Databases
-
A&AePortal (Electronic Art and Architecture) This link opens in a new window
The Yale Art & Architecture ePortal is an authoritative e-book resource that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design.
-
Architectural Digest Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Covers magazine issues from 1922-2011. This archive edition covers the history of design, and provides a look at culture, art, unique homes and international design concepts through the years. Also features the AD100, the Architectural Digest list of top 100 architects and interior designers worldwide.
-
Building Green This link opens in a new windowSustainable design strategies, green building materials, and case studies of high performance buildings.
-
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA)Published by the Getty Research Institute of the J. Paul Getty Trust and the French Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique du Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (INIST-CNRS), BHA is the most comprehensive art bibliography available worldwide, covering European and American visual arts from late antiquity to 2009. It is continued by the International Bibliography of Art (IBA)
-
Art and Archaeology Technical AbstractsAbstracts articles from over 400 leading journals relevant to the international conservation field, as well as books and technical reports. Includes topics related to the preservation and conservation of art, architecture, and material cultural heritage. This system is free, but requires the individual user to register to take full advantage of searching options. Includes historic preservation and analysis of historic building materials.
-
Année Philologique sur l'InternetCorresponds to the printed L'Année Philologique, an international critical and analytical bibliography of ancient Greek and Latin languages and literatures and all aspects of classical studies. Includes records from 1949 to the present. 1,500 periodicals are analyzed each year as well as 500 articles in collections and conference papers. Includes classical Greek and Roman architecture.
-
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (ISI Web of Science)Indexes more than 1,144 journals and relevant items from more than 6,800 science and social sciences journals. All cited references are captured, allowing searching for articles that cite a known author or work. The default is for searching all three citation databases simultaneously (Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index), but you can also limit your search to a particular index.
-
Building Types OnlineCase studies and information about building typologies. Includes high quality architectural drawings (many vector-based) and photographs for an international collection of contemporary buildings. Updated annually.
-
Census of Antique Works of Art and Architecture Known in the RenaissanceAn Interdisciplinary research database containing documentation centering on the reception of antiquity, a focus on Renaissance studies. The antique monuments known in the Renaissance are registered together with related Renaissance documents (texts and images), and information about locations, persons, periods, and bibliographic data. the Census is useful fir art history and archeology research, and for understanding the afterlife of antiquity.
-
Pacific Coast Architecture Database (PCAD)PCAD contains information regarding the buildings and desigeners of California, Oregon, and Washington. Building records contain information about their creators (when possible) and includes historical and geographic information in addition to images when available.
-
Academic Search CompleteA multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers.
-
America: History & LifeHistorical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Indexes articles from over 1,700 history journals published worldwide since 1964.
-
Google ScholarSearches articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents, and court opinions from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other web sites.
-
JSTORFull text back issues of core scholarly journals, browsable and searchable across multiple disciplines. Coverage starts with first issue, with moving wall for most recent 3-5 years. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books only. JSTOR also includes primary source collections, including images from Artstor.
-
Nexis UniFull-text news (including broadcast transcripts), business, legal, and reference information. Useful for finding full-text of current performing arts and media industry news in major newspapers. Includes biographical information from Who's Who titles. Formerly LexisNexis Academic.
-
Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)Full text access to international, scholarly literature in the arts, humanities and social sciences journals from the first issue to 2005 or ceased date that indexed are in the Periodicals Index Online. This is a static collection, and there may be some missing issues/gaps for specific titles.
-
Project MUSEFull text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.
-
Web of ScienceA multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of most disciplines. Indexes major journals with all cited references captured. Combines the following citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI); Conference Proceedings Citation Index.