Local News—Southern California
The UCLA Library has many newspapers in its collections that have not been digitized. They are not easily searchable in the UCLA Library Catalog if you do not know the title of the newspaper. If you are looking for newspapers from a specific city, you can search WorldCat via Firstsearch (requires the UCLA VPN from off-campus to access) and limit to newspapers in the UCLA Library. The search strategy to use is:
- Enter the city (e.g., los angeles) in the search box and select Publisher location from the drop-down menu.
- Limit the search to Serial Publications
- Limit availability to
- Do the search, then select the Subtype Newspapers.
The results will be a list of newspapers from the publisher location searched.
Patrons can also use the freely available web version of WorldCat to search for newspapers and periodicals in library collections.
Selected Southern California newspapers are listed below:
- California Newspaper Project (CNP)Based at UC Riverside's Center for Bibliographic Studies and Research, the CNP is a project to identify, describe and preserve California newspapers. It covers over 1,400 repositories, inventorying close to 9,000 California newspapers. The CNP does not hold newspapers in its offices. Its database allows researchers to narrow their contacts to institutions holding the relevant titles.
- California Digital Newspaper CollectionOver 5,460,000 pages of significant historical California newspapers published from 1846-present, including the first California newspaper, the Californian, and the first daily California newspaper, the Daily Alta California. It also contains issues of several current California newspapers that are part of a project to preserve and provide access to contemporary papers. Click on Help to see how to search this database.
- California Eagle (Los Angeles)A major African American newspaper in Los Angeles from 1879 through 1964. The microfilm has been digitized by the Internet Archive, which has its own search platform.
- California Information File IIA continuation of the analog Information File I from the California State Library, this specialized database contains more than 95,000 references to California people, places, events, and subjects as they appear in the California History Section’s periodical, manuscript, postcard and ephemera collections.
- Community Advocate (South Gate)Only available on microfilm.
- Daily News (Woodland Hills)
This link opens in a new window
Much of the paper's reporting is targeted toward readers in suburban areas of Los Angeles. Special attention is given to high technology, banking, petroleum, aerospace, entertainment, insurance, and the large local universities, UCLA and USC. - Daily News of Los Angeles (1985+)
- This link opens in a new window
Full text articles on national and local news, sports, health, and travel; as well as photos and sound files. Covers Los Angeles, Antelope Valley, Burbank/Glendale, Santa Clarita, and Simi Valley. Includes links to Associated Press podcasts. - Dominguez News (Carson, Dominguez Hills)Only available on microfilm.
- Herald-Dispatch (Weekend Herald-Dispatch)UCLA has microfilm holdings of this paper from 1964-1981.
- Los Angeles Herald ExaminerAvailable on microfilm. Search the title for earlier years and slight title changes. Previous title: Los Angeles Evening Herald and Express.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Sentinel This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Major Black newspaper in Los Angeles, covering May 17, 1934 - 2010. For access to current issues see Ethnic NewsWatch.
- Los Angeles StarBilingual English and Spanish paper covering 1851-1875. Microfilm in UCLA Library Special Collections.
- Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text of the Los Angeles Times, in HTML format. No photos or illustrations. - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the first issue in 1881 to 2015. For access to current issues, see Los Angeles Times [1985-present].
- Los Angeles Times Photographic Collection
Photonegatives and photographic prints documenting events and people in Southern California, the U.S., and the world. Materials originate from the Los Angeles Times newspaper and includes glass negatives (ca. 1918-1932), nitrate negatives (ca. 1925-45), and safety negatives (ca. 1935-1990). The collection in UCLA Library Special Collections also includes prints and negatives from the Los Angeles Times Orange County and San Diego bureaus.
Additional California Newspapers Online
- Access World News: Associated Press News Wire: California
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 2010-current.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: San Francisco Chronicle This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the first issue as the Daily Dramatic Chronicle in 1865 to 1922. - San Francisco Chronicle: Historical and Current (1865-current) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text of the San Francisco Chronicle from 1865 - current.
- Sacramento Bee: Historical and Current (1857-current) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text of the Sacramento Bee from 1857 - current.
Non-English News Sources
- La Opinión
- This link opens in a new window
Spanish. UCLA Library holds online editions (from 1992) microfilm (1926-2010) and print (latest issues only) of this Los Angeles area paper. - Anba al ArabArabic. Print only, holdings are sporadic and not current. Continued by Al' Arab.
- Al' ArabArabic. Print only.
- California Staats-ZeitungGerman. Microfilm.
- L'Italo americano di Los AngelesItalian. Microform.
- Rafu Shimpo (Rafu shinpō)
- This link opens in a new window
Japanese American newspaper. Online and Microform. - KhvāndanīʹhāPersian.
- Unión HispanaSpanish language Santa Ana paper. Located in the Chicano Studies Research Center Library.