Skip to Main Content

Cluster 20: Interracial Dynamics in American Culture and Society

Writing a Paper? Get Started Here.

Sometimes you need to narrow or broaden your topic.

Turn It In

UCLA has a campuswide license to Turnitin.com. Some professors ask their students to turn their papers in electronically and the text is submitted to Turnitin.com where it is compared with a vast database of other student papers, online articles, general Web pages, and other sources. Turnitin.com then produces a report for the instructor indicating whether the paper was plagiarized and if so, how much. To access this resource, log in to MyUCLA and click on the Turnitin.com link in the left-hand column under "MyUCLA Features." There will only be a link if your professor is using Turnitin.com.

Collecting and Citing Sources

Citation Style & Avoiding Plagiarism

Since you'll be doing most of your work online, it might be difficult to keep track of where you're pulling information from. Just like the social media callout, "photo credit," citing the sources you use in your research is a must. To learn more about the significance and technique of citations, check out the Citing Sources Research Guide Section on Avoiding Plagiarism for more information.

When citing sources be sure to use the proper citation style for the course. Below are links to ONLINE summarized citation rules for styles we'll be using in this class:

Annotated Bibliographies

Preparing an annotated bibliography is often the first step in writing a research paper. Sometimes it is a stand-alone assignment. Annotations usually include both description and some evaluative comment. See Purdue University's OWL (Online Writing Lab) page (linked below) for more help in preparing an annotated bibliography.

Annotated Bibliographies Webcomic

Annotated Bibliographies is a webcomic tutorial that walks learners through what annotated bibliographies are, why they're important, and the kind of annotated bibliographies they might be asked by their instructor to make.