Research Guides: News: Historical Newspapers by Region

Historical Newspaper Databases by Region

African News Agency This link opens in a new window
Full-text news reports from African news agencies, from 1998 to present. Includes SAPA (South African Press Agency) Archive.
African Newspapers, Series 1 from the World Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage of the people, issues and events that shaped the continent during the 19th and early 20th centuries. From Algeria to Angola, Zambia to Zimbabwe, this resource chronicles the evolution of Africa through eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative information, letters, poetry, advertisements, obituaries and other items.
African Newspapers: The British Library Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
African Newspapers: The British Library Collection features 64 newspapers from throughout Africa, all published before 1901. Originally archived by the British Library.
Africa-Wide Information This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Material on Africa from the 19th century to the present. Sources include books, journal and magazine articles, radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, pamphlets, maps, reports, theses, and music recordings.
Apartheid Global Perspectives, 1946-1996 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Translated news broadcasts and publications on the international reaction to apartheid throughout the African continent and from around the world
Global Press Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
GPA encompasses newspapers in more than 30 languages and will ultimately include titles from over 125 countries. Wherever possible, titles are presented in their complete runs from the first issue.
The GPA CRL collections include the following eight open access collections: Imperial Russian Newspapers; Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers; Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers; Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers; Southeast Asian Newspapers; South Asian Newspapers; El Mundo Digital Archive; Daily Observer Digital Archive. The GPA CRL collections also include the following six CRL-wide member collections with access restricted to UCLA: Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers Premium (5 additional in-copyright titles); El Caribe Digital Archive; East African Newspapers; Post-Perestroika Newspapers; Local and Independent Ukrainian Newspapers; Soviet-Era Ukrainian Newspapers.
Rand Daily Mail (1902-1985) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Rand Daily Mail, published daily in Johannesburg, is a title that pioneered popular journalism in South Africa. It was one of the first newspapers to openly oppose apartheid and contribute to its downfall.
Service Newspapers of World War Two This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains an extensive range of both rare and well-known wartime publications for soldiers serving in major theatres around the world. Publications are included from many key nations involved in the conflict, such as the US, Canada, New Zealand, India, and the countries of Europe, Africa and the Middle East.

African American Newspapers, Series 1 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Features 280 newspapers from 35 states published for or by African Americans, including many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles. Beginning with Freedom’s Journal (NY)—the first African American newspaper published in the United States—titles include The Colored Citizen (KS), Arkansas State Press, Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York Age, L'Union (LA), Northern Star and Freeman’s Advocate (NY), Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, The Appeal (MN) and hundreds more. See also African American Newspapers Series 2.
African American Newspapers, Series 2 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
African American Newspapers, Series 2, 1835-1956 complements and expands on African American Newspapers, Series 1. Published in 22 states and the District of Columbia, titles include Frederick Douglass’s New National Era (Washington, DC), Washington Tribune (Washington, DC), Chicago Bee (Chicago, IL), The Louisianian (New Orleans, LA), The Pine and Palm (Boston, MA), National Anti-Slavery Standard (New York, NY), New York Age (New York, NY), Harlem Liberator (New York, NY), North Carolina Republican and Civil Rights Advocate (Weldon, NC), Southern News (Richmond, VA) and more. See also See also African American Newspapers Series 1.
Amateur Newspapers from the American Antiquarian Society (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Amateur publications that were written, edited, and published primarily by young people, aged 12-20, during the second half of the 19th century, this archive features tens of thousands of issues, and includes editorials, original short fiction, essays, poetry, and more.

America's Historical Newspapers
- This link opens in a new window
More than 1,000 US historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states, covering virtually every aspect of America during the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries. Includes Early American Newspapers Series 1, 1690-1876.

