Skip to Main Content

Archival Collections at the Clark Library

A finding aid to the Clark Library's finding aids.

Oscar Wilde

Wilde's Circle and His Times

  • Beardsley (Aubrey) Collection - the Clark Library's collection of Aubrey Beardsley material, which includes original drawings, prints, prospectuses for published works, posters, and portfolios of published prints.
  • Beardsley (Aubrey), Philip S. Burns Collection on - materials related to the Aubrey Beardsley collection assembled by Philip S. Burns, which was sold at auction in 1999.
  • Beardsley Family Photographs, (R.A. Walker Collection of) - photographs of Aubrey Beardsley and his family collected by R.A. Walker from the 1920s-1950 as a part of his research on Beardsley.
  • Beerbohm (Max), Majl Ewing Collection on - prints and original artwork by Max Beerbohm from the collection of UCLA Professor Majl Ewing.
  • Brandon Thomas-Leverson Archive - scrapbooks, photographs, letters, and journals realted to actor and playwright Brandon Thomas and his family, compiled by his daughter Silvia Brandon Thomas.
  • Burne-Jones (Edward), Letters to Margaret Burne-Jones Mackail - letters from artist Edward Burne-Jones to his daughter, Margaret Burne-Jones Mackail, dating from her young childhood to his death, many including contain ink self portraits and drawings.
  • Burne-Jones (Edward) Letters to Violet Maxse - letters and drawings sent to Violet Maxse (later Viscountess Milner) by artist Edward Burne-Jones.
  • Egerton (George) Materials at the Clark Library - correspondence to and from George Egerton, as well as photocopies and microfilms of manuscripts of her literary works. This finding aid brings together all of the Egerton materials at the Clark Library.
  • Harris (Frank) Collection - material created by and related to Frank Harris, and includes correspondence, manuscripts, news clippings, typescripts and proofs.
  • Leadenhall Press, Matthew Young Collection on - ephemera, correspondence, and research files from and/or related to the Leadenhall Press and Andrew White Tuer, compiled by Matthew Young in his research for his book Field & Tuer, The Leadenhall Press: A Checklist.
  • Loti (Pierre) Correspondence - letters written by French author Pierre Loti to members of his family from approximately 1866-1905.
  • Louÿs (Pierre) Collection - manuscripts and drafts of letters written by French writer Pierre Louÿs.
  • May (James Lewis) Papers - correspondence addressed to James Lewis May and his daughter, Barbara Lewis May, as well as manuscripts of works by May and his correspondents.
  • More House Archive - family archive of the Hope-Nicholson family, who lived at More House at 52 Tite Street in London for a century, beginning in 1892. The house was first purchased by Adrian Hope and Laura Troubridge and the house archive contains materials produced by them, their daughter and son-in-law Jaqueline and Hedley Hope-Nicholson, and grandchildren (particularly Marie-Jaqueline Lancaster and Felix Hope-Nicholson), as well as other members of their extended Troubridge, Hope, Gurney, Nicholson and Cleghorn families.
  • Radford (Dollie) Papers - correspondence, contracts, diaries, original manuscripts and typescripts of poems, plays, and short stories by Dollie Maitland Radford as well as materials by her daughters, Hester and Margaret, and by her husband, Ernest Radford.
  • Ricketts (Charles) Collection - visual material created by Charles Ricketts, an English printer and artist.
  • Savage-Armstrong Family Papers - papers and bound manuscripts of poet and scholar George Francis Savage-Armstrong and his family, including commonplace books, notebooks, military papers, photograph albums, watercolors, and other items.
  • Sette of Odd Volumes Collection - ephemera and correspondence related to bibliophilic club Ye Sette of Odd Volumes from the collections of Ralph Straus and John Hassall. The majority of material is printed ephemera related to Odd Volumes meetings and activities, but there is also a substantial amount of correspondence written to John Hassall, as well as a manuscript notebook of minutes from 1919-1921.
  • Shannon (Charles) Collection - visual material created by Charles Shannon, an English artist, printer and lithographer.
  • Sherard (Robert Harborough), Collection on - Correspondence and other materials related to Robert Harborough Sherard, collected by both Glennyth M. Woods and by Francis Watson.
  • Verschoyle (John Stuart) Papers - correspondence sent to John Stuart Verschoyle, Frank Harris's assistant editor of the Fortnightly Review, from a wide-ranging group of fin-de-siecle notables, dating 1881-1915.

 

Wilde & Fin-de-siècle Researchers

  • Bobby Fong Collection on Oscar Wilde - collection of research papers concerning the writing of Fong's 1978 doctoral thesis on Wilde and a critical edition of Oscar Wilde's poetry that he published with his colleague Karl Beckson in 2000.

  • Nethery (Wallace and Corry) Papers - material created and collected by Wallace and Corry Nethery including correspondence, drafts, research notes, and ephemera related to both their printing work and research projects on Max Beerbohm, Elisabeth Jungmann and others.

Anglo-Irish Writers

  • Conyers (Dorothea) Papers - typescripts and manuscripts of many of the works of 20th century Irish author Dorothea Conyers.
  • Savage-Armstrong Family Papers - papers and bound manuscripts of poet and scholar George Francis Savage-Armstrong and his family, including commonplace books, notebooks, military papers, photograph albums, watercolors, and other items.

  • Verschoyle (John Stuart) Papers - correspondence sent to John Stuart Verschoyle, Frank Harris's assistant editor of the Fortnightly Review, from a wide-ranging group of fin-de-siecle notables, dating 1881-1915.