Ebook Databases
 |
Access Engineering |
 |
Access Medicine |
|
|
ASME Digital Ebooks  American Society of Mechanical Engineers' ebooks. |
 |
Knovel |
 |
>Taylor & Francis eBooks Premier scientific, technical, medical reference sources. |
Biomedical Engineering Fundamentals, 3rd ed., by ISBN: 9781260136265Date: 2021Online book, from Access Engineering.
Fully updated fundamental biomedical engineering principles and technologies This state-of-the-art resource offers unsurpassed coverage of fundamental concepts that enable advances in the field of biomedical engineering. Biomedical Engineering Fundamentals, Third Edition, contains all the information you need to improve efficacy and efficiency in problem solving, no matter how simple or complex the problem. Thoroughly revised by experts across the biomedical engineering discipline, this hands-on guide provides the foundational knowledge required for the development of innovative devices, techniques, and treatments.
Medical Information
Clinical Information
-
UpToDate.
Database of evidence-based, clinical information with Calculators, Drug Interactions, Topics by Specialty, What's New, and Patient Education. -
Medscape Reference.
Collection of physician-authored and edited articles on drugs, diseases, anatomy, and medical news. Broad range of diseases and conditions plus medical procedures are described. - MedlinePlus.
Health info on a wide variety of health topics. Has a section for easy to understand health content, interactive tutorials. Service of the NIH and National Library of Medicine.
MedTech News
-
Fierce MedTech.
Resource for manufacturers of medical devices and in vitro diagnostic products that addresses complexity of regulations and evolving market requirements. Lists VC firms active in the medical device industry. -
Medical Device and Diagnostic Industry (MD+DI).
Primary news resource for manufacturers of medical devices and in vitro diagnostic products. -
medGadget.
Aggregated news site for medical technology news. - Rock Health Reports.
Digital health resource for summaries of funding activity and disruptive technologies.
Finding & Using Health Statistics: A Self-Study Course
The National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology (NICHSR) offers an extensive web tutorial that explains how health statistics are compiled and where to find different types of statistical information.
- id="s-lg-content-6794711">Finding and Using Health Statistics: A Self-Study Course
Health Data & Statistics
Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
U.S. national database of disease data and statistics. Data accessible by clinical indication or via set of interactive tools. Note: Links under section labels tools can perform interactive data search and data visualization.
FastStats A-Z. Quick statistical info sheets on health topics. Note: Great place to start for incidence and prevalence data.
National Center for Health Statistics. U.S. public health statistics (population surveys, vital records, provider surveys, and historical surveys); links to other CDC resources.
National Death Index. Central index of death records info on file in State vital statistics offices.
Statistical Publications, from the CDC.
Web-based Injury Statistics Query & Reporting System, WISQARS. CDC's interactive and visualization database providing fatal and nonfatal injury, violent death, and cost of injury data.
Global Cancer Observatory.
Database of global cancer statistics (current, historical, forecasted); includes visualization tools.
GIDEON: Global Infectious Disease & Epidemiology Network.
Interactive decision support system for diagnosis and reference in tropical and infectious diseases, epidemiology, microbiology and antimicrobial chemotherapy. Incorporates 327 diseases, 205 countries, 963 microbial taxa and 252 antibacterial agents and vaccines. Statistical info on Distribution Tab under disease/diagnosis.
MedlinePlus Health Statistics.
Gateway to several databases for health statistics.
Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results (SEER) Program.
Cancer statistics (e.g., incidence, prevalence, mortality rates, etc.) from National Cancer Institute.
Trade Associations + Research Groups
Advanced Medical Technology Association, AdvaMed. National industry association that leads the effort to advance medical technology. "AdvaMed represents about 80% of the medical device and technology companies in the U.S. and acts as a common voice for companies producing medical devices, diagnostic products and health information systems."
American Medical Association, AMA. Largest physician organization in the USA, the AMA represents its members in legislative, economic, and scientific matters.
Medical Device Manufacturers Association, MDMA. National trade association based in Washington, DC, providing educational and advocacy assistance to innovative and entrepreneurial medical technology companies. Offers medical devices publications, many free with registration.
Regulatory Affairs Professionals Society, RAPS. Largest global group of and for those involved with the regulation of healthcare and related products including medical devices, pharmaceuticals, biologics and nutritional products.
More trade associations?
See the Encyclopedia of Associations database
Clinical Studies
ClinicalTrials.gov
Database of publicly and privately supported clinical and observational studies of human participants conducted worldwide.
Note: Enrollment criteria for trial designs can provide insights into how competitors segment the market.
