Buddhist Churches of America Finding Aid and Resources
- Buddhist Churches of America Finding Aid
The Buddhist Churches of America (BCA) is a national organization of the Jōdo Shinshū Hongwanji sect in the continental United States. Formerly known as the Buddhist Mission of North America (BMNA), the BCA is the largest Japanese American Buddhist organization and is currently headquartered in San Francisco, California. The collection includes correspondence between headquarters in the United States, Jōdo Shinshū Hongwanji Headquarters in Kyoto, Japan, and individual temples, as well as meeting minutes and conference materials, education-related records, publications, financial records, and audiovisual materials in a wide variety of formats.
- Buddhist Churches of America byCall Number: BQ8712.9.U6 B85 (YRL Oversize)Date: 1974This book was published by the Buddhist Churches of America for the 75th anniversary of the organization in 1974. Volume 1 covers the histories and activities of the BCA and each individual temple. Volume 2 includes images and information about the BCA's 75th anniversary meeting.
Buddhist Collections Interactive Map
This map provides information about materials about 83 temples from the Buddhist Churches of America collection, as well as approximately 23 temples from digital collections of oral histories (Oral Histories: Buddhist Traditions in Los Angeles Area) and newspaper photographs (Los Angeles Times Photographic Collection and Los Angeles Daily News Negatives).
Clicking on a site will open a popup with descriptions from the finding aid and links for requesting the materials or viewing online.
Please note: The map does not contain every item within the Buddhist Churches of America collection. Only materials mentioning Buddhist temples in the descriptions are included. To view all materials, please see the finding aid.
Buddhist Archives Database
This database serves as a resource to help researchers navigate the Buddhist Churches of America finding aid by providing the ability to filter or sort by place, year, or collection series.