Major Newspapers Online
The UCLA Library does not subscribe directly to latimes.com, nytimes.com, or most other newspaper websites. Instead we subscribe to third-party newspaper databases which license the articles from the newspaper publishers. These archives cover long time periods, provide advanced search features typically available in academic databases, and don't have pop-up ads (though they often index the ads present in the print newspapers, allowing you to search them). Current archives are usually updated daily.
On the down side, newspaper database archives are primarily about storing text and (sometimes) images. They usually don't contain videos or interactive features available on the original news sites, or web-exclusive content.
- U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text dating back to the 1980s for five of the nation’s major newspapers, including the New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal.
- Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1985 to the present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times [1881-2000].
- New York Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1980 to the present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times [1851-2020]
- ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches all ProQuest newspapers to which UCLA subscribes, both current and historical newspapers from major U.S. cities (Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal), international news sources, and alternative press.
- Sacramento Bee: Historical and Current (1857-current) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text of the Sacramento Bee from 1857 - current.
- San Francisco Chronicle: Historical and Current (1865-current) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text of the San Francisco Chronicle from 1865 - current.
- Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1822-2016 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from The Sunday Times, London from 1822-2016. Although similar in title, Sunday Times is a distinct newspaper with no editorial connection to The Times London. - Times of London Digital Archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes full text and page images of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials, advertising and images (excluding the Sunday Times) for 1785-2019.
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text, from 1984 to present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal [1889-2012].
- Washington Post This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1987 to the present. For access to older issues, see Proquest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post [1877-2007].
Online News Collections
See also Historical Newspapers tab for more online news archives.
- Access World News — Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from over 4,756 US and international blogs, journals, newspapers, newswires, videos, and web sources. Date coverage varies with individual newspapers. Formerly called America's Newspapers or NewsBank. - Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text from more than 200 newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press. Contains articles as early as 1970, but the bulk of the coverage is from 1991 to the present. - AP Newsroom This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
AP Newsroom (formerly AP Images) contains millions of photographs dating from 1826 to present day from the Associated Press. Includes thousands of graphics, audio files dating from the 1920s, and news stories and headlines from 1997 to the present.
- The Big Index of Global NewspapersA public website that links to newspapers and other news sources from around the world, organized by country.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete text of articles since 1959 from over 200 publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Includes Los Angeles Sentinel and La Opinión. - Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
US and international business news and information and general news from some 31,000+ sources (including Barron's, The Wall Street Journal, and The Wall Street Journal Online), spanning 26 languages and more than 200 countries. - Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digitized collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada over more than 9,000 individual editions from 1828-2016. The 45 unique titles also include bilingual and Indigenous-language editions, such as Hawaiian, Cherokee and Navajo languages. Previously titled American Indian Newspapers. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Text of articles in newspapers and periodicals for the last 20 years. (Only contains latest 6 months of LA Times.) Includes major news wire services and transcripts of broadcast news. Special sections for business, legal, and biographical news. Formerly LexisNexis Academic. - Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided. - ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches all ProQuest newspapers to which UCLA subscribes, both current and historical newspapers from major U.S. cities (Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal), international news sources, and alternative press.
- Universal Database of Baltics, Belarus, Moldova, and Ukraine Newspapers (UDB-EUR) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Important periodicals published in European nations which used to be part of the Soviet Union. The sources are in mostly in Russian. - Universal Database of Central Asia and Caucasus (UDB-CAC) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journals and newspapers from former Soviet republics. The database consists of titles from Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tadjikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan.
- Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Network evening news broadcasts from the major US national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming, including ABC's Nightline since 1989.
- WISENEWS 慧科新聞WiseNews is a newspaper database based in Taiwan, which provides hundreds of newspapers published in Taiwan, Hong Kong, mainland China and some other parts of the world.
- World News Connection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Translated and English language news compiled from foreign media sources. Coverage includes political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events from 1995 through 31 December 2013. Includes FBIS Reports from 2002-2005.
Print Newspapers in the UCLA Library
Current Daily Newspapers
Recent print editions of major world and Los Angeles area newspapers are shelved in the Charles E. Young Research Library A-Level Garden Commons. Check the UCLA Library Catalog for specific titles. Most paper issues are kept for only a month or two before being replaced with microfilm.
Older Daily Newspapers
To find newspaper titles in the UCLA Library, search the UCLA Library Catalog for the name of the newpaper (e.g., Sacramento Bee) within Journal Title (Start of). Some titles will be on microfilm and some will have links to online resources.
Finding Newspapers by City of Publication
The UCLA Library has many newspapers in its collections that have not been digitized. They are not easily searchable in the UCLA Library Catalog if you do not know the title of the newspaper. If you are looking for newspapers from a specific city, you can search WorldCat through the FirstSearch interface and limit to newspapers in the UCLA Library. The search strategy to use is:
- Enter the city (e.g., cairo) in the search box and select Publisher location from the drop-down menu.
- Limit the search to Serial Publications
- Limit availability to
- Do the search, then select the Subtype Newspapers.
The results will be a list of newspapers from the publisher location searched.
News Digests
Several reference sources provide concise summaries of news and current events from around the world, drawing upon hundreds of news publications. Earlier years of these titles are available in print.
- Keesing's Worldwide Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online digest of political, social and economic events for all countries of the world from 1931 to the present. - Facts on File World News Digest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Formerly called Facts on File, this source covers all major political, social, and economic events since November 1940.
- Africa Research Bulletin: Economic, Financial and Technical Series
- This link opens in a new window
Online digest of news and current events on the African continent from 1997. Printed copies from 1964-1996 are in the Research Library Reading Room, call number Z3501 .A258e. - Africa Research Bulletin: Political, Social and Cultural Series
- This link opens in a new window
Online digest of news and current events on the African continent from 1997. Printed copies from 1964-1996 are in the Research Library Reading Room, call number Z3501 .A258p.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The United States' principal record of political and historical open source intelligence, including transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news translated into English. Translations of print and broadcast news, Foreign Broadcast Information Service Publications 1996-2004, are available on CD-Rom. Years 1941-1996 are online in Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports.
- Latin America Digital Beat (LADB)The LADB archive, located at the University of New Mexico, includes a searchable database of over 28,000 articles drawn from a variety of Latin American news sources and journals. Time period covered is 1986-2018.
Connecting from Off-Campus: VPN and Proxy Tutorials
The Library's online subscription resources can always be accessed from computers and wireless networks on campus. However, off-campus access is restricted to current UCLA, students, faculty, and staff who have set up their computer using one of the methods below. Click on the other tabs to see how four Bruins got their computers set up and ready to go for remote access!
If you still need help, you can contact the UCLA IT Support Center at (310) 267-4357 or help@it.ucla.edu. They provide 24/7 phone support.
- Virtual Private Networking (VPN)A program you can download and install, or use the built-in version on many computers or mobile devices. VPN software must be logged on manually before you access a restricted site, but works for all programs on your computer. It stays connected until you log off.
- UCLA Online Proxy ServerA simple browser setting which will automatically divert you to a UCLA logon page when you first access a restricted site.
VPN on Mac with Natalie
"I chose VPN for my mac because I need to be able to access the full text of articles on different browsers." - Natalie, Environmental Science
VPN on Windows with Michael
"I chose VPN because I like the security it provides and the control it gives me as a user to manually enable or disable it when I'm browsing online." - Michael, Public Affairs
VPN on Chromebook with Nadia
"I chose VPN because it is really simple to use!" - Nadia, Public Affairs
Proxy on Mac with Kate
"I chose Proxy because I prefer logging in through a web browser without having to download any software on my computer." - Kate, Ethnic Studies