Research Guides: UCLA Biodesign Program Resources: Industry and Market Intelligence

NAICS & SIC - Industry Classification Codes

The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS).
U. S. government coding system to classify industries, 1997-present.

NAICS-SIC Conversion Tables.
Conversion codes equating SIC and NAICS industries, by Logistics World.

Standard Industrial Classification (SIC).
U. S. system to classify industries, 1937-87; in use by many industry sources.

Medical Device Design, 2nd ed. by Peter J. Ogrodnik
ISBN: 9780128149621
Date: 2020
Online book, from Science Direct.

Provides the bridge between engineering design and medical device development. Addresses medical devices' regulatory (FDA and EU) requirements, shows the essential methodologies medical designers must understand to ensure their products meet requirements, and brings together proven design protocols, thus enabling engineers and medical device manufacturers to rapidly bring new products to the marketplace. Traces medical device development from very early stages of conceptualization to commercialization on the global market.
Medical Innovation: Concept to Commercialization, by Bruce Gingles, Kevin E. Behrns & Michael Gregory Sarr, eds.
ISBN: 9780128149263
Date: 2018
Online book, from Science Direct.

Practical, step-by-step approach on how to move a novel concept through development to realize a commercially successful product. Real-world experience cases and knowledgeable contributors provide lessons that cover the practices of diverse organizations and multiple products.
Trends in Development of Medical Devices, by Prakash Srinivasan Timiri Shanmugam, Logesh Chokkalingam & Pramila B. Marathahalli
ISBN: 9780128209608
Date: 2020
Online book, from Science Direct.

Covers the basics of medical devices and their development, regulations and toxicological effects, risk assessment and mitigation. It also discusses the maintenance of a medical device portfolio during product lifecycle. Provides up-to-date information and knowledge on how to understand the position and benefits of new introduced medical devices for improving healthcare.

Limited Market Intelligence

IQVIA Institute Reports

Market reports require free registration plus places you on email lists. See IQVIA Institute page reports list, fyi. IQVIA is a publicly traded company on the NYSE (NYSE:IQV). Info is available about the company but there is no direct access to IQVIA products or data or "IMS Data" from UCLA database subscriptions.

IQVIA is a leading global provider of advanced analytics, technology solutions and contract research services to the life sciences industry. Formed in 2016 via the merger of IMS Health and Quintiles, IQVIA leverages data science to the ever-expanding scope of human science to enable companies to reimagine and develop new approaches to clinical development and commercialization, to speed innovation, and to accelerate healthcare outcomes improvements.

FAQs

Need to access the databases?
If you are an Anderson student, configure the Anderson Proxy FIRST before trying database access.

Need more databases?
See Business Databases by Category or Business Databases by Name.

How do I find a book or journal at UCLA?
Search UC Library Search catalog (for print or online subscriptions in UCLA Libraries) or WorldCat (for other libraries' holdings worldwide)

How do I request a book or journal article I need that's not at UCLA?
Use the UCLA Library Interlibrary Loan Service to borrow materials, such as books, articles, and book chapters not in UCLA libraries, from other libraries in this country or abroad; free to UCLA students; available to distance students only if the item format is pdf and can be emailed.

Industry Data

	Consultants & Consulting Organizations Directory Search and identify industry consultants and consulting organizations in the USA.
	Encyclopedia of Associations Keyword search industry trade associations at local, national, international levels.
	IBISWorld Industry Research Reports U.S. analyses for 790 industries at the 5-digit NAICS level; with Australia, Canada, China, the UK, and Global.
	Industry Surveys, from S&P Net Advantage In-depth analyses, rankings, comparative stats for 55 leading U. S. industries, 155 capsule sub-industry reviews, global Industry Surveys.
	Passport Consumer market (current, historical, and forecast data) for 350 markets + 200 countries. Consumer lifestyles, company profiles, brand data.
	Procurement IQ Indirect purchasing lines and products, pricing environments, supply chain vendors, product characteristics and purchasing processes.
	Statista Portal for business and industry, government, and demographic statistics integrating thousands of diverse topics of data and facts from 18,000+ public and commercial sources

UC Library Search

Catalog of library items, online and in print, in UC Libraries.
After search, choose + save: Available Online at UCLA

