AllSides. Nonprofit providing diverse perspectives. Offers media bias ratings, civil dialogue opportunities, and a technology platform are available.
American Press Institute, API. Nonprofit educational group, affiliated with News Media Alliance, that helps publishers understand and engage audiences. News Literacy Curriculum for Educators is API's free curriculum and resources for teaching news literacy.
Center for Media and Democracy. Non-profit investigative reporting group that focuses on exposing corporate spin and government propaganda with PRWatch, SourceWatch, BanksterUSA, and ALECexposed.org.
Free Press. Monitors the media landscape and sounds the alarm when people’s rights to connect and communicate are in danger. Focus: Saving Net Neutrality, achieving affordable internet access for all, uplifting the voices of people of color in the media, challenging old and new media gatekeepers to serve the public interest, ending unwarranted surveillance, defending press freedom, and reimagining local journalism.
Media Matters for America. Progressive research and information center dedicated to comprehensively monitoring, analyzing, and correcting conservative misinformation in the U.S. media.
Newseum. Interactive museum promoting free expression and the First Amendment to the U.S. Constitution while tracing the evolution of communication.
The News Literacy Project (NLP). The NLP is a nonpartisan national education nonprofit committed to providing programs and resources for educators and the public to teach and learn about critical analysis of news and information.
Pew Research Center: Digital Media. Nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. Reports and data on the topic of digital media for the USA.
Project Censored. Exposes and opposes news censorship and promotes independent investigative journalism, media literacy, and critical thinking with books, podcasts, and more.
National Coalition Against Censorship (an alliance of over 50 national non-profit organizations since the 1970s).
Digital Civil Rights Initiative (Center for Critical Internet Inquiry)
Newspaper Front Pages (Freedom Forum).
Collection of newspaper front pages
from around the world, updated daily.
Media Literacy Guide: How to Detect Bias in News Media (FAIR, 2022)
10 Investigative Reporting Outlets to Follow (Moyers On Democracy, Jan 13, 2017)
The Biggest Secret: My Life as a NY Times Reporter (James Risen, The Intercept, Jan 3, 2018)
Comedians Vs. Journalists (Vox, April 3, 2017, 6:53 mins)
The Existential Issue: The People We Call Journalists: How Tech Platforms Decide What Counts as Journalism (Columbia Journalism Review, Spring 2021)
How corporate media threatens our democracy: This is a crisis we can no longer afford to ignore (Bernie Sanders, In These Times, Jan 26, 2017)
How Newsrooms Help Destroy Black Lives (Collette Watson, Freepress, July 19, 2017)
How The New York Times, CNN, and The Huffington Post approach publishing on platforms (Joseph Lichterman, NiemanLab, March 30, 2017)
Infographic: From town halls to targeting, political advertising has come a long way (Marty Swant, AdWeek, June 28, 2016)
Leslie Moonves on Donald Trump: "It may not be good for America, but it's damn good for CBS" (Paul Bond, The Hollywood Reporter, Feb 29, 2016)
The Living Room Candidate: Presidential Campaign Commercials 1952-2020 (Museum of the Moving Image). Teaching political ads in the classroom.
Making Sense of the News: Distinguishing News from Sponsored Content (Michael Spike, Moyers On Democracy, Feb 22, 2017)
Media Are Literally Copy-and-Pasting ICE Press Releases (Adam Johnson, Fair, May 12, 2017)
Media’s Grim Addiction to Perseverance Porn (Adam Johnson, Fair, Aug 3, 2017)
Meet the Riot Squad: Right-Wing Reporters Whose Viral Videos are Used to Smear BLM (Robert Mackey & Travis Mannon, The Intercept, May 13, 2021)
Megyn Kelly: Alex Jones’ views on Sandy Hook are ‘revolting’ — but my goal is ‘to shine a light’ (Dylan Stableford, yahoo! news, June 13, 2017)
NYTimes, The Word You’re Looking For Is CORRUPTION (Indi Samarajiva, Medium, Oct 10, 2020)
The New York Times was accused of siding with police because of ill-placed passive voice (Dana Sitar, Poynter, June 2, 2020)
News and Media Literacy Toolkit (Common Sense Education & Media Literacy Council, 2019)
News Lit quiz: How news-literate are you? (News Literacy Project, 2020)
Newspaper Map. Interactive map of newspapers worldwide, updated daily, in different languages (English is in yellow).
Newsrooms are shrinking, but the PR industry is growing faster than ever (John Sullivan, Business Insider, May 2, 2011)
Open Records Project: Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) for the Movement (Center for Constitutional Rights)
Political TV Ads Archive (Political Archive)
The Stink Test: Validating Resources (Ice Drilling Education)
There, I Fixed It for You … Corporate Media Headlines
Revised as Though They Were Journalism
(Fairness & Accuracy in Reporting, FAIR, June 5, 2020)
Trump has turned his words into weapons: And he's winning the linguistic war (George P. Lakoff & Gil Duran, The Guardian, June 13, 2018)
U.S. Government Sanitizes Vietnam War History (Marjorie Cohn, Truthout, Oct 16, 2014)
Voice of Witness: Amplifying Unheard Voices (Voice of Witness). Oral storytelling and photography.
Why do journalists use passive voice covering protests and police? And why we should avoid it (Natasha Haverty, North Country Public Radio, June 16, 2020)
Woman who recorded George Floyd's murder receives honorary Pulitzer Prize (Brett Wilkins, Truthout, June 12, 2021)
WWII Propaganda: State of Deception (U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum)
Frontline Transparency Project (here is access to hours of original reporting and source material that goes into the making of the Frontline documentaries since 2017).
