Archival Collections at the Clark Library

This guide provides a topically-based way to browse the finding aids and archival collections from the UCLA Clark Library.

The Clark Library's finding aids are hosted by the Online Archive of California (OAC), and that website provides an easy way to keyword search across all of the library's collections. It also gives an alphabetical listing of all finding aids. As an alternative research tool, this guide allows researchers to browse the Clark Library's finding aids by topic.

A finding aid is a guide that helps researchers find materials in archival collections. Most finding aids published by the Clark Library include historical and biographical information about the collection creator, a narrative summary of what can be found in the collection, and a container list, which gives an inventory of what is in the collection and where it can be found.

In this example from the McManus Family Trunk Collection finding aid, individual photographs are listed with their box and folder locations.

Requesting material from the Clark Library's archival collections can be done through the OAC -- just click the "Request items" button that is located at the top of each finding aid.

This will take you to the landing page for the Clark Library's Aeon requesting site, where you will be prompted to sign in or register. From Aeon, you can request material to view in person in our reading room, or submit digitization requests, if you are unable to visit.

For more information on how to use Aeon, please see our website.