Institutes, Museums, Research Groups & More!
The 1619 Project. The Pulitzer Center on Crisis Reporting and the New York Times. This website contains lots of resources: lesson plans, articles, podcasts, and photo essays.
Native Knowledge 360. The National Museum of the American Indian. Resources online for educators.
Perception Institute. Consortium of researchers, advocates, and strategists who translate cutting-edge mind science research on race, gender, ethnic, and other identities into solutions that reduce bias and discrimination, and promote belonging.
eBooks
In Search of Belonging: Latinas, Media and Citizenship, by ISBN: 9780252041792Date: 2018Online book, from JSTOR.
Explores the ways Latina/o audiences in general, and women in particular, makes sense of and engage both mainstream and Spanish-language media. Jillian M. Báez's eye-opening ethnographic analysis draws on the experiences of a diverse group of Latinas in Chicago. In-depth interviews reveal Latinas viewing media images through a lens of citizenship. These women search for nothing less than recognition--and belonging --through representations of Latinas in films, advertising, telenovelas, and TV shows like Ugly Betty and Modern Family.
Reporting on Race in a Digital Era, by ISBN: 9783030352202Date: 2020Online book, from SpringerLink.
Explores U.S. news media's 21st century reckoning with race, from the election of President Barack Obama, through the birth and growth of the Black Lives Matter movement, to the tense weeks after a white police officer killed an unarmed African American teenager in Ferguson, Missouri. While legacy newsrooms struggled to interpret complex events, a diverse group of digital storytellers used emerging technologies. Veteran journalist and media scholar Carolyn Nielsen examines how the first two decades of the 20th century produced new models for journalists to explore the complexity of racism, amplify the voices of lived experience, and understand their audiences.
Race and Racism
Source: Race and Ethnicity, from the Critical Media Project. The Critical Media Project provides free media literacy web resources for educators and students, including a large collection of video clips from popular media about age, class, disability, gender, LGBTQ, race & ethnicity, and religion.
Publications of All Kinds
-
As a white parent, I solemnly swear to never do this (Sarah Watts, Salon, Oct 9, 2015)
-
Beauty and danger: The global pursuit of whiter skin (Denise Oliver Velez, Daily Kos, May 1, 2016)
-
Combining African-Centered and Critical Media Pedagogies: A 21st-Century Approach Toward Liberating the Minds of the Mis-educated in the Digital Age [Dissertation] (Shani Byard, Marymount University, April, 2012)
-
Critical race media literacy for these urgent times (Tara J. Yosso, International Journal of Multicultural Education, 2020)
-
Every Single Word Spoken by a Person of Color in [Mainstream Film Title] (Dylan Marron, Tumblr)
-
Facebooks Lets Advertisers Exclude Users by Race (Julia Angwin and Terry Parris, Jr., ProPublica, Oct 28, 2016)
-
Fifty shades of white: the long fight against racism in romance novels (Lois Beckett, The Guardian, April 4, 2019)
-
French masterpieces renamed after Black subjects in new exhibition (Agence France-Presse, The Guardian, March 25, 2019)
-
Hand-drawn infographics commissioned by W.E.B. Du Bois illuminate how Black Americans lived in the 1900s (Anne Quito, Quartz, February 10, 2017)
-
Hip-Hop: A Child Of The Civil Rights Movement (Taymullah Abdur-Rahman, HuffPost, Jan 26, 2016)
-
How White Terrorism Isn’t Terrorism (Indi Samarajiva, Medium, Dec 28, 2020)
-
Implicit Bias Test (Project Implicit, Harvard)
-
Is Pokémon Go racist? How the app may be redlining communities of color (Allana Skhtar, USA TODAY, Aug 9, 2016)
-
Machine Bias (Julia Angwin, Jeff Larson, Surya Mattu, & Lauren Kirchner, ProPublica, May 23, 2016)
-
Mexico Prevents Indigenous Designs from Being Culturally Appropriated--Again (Krithika Varagur, HuffPost, March 17, 2016)
National Geographic faced up to its racist past.
Did it actually get better?
(Anna North & Kainaz Amaria, Vox, May 6, 2021)
-
Native Actors Walk Off Set of Adam Sandler Movie After Insults to Women, Elders (Vincent Shilling, Indian Country Today, April 23, 2015)
-
On “Taking a Knee” (Kristin Miller, Moyers On Democracy, July 9, 2020)
-
Race in America (The Washington Post: Live). Article series: Systemic racism and police brutality in the U.S. context.
-
The Racial Dynamics between Women are Flipped in a Disorienting Photo Series (Aamna Mohdin, Quartz, June, 18, 2017; republished via GetPocket).
-
Racial Microaggressions (Kiyun Kim, Tumblr, Dec, 2013)
-
Reaction GIFs of Black People Are More Problematic Than You Think (Naomi Day, OneZero, Jan 2, 2020)
-
Shades of Black (The Guardian). Videos, articles, and reports examining colorism.