Combating the disinfodemic: Working for truth in the time of COVID-19 (UNESCO, 2020). For related policy briefs from UNESCO, click here.
Community Toolkit for Addressing Health Misinformation (U.S. Surgeon General, 2021)
Disinfo Discussions: A Video and Podcast Series (The Aspen Institute)
Disinformation and ‘Fake News’ Report (UK House of Commons, Feb 18, 2019)
The Foundations of Disinformation and Misinformation (Knowledge Center Blogs from the Aspen Institute)
A guide to anti-misinformation actions around the world (Daniel Funke & Daniela Flamini, Poynter., Jan. 9, 2021)
Harvard Kennedy School Misinformation Review (open access publication)
European You Verify quiz (lessons and quiz to identify misinformation)
Challenging Big News Media and Censorship (12 ways to use Project Censored in your classroom by ACME)
Civic Online Reasoning (COR), The Stanford History Education Group. Free curriculum, assessments, and resources to search, evaluate, and verify social and political information online.
Media Power Tools (Understanding the 10 Filters re: The Digital Age's: Propaganda Model of News by Rob Williams)
Newseum. National Standards, and search EDCollections and EDTools for many historical and news media lesson plans.
Subversives: Stories from the Red Scare (role play mixer with 27 people, Rethinking Schools)
Six Fact-Checking Lessons for Kids (free lessons for students ages 9-11, University of Canberra, Australia, 2022, APO)
All The News Unfit To Print: James Risen on His Battles with Bush, Obama, and The New York Times (The Intercept, Jan 3, 2018, 1:03:25 mins). Intercept podcast bonus: James Risen’s full interview with Jeremy Scahill.
Along the Line. Weekly podcast by the Media Freedom Foundation and the Demcast Network.
CounterSpin. (Fairness and Accuracy in Reporting podcast with host Janine Jackson)
Disrupted (Khalilah Brown-Dean, Connecticut Public Radio: NPR). Series featuring thematic news topics and current national challenges and social action.
Global News (BBC). Daily podcast featuring international news stories occurring twice daily on weekends and 1x per weekend.Making Radiolab (WNYC Studios: Radiolab, Nov 9, 2007, 34:52 mins)
Moyers on Democracy: Podcasts. Journalism produced by Bill Moyers and his team over the past 40-plus years.
News Now (NPR). Series featuring local and global news daily in 5 minutes.
The Project Censored Show. Started in 2010 by Mickey Huff and Peter Phillips.
The Propwatch Project. Explores propaganda by interviewing experts and analyzing debates.
Smear Speech (Mad Mag) Parody (audio file, 5:02 mins)
Up First (NPR). Series featuring the top three news stories in local and global news daily in 10 minutes.
War of the Worlds (WNYC Studios: Radiolab, Oct 30, 2018, 1:01 mins)
Losing the News (PEN America, 2019). Study looks at consequences of 2,100 newspapers closing down in last 15 years.
News and America's Kids: How Young People Perceive and Are Impacted by the News (2017, Common Sense Media)
State of the News Media 2015 (Pew Research Center)
How Campaign Ads Brainwash You (Now You See It, June 22, 2016, 6:44 mins)
Markham Nolan: How to separate fact and fiction online (Nov 2012, 11 mins)
Michael Patrick Lynch: How to see past your own perspective and find truth (April 2017, 14:18 mins)
Mona Chalabi: 3 ways to spot a bad statistic (Feb 2017, 11:37 mins)
Moyers on Democracy. Journalism produced by Bill Moyers and team over the past 40-plus years. With searchable video archive of 1,000 programs, video clips and online-original segments. Visit the video collection pages.
Navigating Digital Information (John Green, Crash Course, Aug 20, 2020). 10-episode video series to support digital information evaluation.
No Escaping Dragnet Nation (Moyers on Democracy, March 14, 2014, 24:30 mins)
Noam Chomsky - The 5 Filters of the Mass Media Machine (Al Jazeera, March 2, 2017, 4:46 mins)
Project Censored: The Movie. Subtitled, The News that Didn't Make the News; details about the film.
Fact Check.org (project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center)
This Natural Trick Can Cure Your Cancer (McGill Office for Science and Society, July 3, 2018, 2:02 mins)
Politifact (The Poynter Institute)
Seeing isn't believing: The Fact Checker's guide to manipulated videos (The Washington Post)
Museum of Hoaxes. This vast collection of hoaxes dating back to the Middle Ages and forward to our present time is easily accessible, categorized by dates and topics.
Worst Twerk Fail EVER - Girl Catches Fire! (Jimmy Kimmel Live, Sept 9, 2013, 0:54 mins.). Hoax video.
The Chaos Machine: An Endless Hole. (NPR, Invisibilia: Yowei Shaw, 40 mins., April 29, 2021)
‘Fake News’: Why Snopes Prefers Not to Say It Anymore (Bond Huberman, Snopes, July 9, 2019)
Infographic: Beyond Fake News – 10 Types of Misleading News – Seventeen Languages
(Luc Steinberg, Eavi: Media Literacy for Citizenship, July 26, 2017)
Lies, Bullshit and Fake News Online: Should We Be Worried? (Postdigital Science and Education, special issue: Vol. 2, issue 1, Jan 2020)
Stephanie Busari: How fake news does real harm (Feb 2017, 6:19 mins.)
TV anchors decrying 'fake' news put spotlight on Sinclair Broadcast Group (Erik Ortiz, NBC News, April 2, 2018)