EXAMPLE SEARCHES

Subject
Bioengineering
Bioinformatics
Biomedical engineering
Biomedical engineering--Design and construction
Biomedical Technology
Biotechnology industries--United States
Device approval--United States
Drug Approval
Engineering design
Entrepreneurship
Marketing of Health Services--methods--United States
Medical instruments and apparatus
Medical instruments and apparatus--Government policy
Medical instruments and apparatus industry
Medical laboratories--Equipment and supplies
Medical technology
New business enterprises--Technological innovations
Product safety--Law and legislation--United States

Keywords
medical device* approv*

Catalog of books. periodicals, recordings, and other items held in libraries worldwide. Students local to UCLA may use the Interlibrary Loan Service at the UCLA Library to request sources found in WorldCAT libraries (or any non-UCLA Library). Subject headings above may be used when searching WorldCAT.

News Sources

	EMIS: Emerging Markets Information Service Industry, company, financial, business and legal news from 80+ emerging markets in Asia, Europe, Latin America.
	Factiva U.S. and international business and general news from 31,000+ sources (e.g., Barron's and The Wall Street Journal) in 26 languages and 200+ countries.
	Newsbank Covers 1,500+ sources worldwide including 650 in the U.S. (with 130+ CA papers, some not in Factiva or Nexis Uni).
	Nexis Uni Mega-database of news, business, financial, legal, medical and general sources.
	ProQuest News & Newspapers News articles from 17 current and historical papers licensed by UCLA from ProQuest (Los Angeles Times, Wall Street Journal, New York Times, et al.).
	Regional Business News Key 80+ business journals, papers, and newswires for all U.S. metropolitan and rural areas. An EBSCO database.

Market Databases

	Allied Market Research Global reports with market overview, value chain analysis, regulations, segmentation, regional focus, competition and key vendors.
	Arizton Research Global reports with key trends, market size and segmentation, drivers and challenges for the sector, competition, key vendors.
	BCC Research Market reports for major economic, scientific, and tech developments in industrial and advanced manufacturing (B2B), pharmaceutical, and high tech organizations.
	BIS Research Global reports on industry key trends, market size, segmentation, competition, key vendors, sector drivers and challenges.
	BizMiner class="s-lg-link-desc" id="s-lg-link-desc-6806591" style="box-sizing: border-box; color: rgb(102, 102, 102); font-family: AkzidenzGrotesk, "Helvetica Neue", Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif; font-size: 14px; line-height: 21px; background-color: rgb(255, 255, 255);">Detailed financial and marketing data for 16,000 lines of business in 300 U.S. national and local markets. Industry Financial Profiles, U.S. Market Research Reports, MicroFirm Profit and Loss, Franchise Comparison Reports, and more.
	eMarketer IT industry info, news, data, trends, and analysis for online/digital topics. User demographics, consumers and ecommerce; global coverage.
	Fitch Solutions In-depth, multi-region, multi-industry analysis of key trends, subjects and sectors.
	Forrester Research Research, trend analysis, and expert opinion on technology change and related IT issues, and their impact on businesses and consumers. First-time users: Apply for an account online.
	Frost & Sullivan U.S. and international market reports in sci-tech industries. UCLA's license limits "single-click" downloads.
	Gartner Note: Access to technology adoption cycle, innovation matrix and emphasis on strategic priorities re technology. Access with your UCLA Logon ID.
	Grand View Research Global reports with market segmentation, outlook, regional analysis, trends, regulatory framework, competition, key vendors, etc.
	MarketResearch.com Academic Market research in eight subject areas: Business Services, Consumer Goods, Demographics, Food & Beverage, Heavy Industry, Life Sciences, Public Sector, Technology and Media.
	Mintel Academic Market Reports Market reports for global, USA and W. European consumer products and services, demographics and specific consumer lifestyle.
	Mordor Intelligence Global Reports Reports with market size at a global level, emphasizing global hotspots/key markets and segmentation.
	Passport Consumer market (with current, historical, and forecast data) for 350 markets + 200 countries. Reports on U.S. & international consumer lifestyles, company profiles, brand data.

Articles, Books, Journals, etc.

