Web Resources
- Queer Comics DatabaseDatabase designed to help researchers discover comics that tell a wide range of LGBTQ stories.
- Comic Book DatabaseAn extensive database seeking to catalog comics of every format and genre. Use this free, interactive site to look up your favorite characters, artists, writers, or comic book series.
- Comic Book Shop LocatorLooking for comic books, graphic novels, toys and other pop-culture merchandise? Then start your search with the Comic Shop Locator, your link to the latest and greatest items at your local comic book shop!
- Comic Books PlusA public domain archives for Golden Age (1938-1950) and Silver Age comics (1956-1970), comic strips and more!
- Comic Book Legal Defense FundNon-Profit designed to serve as whistle blower to any first-amendment violations in libraries and schools as they relate to comics. Their archive of case-files can be useful for primary sources in comics studies and censorship.
- Comics ForumThe Comics Forum website regularly publishes articles on a wide range of topics. The site also hosts regular columns on comics scholarship in Germany, Manga Studies and a monthly news review. Comics Forum provides a range of scholarly resources, including a directory of comics scholars, documentation from affiliated conferences and a selection of digital texts.
Getting set for Remote Access!
For all journals and databases listed below, I will indicate if you need to have your computer configured for remote access either through the campus VPN or the proxy server. If a link or item has key icon next to it, then you to be signed into the VPN or using the proxy server to access the UCLA licensed material. If those terms are new to you or need help getting your computer configured, checkout these tutorials!
Databases with Comics Studies Coverage
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of more than 600 journals and 220 books on "a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design." It wholly incorporates and significantly expands on the coverage and contents of the Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective databases. Indexes illustrations. Coverage: late 1920s-present. - Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A cross-searchable gateway to black studies, including the International Index of Black Periodicals (with many full-text titles), Black Literature Index, Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, and The Chicago Defender. Journal & newspaper articles on the interpretation comics and their adaptations as they relate to Black culture and thought can be found here. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books. - MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes worldwide publications on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, television, and theater from 1923 to the present. See also the MLA Directory of Periodicals. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles. - Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online collection of underground and independent comic books and graphic novels. Also contains selected interviews, commentary, theory, and criticism. - Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Fifteen databases, plus individual journals and e-books. Includes 2011-present IEEE-Wiley books.
Online Journals
- The Comics Grid: Journal of Comics ScholarshipOpen Access and Open peer reviewed journal, aiming to provide specialized knowledge of comics in an accessible format.
- European Comic Art
- This link opens in a new window
From Literature Online (LION) the first English-language scholarly publication devoted to the study of European-language comics of all formats. - Image Text: Interdisciplinary Comics StudiesA Peer Reviewed Open Access Journal and published out of the English department of the University of Florida, known for its unique curation of interdisciplinary approach to Comics Studies.
- Inks: The Journal of the Comics Studies Society
- This link opens in a new window
From Project Muse, seeks to bring together scholarly essays, archival materials, and insights and discoveries from leading comics professionals. - International Journal from Comic Book Art
- This link opens in a new window
From EBSCOhost Art & Architecture Source Publication, renown for its broad scope of topics and global focus. - Journal of Graphic Novels and Comics
- This link opens in a new window
From Taylor & Francis, international in scope with special attention to production and consumption of twentieth and twenty-first century comics. - Journal of Popular Culture
- This link opens in a new window
From Wiley Online Library, an essential non-specialist journal (i.e., not solely devoted) to the study of comics. - SANE journal: Sequential Art Narrative in EducationAn Open Access journal focused on providing research and practitioner-based resources on the intersection of sequential resources and education (pre-k to Secondary education).