, social, and economic events for all countries of the world from 1931 to the present. Includes over 175,000 full text reports.
- Google News ArchiveIncludes scanned full text of historical newspapers, from select local and national papers.
Selected Newspaper Microfilm
Beyond digital access to papers and magazines, some historical content remains accessible largely through microfilm.
- Los Angeles Herald (1873-1931+)Merged with Los Angeles Express to form Los Angeles Evening Herald and Express (1931-1962). It then merged with Los Angeles Examiner to form Los Angeles Herald Examiner (1962-1989). UCLA owns microfilm for these later name changes as well.
- California Information File (1846-1985)Microfiche copy of a card file in the California State Library, indexing the Sacramento Bee, Sacramento Union, and San Francisco Chronicle.