	Business Source Complete Comprehensive business articles + reports database with 13,000 scholarly, professional, and trade periodicals. An EBSCO database.
	JSTOR Storehouse of 2,500+ scholarly business and economics journals.
	PsycINFO Psychology, business (consumer behavior, HR, marketing), health, education. law, pharmacology, medicine and psychiatry from APA, the American Psychological Association.
	Sage Journals Social sciences journal articles from Sage Publishers.
	Science Direct Sciences, technology, medicine, and social sciences journals and e-books by Elsevier.
	SpringerLink Social sciences and sciences journals, books, and series by Springer-Verlag, world's second largest STM publisher.
	Taylor & Francis Online Collective access to journals from Taylor & Francis, Routledge, and Psychology Press.
	Web of Science Multidisciplinary index to scholarly journals.
	Wiley Online Library Multi-subject sources with 200+ business, econ, finance, and sci-tech journals and e-books. UCLA does not license all Wiley Online content.

Open Access Articles Collections

BioMedCentral. Part of Springer Nature, BMC enables access to 290 open access, online, peer-reviewed journals in science, technology, and medicine.

Directory of Open Access Journals, DOAJ. Community-curated online directory with access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Hindawi. Commercial publisher of scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature, with 230 peer-reviewed scientific journals plus scholarly monographs and an annual output of 20,000 articles each year. Open access since 2007.

Handbook of Biomechatronics, by Jacob Segil, ed.
ISBN: 9780128125397
Date: 2019
Online book, from Science Direct.

Introduction to biomechatronic design as well as in-depth explanations of some of the most exciting and ground-breaking biomechatronic devices in the world today. In three main parts: Design, components, and devices. Each chapter presents the development of these biomechatronic devices followed by an in-depth discussion of the current state of the art.

Marketing Databases

	Claritas 360 Consumer market tool with demographic, segmentation, and target data for media planners and consumer marketers.
	Data.Census.gov U. S. demographic and economic data from the U.S. Census and other agencies.
	eMarketer IT industry trends, news and analysis for digital topics. User demographics, ecommerce, consumers; global coverage.
	PolicyMap Data and mapping application with 10,000+ indicators for housing, demographics, real estate, income, mortgages, health, etc.
	ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States Search/download U.S. agency data tables; by ProQuest, 2013-present, by U.S. government, 1878-2012.
	RKMA Market Research Annual/biennial market data, primarily USA, in fields of business, healthcare, consumer markets.
	SimplyAnalytics Web-based tool to create professional, thematic maps and reports with U.S. demographic, business, and marketing variables.
	Social Explorer Demographic and social data (current + historical). Tools to create custom data, interactive map or report design.
	SRDS Advertising Publications Media/advertising industry "bible" of print publishers, networks, and TV + radio stations in the U.S. and overseas. Current ad rates, audience or market data (DMA + MSA maps, station lists, formats), circulation data.

Patents

Issued to promote new inventions as "engines of commerce" and drivers of business activity, patents protect inventor rights to profit from the invention, and publicly disclose invention details so others may enhance and further that knowledge.

Derwent Innovations Index
Patent and citation searches of inventions in chemical, electrical, electronic, and mechanical engineering.
Factiva
U.S. and international business and general news from 31,000+ sources (e.g., Barron's and The Wall Street Journal) in 26 languages and 200+ countries. Select Search=>Search Builder, type in term/s, select date, set Subject=Patents; re-sort results by relevance or date.
UC Inventions at a Glance.
UC’s technology commercialization program takes inventions from the lab to the marketplace, building alliances with industry to create innovative products and generating new businesses and jobs for California. Rights to patentable inventions from UC research are assigned to the University under the UC Patent Policy. Campus offices (with systemwide assistance) facilitate commercialization of the inventions by industry partners; activities of these offices include managing patent application filings, technology marketing, negotiation of licenses and other agreements, and support for UC-affiliated inventors and entrepreneurs. See UC Technology Commercialization Reports (annuals, 2009-present).
UCLA Technology Development Group.
Serves as a campus-wide gateway to innovation, research and entrepreneurship. TDG exists to promote innovation, create economic vaue, and lead UCLA's reserach community to bring innovation to market. See TDG Hub plus publications.
U. S. Patents & Trademarks Office (USPTO).
U. S. Department of Commerce agency issuing patents to inventors and businesses for their inventions, and trademark registration for product and intellectual property identification. Searchable patents database, since 1790.
WIPO: World Intellectual Property Organization.
United Nations agency dedicated to the use of intellectual property (patents, trademarks, copyright, designs, etc.) as a means of stimulating innovation and creativity.

Patent Aides

Guide to Patent Searching.
Information from The University of Texas at Austin.
Index to the Manual of Classification of Patents.
Alphabetical directory of all patent classification codes used by the U.S.P.T.O.