Industry Data and Reports (Internet)
Some data sets are readily available online. However, specific demographic data are often only offered by specific companies for a high price, and some historical data can be difficult to locate. Below are some freely available online sites with select industry data.
- Box Office GuruBox office statistics, though the origins of the stats are not always clear.
- BoxOffice ProFrom Box Office Magazine, contains box office data (only select historical) and offers free box office report subscription.
- Center for Scholars and Storytellers Reports (UCLA)Includes several reports on film, television, and theater entertainment, including "Beyond Checking a Box: A Lack of Authentically Inclusive Representation Has Costs at the Box Office."
- Focus: World Film MarketContains select industry numbers from different countries, 1998-present.
- Futon CriticIncludes recent basic stories and ratings on the television industry.
- Geena Davis Institute on Gender in Media: Research ReportsThe Institute compiles reports on industry topics related to gender disparity both on screen and behind the camera.
- Hollywood Diversity Report (UCLA Bunche Center)A yearly report (2014-present) on diversity in the industry from the UCLA Bunche Center for African American Studies.
- Hollywood Writers ReportFrom the Writers' Guild of America, this report "provides new information on the progress of women, minority, and older writers on the television employment front."
- IMDb: Internet Movie DatabaseFreely available vast database with filmographic information, links to reviews, and some box office data.
- It's a Man's (Celluloid) World (2022)Annual report led by Dr. Martha M. Lauzen that studies female representation in front of and behind the camera for top-grossing Hollywood films.
- MPAA Research and ReportsIncludes industry reports, theatrical market statistics, and state by state reports on the motion picture industry.
- Netflix Top 10Limited data from Netflix on global top 10 most viewed titles, arranged by country.
- Nielsen InsightsNielsen's blog with very select stories and data. A useful source for keeping up with current trends in viewership and new media delivery.
- Occupational Outlook Handbook: Entertainment and SportsFrom the Bureau of Labor Statistics, includes median pay, number of jobs, and basic information on training for various jobs.
- Radio's Online History ResourceFull text scans of historical broadcasting magazines in the fields of radio and television. Includes Broadcasting Magazine, Broadcasting Yearbook, Radio Annual, and more.
- Showbuzz DailyEntertainment industry news, reviews, and some viewership data for box office and television.
- The State of Social Impact Entertainment (SIE)From March 2019, this report from the Skoll Center for Social Impact Entertainment at UCLA and Participant Media includes facts and figures, as well as industry overviews.
- TV by the NumbersIncludes industry news and select data on broadcast and cable television, as well as some new media.
- Variety.comVariety is one of the most authoritative sources for box office data. However, the online site primarily searches articles instead of data sets. Use the database Nexis Uni to also search for articles in Variety and Daily Variety.
- What We Watched: A Netflix Engagement Report (2023 - )Twice yearly report from Netflix, reporting on what people watched on Netflix over a six month period, including hours viewed for every title — original and licensed — watched for over 50,000 hours.
- Women's Media Center ReportsCompiles data and offers analysis on women's representation in media, including Oscar and Emmy nominations, news media, and overall status in the media landscape.
Relevant Databases and Featured Periodicals
Listed below are resources to help you find review articles and other periodical/journalistic writing on comic book film adaptations. To discover more resources like these for film and television, see the Film and television guide.
- Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A cross-searchable gateway to black studies, including the International Index of Black Periodicals (with many full-text titles), Black Literature Index, Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, and The Chicago Defender. Journal & newspaper articles on the interpretation comics and their adaptations as they relate to Black culture and thought can be found here. - Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. It is comprised of several cross-searchable component databases, including International Index to Black Periodicals, Black Literature Index and Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience (interdisciplinary essays written by leading scholars on the Black Experience). - Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (EIMA) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EIMA is an historical archive of major trade and consumer magazines in film, television, music, radio, and theater, from their inception to 2000. Includes weekly Variety, Hollywood Reporter, American Cinematographer, Back Stage, Billboard, Broadcasting, Picturegoer, Screen International, Spin, and more. UCLA has access to parts I, II and III of this database.
- Google Books: Advanced SearchThe Advanced search in Google Books allows you to limit to magazine content.
Internet Review Sources
Useful sites for locating freely available reviews online.
- The Independent MagazineThe Independent's website, which covers independent film via reviews, features, interviews, and more. Also includes digitized print issues from 976-2006.
- DVD BeaverOffers reviews of films and especially specific DVD editions available internationally
- Educational Media Reviews OnlineDatabase with subject searching, recommendation rankings, and more for major titles from educational and documentary distributors.
- Online Film Critics SocietyReviews from the international association of Internet-based film critics and journalists.
- RogerEbert.comReviews, commentary, and a glossary from Roger Ebert's years as a movie reviewer.
Websites and Blogs
Most of these sites have Twitter, Facebook, and/or RSS feeds, allowing you to follow news more easily. They are useful for contemporary news only. For older content, use print editions of publications and databases listed under "Historical Entertainment Industry Magazines Online."
- VarietyThe Variety website allows you to freely search articles from the magazine from 2003-present. See the separate guide page on Variety for information on more content.
- Hollywood ReporterOnline content from Hollywood Reporter, including recent articles from the print edition and additional blogs.
- A.V. ClubA non-parody entertainment news site from The Onion.
- Advertising AgeWebsite of the advertising publication. Includes only recent articles.
- Broadcasting & Cable**Note that some articles are blocked behind a pay wall on the website. You can often get these articles via databases like LexisNexis and Factiva.
- C21MediaEntertainment industry news, particularly television and online streaming. Some content is subscriber-only.
- CinemaBlendContains entertainment industry news and editorials, including gaming news.
- Company Town (Los Angeles Times)LA Times blog devoted to entertainment industry news.
- Deadline HollywoodIndustry news site, originally created by Nikke Finke in 2006 and now owned by publishing company PMC.
- EW.com (Entertainment Weekly)Entertainment Weekly's website contains some news blogs that are separate from the print magazine's contents.
- Los Angeles Business JournalContains useful articles on L.A.-focused business news, including the entertainment industry (theaters and exhibition, technology, business leaders, etc.). The UCLA Management Library also has print issues available.
- Media Decoder (New York Times)NY Times blog focused on the media industry.
- Media Life Magazine (archive)Includes short articles with reviews, news, and some data. Ran from 1999-2017, archived content available from Internet Archive.
- MediaREDEFMedia, tech, and pop culture news.
- MovielineMovie previews, reviews, and news.
- PlaybackCanadian entertainment industry news, including production, broadcasting and interactive media.
- Rapid TV NewsStarted in 2007, this site is an online daily news service for the television industry. Reports on broadcast technology, information, analysis, and more.
- Screen International (ScreenDaily)Online news blog for the industry magazine Screen International. Print issues also available in the UCLA Library.
- ScreenSite: Journals, Magazines, BlogsFrom SCMS, a list of major contemporary periodicals and blogs related to the study of cinema, television, and other media.
- SSN InsiderThis free, twice-daily newsletter from Baseline provides a synopsis of industry news. The UCLA Library does NOT have access to Baseline's data resources.
- Superhero HypeBlog covering superhero franchises in comics, film, and television.
- TV Guide.comRecent articles only.
- TVLineFounded in 2011, includes TV news, original previews and recaps/reviews.
- Vulture (New York Magazine)Vulture reports on entertainment news and gossip, and is part of New York Magazine's online presence.