Scholarly v. Popular
- Anatomy of a Scholarly ArticleInteractive display of the key elements of a scholarly journal article.
- Here is a short video explaining PEER REVIEW.
Finding Full Text
is your link to full-text! Note that some sources only index journal articles—they don't actually have the full text. Use the button to find the full text or search for the journal title in the UCLA Library Catalog.
Reading Tips
Here are some resources to help you get the most out of what you're reading this semester!
- Reading StrategiesThe way you read will vary depending on what you are reading and what you need to get out of the reading! This resource provides a bank of quick and practical reading strategies that can help you build your own reading strategies toolbox.
- Breaking Down Academic Articles: WebcomicBreaking Down Academic Articles is a webcomic tutorial that walks you through the most important aspects of an academic article, to help you prepare for class discussion on the article(s) or take away essential information from the article to support future research.
Article Databases
This is a very select list of available article databases. If you want to look for others, go to this page and click through to your discipline (political science, sociology, history, etc.)
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including 4,600 peer-reviewed journals.
- Access World News — Historical and Current This link opens in a new windowFull-text information and perspectives from over 2400 U.S. and international Blogs, Journals, Newspapers, Newswires, Video, Web-Only Sources. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new windowHistorical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Indexes articles from over 1,700 history journals published worldwide since 1964.
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowSuggested search strategy: immigration as Subject and [culture group--chinese, filipino, african american, etc.] as Keyword
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Complete text of articles from 1959 to the present from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish.
- Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new windowSuggested search: immigration and [culture group] as Select a Field (optional)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowComplete text and index of core journals in the social sciences & humanities from their starting dates to about 5 years ago.
- Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1985 to the present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times [1881-1995].
- New York Times This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1980 to the present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times [1851-2020]
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowIndex to doctoral dissertations from 1637 to the present, with abstracts since 1980. A number of master's theses are also indexed, with abstracts since 1988. Many are available for download in pdf format. UCLA has access to all full text dissertations in the database. Non-UCLA users may use Dissertations Express to purchase digital or print copies of individual dissertations.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowSuggested search strategy: family as keyword and [culture group:mexican, chinese, etc.] as Subject heading and immigra* as keyword.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of most disciplines. Indexes major journals with all cited references captured. Combines the following citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI); Conference Proceedings Citation Index.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowconsumer health, Entrez, MEDLINE, AIDSLINE, HealthSTAR, HISTLINE, nucleotides, genomes
