Search Multiple Newspaper Databases at the Same Time
Create your own customized combo search!
- Click on Databases in the header
- Select View by Subject
- Under News & Newspapers databases, check the databases you want
- Click Use selected databases
ProQuest allows you to search multiple databases with a single search. Here are links to search screens for some common combinations of their newspaper databases.
- ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Searches all ProQuest newspapers to which UCLA subscribes, both current and historical newspapers from major U.S. cities (Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal), international news sources, and alternative press.
- U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text dating back to the 1980s for five of the nation’s major newspapers, including the New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete text of articles from 1959 to the present from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text publications focusing on the impact of gender across multiple subject areas. Include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and more.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers
- This link opens in a new window
Search all historical African American newspapers from Proquest to which UCLA subscribes. - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Canadian Newspapers
- This link opens in a new window
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the first issue in 1881 to 2015. For access to current issues, see Los Angeles Times [1985-present].
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the first issue in 1851 to 2020. For access to current issues, see The New York Times [1980-present]. Contains the former Historical Index to the New York Times (1851-1923) from the database Historical Newspapers Online.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: San Francisco Chronicle This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the first issue as the Daily Dramatic Chronicle in 1865 to 1922. - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: the Wall Street Journal. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text, from 1889 to 2012. For access to current issues, see Wall Street Journal [1984-present].
- Washington Post This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1987 to the present. For access to older issues, see Proquest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post [1877-2007].
Historical versus Current
The ProQuest company hosts dozens of databases which archive the full text of a single newspaper. Each of these databases is either historical or current. Thus, you may need to search two databases to cover the full run of a newspaper.
- Historical databases all say "ProQuest Historical Newspapers". They usually start with the first issue of a paper and go up to the 1980s, 1990s, or early 2000s. They are based on scanned images of newspaper pages.
- Current databases don't actually say "current". They usually start in the 1970s or 1980s and go up to the present. They are based on text files provided by the publishers and thus lack graphics or page layouts.