Genealogy Resources
Several resources might be helpful as you look for information about your family. UCLA subscribes to The Library Edition of ancestry.com. There are also several resources that you can access from the Los Angeles Public Library (LAPL) website (www.lapl.org). You may need to get an LAPL library card, which does not cost anything, to access these resources. See the links below.
- Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new windowUCLA has access to the Library edition, which does not have all the information in the version that you need to subscribe to. However, there is a lot of information in this version that you can search for. If you find yourself in the version that asks you to log on, you have left the UCLA version--you should not pay for any material from ancestry.com
- LAPL History, Geography & Genealogy DatabasesDatabases marked 1 may be accessed from your home computer via the web. Those marked 1* can also be accessed from home but require an LAPL Library Card. Specific databases you can try are HeritageQuest Online or FamilySearch.
- Internet Archive Genealogy ResourcesMore than 76,000 digitized books useful for genealogical research.
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias are a good place to start if you need an overview of a topic you are unfamiliar with. They will often include a bibliography of sources that you can consult for more information.
- Gale E-Books (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new windowPart of GVRL is Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America which contains 8,000 to 12,000 word essays on specific culture groups in the United States, emphasizing religions, holidays, customs, food, and languages in addition to providing information on historical background and settlement patterns. Another good source is Dictionary of American History.
- International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral SciencesSearch in the Subject Index for the name of your culture group (Armenians, Jews, etc.) or country (Guatemala, Philippines, etc.) for articles that might be useful.
- Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
A good place to start, but note that it is an index to over 15 million articles in 11,000 subject encyclopedias and handbooks, both print and online and does not provide full-text articles. Instead, it will connect you to our catalog so you know where to find the appropriate encyclopedia, dictionary or other reference work. You will be linked to UCLA's holdings for any entries you find.
- Reference Sources in the Social Sciences and HumanitiesLinks to a variety of online reference resources.