From the Panel to the Screen!
The relationship between comics and cinema is as old as cinema itself. One of the first narrative films, L'Arrosé (Lumière 1895) is considered by many to be an adaption of a narrative premise often found in French comics like Un Arrseur Public (A Public Waterer) as you can see in the image to the left.
The relationship between these two mediums continue to be a dynamic one until this day. From providing story concepts to evolving formal techniques, cinema and comics enjoy an artistic reciprocity that is only recently being given more scholarly attention due in part to the surge of popularity these films have amassed over the past few decades. This page highlights major works in the field of comic book film adaptations along with highlighting other useful resources in analyzing the cinematic adaptation of comics.
Featured Books
Instructional Media Collections and Services (UCLA Center for the Advancement of Teaching)
UCLA's central resource for the collection and maintenance of instructional media. The collection includes several thousand videotapes, laserdiscs, DVDs, and other media as well as selected department, media lab, and study center collections.
IMCS is funded for instructional on-campus use. Although most holdings are also listed in UC Library Search, researchers can also search the IMCS catalog directly. Students must use these videos on site at the Instructional Media Lab, although some are available for streaming via course reserves in Bruin Learn.
- IMCS HomepageInstructional Media Collections and Services (IMCS) provides access to course-required physical and digital media for UCLA instructors, teaching assistants, students and non-UCLA academic researchers. Students and staff may view materials in the Powell Library Media Lab, Room 270, by making a request preferably three business days in advance.
- Search the IMCS CollectionsSearch the IMCS collection catalog by title, format, subject matter, director or other terms. Many IMCS titles also appear in UC Library Search.
- IMCS Access FAQsIncludes information about placing material on reserve, requesting online access, etc.
- IMCS Media Purchase Request FormInstructors and Teaching Assistants are eligible to submit a purchase request for media intended for usage in a course.
- Placing IMCS Course ReservesInstructors may request to have their class reserve videos encoded and linked to their course web page via a digital link. They will be accessible only to students enrolled in the class in question and only after logging into the UCLA VPN.
- Instructional Media LabLocated in Powell Library, Room 270, the Instructional Media Lab serves students, researchers, and instructors who wish to incorporate media into curricula outside of class. The lab is a viewing space for audiovisual materials of various formats from the UCLA Film & Television Archive and Instructional Media Collections and Services. Please request materials in advance.