-
‘To be able to imagine otherwise:' Community archives and the importance of representation (Michelle Caswell, Alda Allina Migoni, Noah Geraci, & Marika Cifor, The Journal of the Archives and Records Association, 2017)
-
‘We’re the geeks, the prostitutes:' Asian American actors on Hollywood barriers (Sam Levin, The Guardian, April 11, 2017)
Whose Heritage? Public Symbols of the Confederacy
(Southern Poverty Law Center, Dec 16, 2020).
Interactive maps and reports.
-
Why Are Mass Killings by White People in the U.S. Almost Never Called Terrorism? (Mark Karlin, Truthout, Sept 18, 2016)
-
Why are white people expats when the rest of us are immigrants? (Mawuna Remarque Koutonin, The Guardian, March 13, 2015)
-
Racial Capitalism & Prison Abolition Zine (
- seeks to highlight how the media can serve as a lever for racial justice...to change entrenched media narratives about Black people.")
- Indigeneity (Native American experience in videos from PBS, with Ariel Tweto & Julian NoiseCat)
The Atlantic slave trade in two minutes
(Andrew Kahn & Jamelle Bouie, Slate, June 25, 2015)
- Slave Voyages Website (Timelapse, videos, maps, original documents, lesson plans, etc. The Trans-Atlantic and Intra-American slave trade databases are the culmination of decades of research by scholars).
Collections: Lessons, Podcasts, Reports, TED Talks, Videos
-
Celebrating skin tone: The science and poetry of skin color (Katharine Johnson, Rethinking Schools, 2015)
-
Indigeneity Curriculum (The Bioneers Indigeneity Program provides discussion guides, curriculum bundles, tool kits, and videos)
-
Teaching About Race, Racism, and Police Violence (Teaching Tolerance, 2020). Videos, resources, and texts for k-12 teachers.
-
Toolkit for “expelling Islamophobia” (Teaching Tolerance, Spring, 2017). Teacher resources and lesson plan guides.
-
The "First Thanksgiving" How Can We Tell a Better Story? (National Museum of the American Indian, Smithsonian Institute)
-
Code Sw!tch: Race. In Your Face. (NPR). Series challenging the notion of a post-racial society through the lenses of human experiences at the cross-sections of race, ethnicity, and culture.
-
Confronting Racism (TED Radio Hour, NPR, 2019). Series confronting systemic racism in America.
-
Hate in the Homeland (RevealNews, June 8, 2019, 51:10 mins)
-
How the ‘Kung Fu Fighting’ Melody Came to Represent Asia (Kat Chow, NPR: The Morning Edition, Aug 28, 2014, 5:00 mins)
-
Racist Technology (Lori Tharps, My American Melting Pot, Dec 7, 2018, 39 mins)
-
Robin Kelley, Malkia Cyril, Richard Rothstein: Do Black Lives Matter to Media? (Counterspin, FAIR, Dec 26, 2015, 28 mins)
-
Seeing White (Scene On Radio, 2017). Series interrogating and challenging the root causes and manifestations of whiteness in society.
-
Voices of the Movement (The Washington Post, updated June 5, 2019). Series examining stories of leaders from the Civil Rights Movement.
-
Where Did 'White Jesus' Come From? (Eloise Blondiau, WNYCStudios: On the Media, Oct 2, 2020, 21:31 mins)
-
"A Threat To This Day" Jared Ball on the Distortion and Erasure of Black Revolutionaries in Corporate Media (July 10, 2022, Millennials are Killing Capitalism podcast)
-
Black Girls Matter: Pushed Out, Overpoliced and Underprotected Report (Kimberlé Crenshaw, Priscilla Ocen, & Jyoti Nanda, African American Policy Forum/Center for Intersectionality and Social Policy Studies, 2015)
-
The Hollywood Diversity Report 2020 (UCLA College of Social Sciences) *In two parts. You can also download the 6 previous reports.
-
Guide to changing racist and offensive names on public lands (Feb. 23, 2022, The Wilderness Society).
-
Reclaiming Native Truths (a national project to dispel America's myths and misconceptions, launched in June 2016)
- Morgan Campbell: Race, sports and telling true stories (Feb 4 2017, 19:41 mins)
RACE: The Power of an Illusion. Video, 3 parts, each under 60 mins, 2003. Available via Kanopy database. Excellent website accompanies this film with lesson plans and resources: RACE: The Power of an Illusion.
