Skip to Main Content
Montana and North American History
- Blackmer (Helen) Papers - Correspondence written to Helen Blackmer, a teacher in Butte, Montana (and other Montana towns) in the 1890s and early 1900s. Frequent correspondents include her three brothers, William, Ezra, and Alfred, who all moved from New York to Arizona in the early 1890s.
- Cowles (John Clifford) Collection - Personal papers and photographs from John Clifford Cowles, an American artist and miner who first began working as an itinerant photographer in Montana and the Mountain West in the 1880s and 1890s. He later worked as a painter and writer in Los Angeles, and described himself as a protégé of William Andrews Clark, Sr.
- Gómez de Orozco (Federico) Collection on the Establishment of Spanish Missions in California, New Mexico, and other Southwest Territories - manuscripts and maps dating from 1595-1829 regarding the Spanish settlement and colonization of California, New Mexico, and other portions of what was once New Spain.
- Images of Montana and the West - images of people and places in the Montana and Dakota Territories and other locations in the western United States.
- Montana (Anaconda and Butte) Letterhead and Billhead Collection - collection of letterheads and billheads from Anaconda and Butte, dated about 1880-1963, documenting a wide variety of area businesses.
- Montana (Calendar of Papers) - materials related to the settlement and history of the state of Montana, and includes correspondence, mining claim records, legal documents, drawings, ledgers and other items, cataloged as a 1943 project of the Works Progess Administration.
- Montana Manuscript Collection - photographs, newspaper clippings, Montana-related ephemera, correspondence pertaining to the Society of the Framers of the Constitution of the State of Montana as well as written attempts to compile historical accounts of various aspects of Montana's history.
The Clark Family
- Clark (William Andrews, Jr.) and William Andrews Clark Memorial Library Records - the pre-1934 institutional archive of the William Andrews Clark Memorial Library and the records of its founder, William Andrews Clark, Jr. Items include correspondence, invoices, photographs, secondary source materials and other documents related to Clark, his library, and his family, friends and colleagues.
- McManus Family Trunk Collection - materials documenting the lives of several different members of the McManus family, including Alice G. McManus Clark (the second wife of William Andrews Clark, Jr., including clothing, textiles, photographs, newspaper clippings, and other papers, all originally stored in a large wooden steamer trunk originally owned by Margaret McManus.
- Palé (George) Collection of Photographic Slides - 35mm color slides taken by George John Palé (beneficiary of Clark Jr.'s estate) from about 1944 to 1965 and document his World War II service in Europe and the Philippines, as well as his postwar family life in Arizona.