Department of Architecture & Urban Design Links
Related Subject Guides
Research Help
Need more research help? We're here for you.
Chat with us online
Email us your quick questions
Connect with a subject specialist
Architecture and Urban Design: Selected Images
Major Online Sources
These online sources are good places to start researching most architecture and urban design topics. Consult the sources listed under the categories listed on the left of the page for additional suggestions.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- A&AePortal (Electronic Art and Architecture) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Architecture Planning and Preservation This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- RIBA British Architectural Library Catalogue (books, audio visual materials, and articles)
This link opens in a new window
- Archivision (via JSTOR, formerly ARTstor)
- This link opens in a new window
- A&AePortal (Electronic Art and Architecture) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Yale Art & Architecture ePortal is an authoritative e-book resource that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design.
- Architecture Library — Bloomsbury This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bloomsbury Architecture Library is a leading digital resource for the study of architecture, urbanism, and interior design. - Design Library - Bloomsbury This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Bloomsbury Design Library gives comprehensive global coverage of the history, theory and practice of crafts and design, from prehistoric times to the present day.
- E-books at UCLAA research guide to help you find the 1000s of e-books available in the UCLA Library.
- Getty Publications Virtual LibraryMore than 300 Getty Publications books available to read and download for free.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A repository of scanned books contributed from academic institutions across the United States, including UCLA. Books still in copyright are scanned and searchable, but the full text scans will not become available online until their copyright expires.
- Internet Archive: eBooks and TextsScanned public domain books from numerous research libraries, including some from the UC system.
- MIT Press Direct E-books, 1943-2021 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Thousands of e-books from MIT Press, including works in arts, architecture, humanities, social sciences, and sciences disciplines. - Routledge Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Handbooks covering a wide range of humanities, social sciences, psychology and some science topics, published by Routledge, Ashgate and other imprints. Some CRC Press handbooks can also be accessed via this particular site. - O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
OHE includes more than 38K computer science, engineering, business book titles from 200+ publishers, as well as video, case studies, expert playlists, audio books, and more. Includes pre-publication titles published by O'Reilly. Titles are HTML only. Replaces the Safari Tech Books Online collection.
Note: Access with Single Sign On after choosing University of California, Los Angeles from the list of institutions. Access is limited to current students, staff, and faculty at UC campuses. No community use.
- SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Immense array of books, chapters, conference proceedings and journal articles in the social sciences and sciences, published by Springer-Verlag. After searching, unclick Preview Only Content, whose materials are not under UCLA subscription. Advanced search enabled at wheel icon to right of search.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Fifteen databases, plus individual journals and e-books. Includes 2011-present IEEE-Wiley books.
- DETAIL Inspiration This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Project documentation (detailed architectural drawings, sketches, and photographs) from more than 55 years of DETAIL: Zeitschrift für Architektur & Baudetail & Einrichtung and other DETAIL publications including Structure and DETAIL Green. Updated regularly with all of the projects published in current DETAIL issues. - Art and Architecture Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Art and Architecture Archive offers an
amazing array of titles, including Architectural Review, British Journal of Photography, Graphis, Print,
and many others previously unavailable in digital form, scanned cover to cover as full-page color
images, with searchable text and article level indexing. - Architectural Digest Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers magazine issues from 1922-2011. This archive edition covers the history of design, and provides a look at culture, art, unique homes and international design concepts through the years. Also features the AD100, the Architectural Digest list of top 100 architects and interior designers worldwide. - BrowZine Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
BrowZine allows you to browse selected scholarly journals available from the UCLA Library or from open sources on your computer, tablet, iPhone or Android smartphone. Access the web version here, and learn more about both the app and BrowZine features via the Library guide. - Building Green This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Sustainable design strategies, green building materials, and case studies of high performance buildings.
- US Modernist LibraryThe "world's largest open digital collection of major US 20th-century architecture magazines, with over 3 million downloadable pages - all free to access."
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Fifteen databases, plus individual journals and e-books. Includes 2011-present IEEE-Wiley books.
- Find Journals at UCLATwo ways to search: Enter a journal title in the search box.
Use the Journals by category option to browse journals by broad subject category. - Free-access, digitised art, architecture, design and craft journals on the InternetA designinform Research Guide that provides links to digitized journals that are freely available on the Internet.
- DOAJ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Directory of Open Access Journals covers free, full text, quality-controlled scientific and scholarly journals. Aims to cover all subjects and languages.
Consult the Article Indexes and Databases page to locate articles through databases.
Additional information about locating online journals is available on the Arts Library Browsing Guide.
Connecting from Off-Campus: VPN and Proxy Tutorials
The Library's online subscription resources can always be accessed from computers and wireless networks on campus. However, off-campus access is restricted to current UCLA, students, faculty, and staff who have set up their computer using one of the methods below. Click on the other tabs to see how four Bruins got their computers set up and ready to go for remote access!
If you still need help, you can contact the UCLA IT Support Center at (310) 267-4357 or help@it.ucla.edu. They provide 24/7 phone support.
- Virtual Private Networking (VPN)A program you can download and install, or use the built-in version on many computers or mobile devices. VPN software must be logged on manually before you access a restricted site, but works for all programs on your computer. It stays connected until you log off.
- UCLA Online Proxy ServerA simple browser setting which will automatically divert you to a UCLA logon page when you first access a restricted site.
VPN on Mac with Natalie
"I chose VPN for my mac because I need to be able to access the full text of articles on different browsers." - Natalie, Environmental Science
VPN on Windows with Michael
"I chose VPN because I like the security it provides and the control it gives me as a user to manually enable or disable it when I'm browsing online." - Michael, Public Affairs
VPN on Chromebook with Nadia
"I chose VPN because it is really simple to use!" - Nadia, Public Affairs
Proxy on Mac with Kate
"I chose Proxy because I prefer logging in through a web browser without having to download any software on my computer." - Kate, Ethnic Studies