-
26 Mini-Films for Exploring Race, Bias and Identity with Students (Michael Gonchar, New York Times, March 15, 2017)
-
Baratunde Thurston: How to deconstruct racism, one headline at a time (TEDTalk, April 2019, 16:42 mins)
-
The Black Bruins [Spoken Word] (Sy Stokes, Nov 4, 2013, 5:12 mins)
-
Caprice Hollins: What White People Can Do to Move Race Conversations Forward (Dec 18, 2020, 15:36 mins)
-
The Color of the Race Problem is White (Robert Jensen, July 1, 2009, 52:38 mins)
-
Don’t Cash Crop on My Cornrows (Amandla Stenberg, Hype Hair Magazine, April 15, 2015, 4:59 mins)
-
Don't Freak Out About the White Babies (Jay Smooth, May 25, 2012, 4:16 mins)
-
Dr. Phillip Atiba Goff, Rashad Robinson, Dr. Bernice King, Anthony D. Romero: The Path to Ending Systemic Racism in the U.S. (June 2020, 1:06 mins)
-
Edward Said on Orientalism (dir by Sut Jhally, 1998, 40:31 mins)
-
Ethnic Notions (1987, 59 mins) is the Emmy-winning documentary by Marlon Riggs tracing stereotypes which have fueled US anti-black prejudice. In the Kanopy database.
-
European Racism ~ A History of African Genocide ~ Fatal Impacts (BBC, June 3, 2015, 58:58 mins)
-
A Girl Like Me (Kiri Davis, Reel Works Teen Filmmaking, May 4, 2007, 7:15 mins)
-
Historian Reviews Civil Rights Movements in TV & Film, from Selma to Malcom X (Yohuru Williams, VanityFair, April 8, 2021, 25:47 mins.)
-
Jennifer L. Eberhardt: How Racial Bias Works -- and How to Disrupt It (June 2020, 14:09 mins)
-
Let Her Learn: Join the Fight to Stop School Pushout (National Women's Law Center, Jan 10, 2017, 1:03 mins)
-
On White Privilege (Tim Wise, Challenging Media, February 19, 2008, 9:30 mins)
-
Pigmentocracy: Real Talk About Fair Skin (Franchesca Ramsey, WNYC, April 7, 2014, 4:51 mins)
-
Race and Intelligence Special, Science’s Last Taboo (Supreme Wisdom Educational Center, July 13, 2019, 44:51 mins)
-
Racist EZ-Cash (Mark Fiore, Vimeo, 1:26 mins). Cartoon parody.
-
Reel Bad Arabs: How Hollywood Vilifies a People (Challenging Media, Feb 1, 2007, 5:20 mins)
-
Tom Burrell’s Resolution Project (The Resolution Project, Jan 25, 2010, 7:35 mins)
-
Truth About the Confederacy in the United States (Jeffrey Robinson, ACLU, 1:40 mins)
-
What So Proudly We Hail: Documentary (Duane Saunders, Jr., 2016, 14:54 mins)
-
White Genocide: Fake and Present Danger (Newsbroke, Dec 22, 2017, 9:45 mins)
-
White People (MTV, July 25, 2012, 41 mins)
-
Who is Sara Baartman? Every Black Woman Should Know Her Name (Dede Hunt, Sept 7, 2007, 4:56 mins)
Exploring Race with Children
Picture This:
Diversity in Children’s Books 2018 Infographic
(Huyck, D. & Park Daylen, S., 2019, Wordpress).
-
Kids need to see themselves reflected in media. Here are some recommendations (NPR Morning Edition, Dec. 26, 2021)
-
Books by school age level (Tribal Nations Maps). Picture books authored by and about Native Americans.
-
Social Justice Books (A Teaching for Change Project). Great selection of multicultural and social justice books for children, young adults, & educators.
-
Disney Warns Viewers of Racism in Some Classic Movies with Strengthened Label (Reese Oxner, NPR, Oct 16, 2020)
-
How Cartoons Influence Children About Race (Federico Subervi, HuffPost, Dec 13, 2011)
-
Middle Passage (Luke Dupuis, Nov 23, 2012, 6:58 mins). Children's picture book on YouTube.
-
Representation Without Transformation: Can Hollywood Stop Changing Cartoon Characters of Color (Andrew Tejada, TOR, July 14, 2020)
-
‘The Simpsons’ engenders a firestorm of criticism after dismissing complaints over stereotypes (Doctor RJ, Daily Kos, April 16, 2018)
-
Unlearning the myths that bind us: Critiquing cartoons and society (Linda Christensen, Rethinking Schools, 2017)
-
Why do cartoon villains speak in foreign accents? (Isabel Fattal, The Atlantic, Jan 4, 2018)
-
American Indians in Children's Literature (Provides critical analysis of Indigenous peoples in children's and young adult books).
-
American Indian Storytelling Differs From the Western Narrative Structure (Dan SaSuWeh Jones (Ponca) School Library Journal, Dec. 15, 2021).
- Palestinian Erasure Starts in Preschool—With Sesame Street’s Endorsement (FAIR, Nora Lester Murad, Sept. 30, 2022).