American Prison Newspapers, 1800-2020: Voices from the Inside This link opens in a new window
Open Access collection of newspapers produced by people who have been incarcerated. Includes two of the first prison publications, Forlorn Hope and Supporter, with more than 350 titles identified for inclusion.
Archive of Americana This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Thousands of newspapers, books, ephemera, broadsides, pamphlets, government publications, and more, detailing life in 17th-, 18th-, and 19th-century America. Includes America's Historical Imprints; Early American Newspapers, 1690-1876; America's Historical Newspapers; Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876; American State Papers, 1789-1838; and U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980.
Archives of Sexuality and Gender (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digitized primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues concerning gender and sexuality, and impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Includes newsletters and newspapers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and more. Contributing repositories include: Kinsey Institute, British Library, Lesbian Herstory, Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives, National Library of Medicine, and more. UCLA provides access to Parts I and II (LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940), Part III (Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century), Part IV (International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture), and Part VI (Community and Identity in North America).
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content pertaining to US Hispanic history, literature, and culture from colonial times to 1960. Includes historical articles, books, broadsides, newspapers and pamphlets in both Spanish and English.
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 2 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Thematic content focusing on the evolution of Hispanic American civil rights, religious thought, and the growing presence of women writers from the late 19th and 20th centuries. Rare books and newspapers are presented in their original form. Extensive manuscript collections of both organizations and individuals are included.
Associated Press Collections Online (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digitized archives of the Associated Press, including news features, internal communications, U.S. City bureaus, Middle East and European bureaus, and some images.

California Digital Newspaper Collection
Over 5,460,000 pages of significant historical California newspapers published from 1846-present, including the first California newspaper, the Californian, and the first daily California newspaper, the Daily Alta California. It also contains issues of several current California newspapers that are part of a project to preserve and provide access to contemporary papers. Click on Help to see how to search this database.
California Eagle
A major Los Angeles African American newspaper from 1879-1964. There is no index, but some articles are indexed in Blacks in Selected Newspapers, Censuses and Other Sources (YRL Reference Reading Room Z1361.N39 A116b)
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Digital project from the Library of Congress including online access to newspapers published from between 1690-present. Search newspaper pages digitized through the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).

Documenting White Supremacy and its Opponents in the 1920s This link opens in a new window
Includes papers promoting and opposing white supremacy, published mainly in the 1920s. This database brings together local, regional, and national newspapers published by Klan organizations and by sympathetic publishers from across the US. It also includes key anti-Klan voices from newspapers published by American Black, Catholic, and Jewish communities. See also the project's context page.
Eighteenth Century Journals, 1685-1835 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of rare newspapers and journals printed between 1685 and 1835 in the UK and colonies, including India, the Caribbean, and Canada, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Includes an index to The Lady's Magazine, 1770-1818.
Harper's Weekly 1857-1912 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-image reproductions of Harper's Weekly from 1857-1912, one of the most important weekly magazines read by Americans during the 19th Century.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Compilation of hundreds of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Based on the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project.
History Commons (North American Collections) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Previously titled Accessible Archives Complete. UCLA's access to historical sources includes 19th-century African American Newspapers (The Christian Recorder, The Colored American, Frederick Douglass Paper, Freedom's Journal, The National Era, The North Star, Provincial Freeman, Weekly Advocate); Godey's Lady's Book (pt.2-3); The Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalog; and Pennsylvania Newspaper Record.

Hoji Shinbun Digital Collection
The open access Hoji Shinbun Digital Collection (Hoover Institution Library & Archives) is currently the world’s largest online archive of open-access, full image Japanese American and other overseas Japanese newspapers in Asia and South America.
Illinois Digital Newspaper Collections
Digitized historical issues of smaller press newspapers, primarily from IL but also including the New York Clipper and other U.S. and Canadian titles.

Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
Full text of more than 1000 open access alternative publications from the 1960s-1980s covering feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Latinos, LGBTQ+ activists, and more.
Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digitized collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada over more than 9,000 individual editions from 1828-2016. The 45 unique titles also include bilingual and Indigenous-language editions, such as Hawaiian, Cherokee and Navajo languages. Previously titled American Indian Newspapers.
International Herald Tribune Historical Archive, 1887-2013 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete run of the paper from its origins as the European Edition of The New York Herald and later the European Edition of the New York Herald Tribune. The archive ends with the last issue of the International Herald Tribune before its relaunch as the International New York Times.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from urban and rural regions throughout the US. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with emphasis on topics such as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration, and Antebellum-era life.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Canadian Newspapers
- This link opens in a new window
Includes historical coverage of Calgary Herald, Edmonton Journal, The Globe and Mail, Leader-Post, Montreal Gazette, Ottawa Citizen, The Province, Times Colonist, Toronto Star, Vancouver Sun, and Windsor Star.

ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches all ProQuest newspapers to which UCLA subscribes, both current and historical newspapers from major U.S. cities (Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal), international news sources, and alternative press.
Rafu Shimpo, Los Angeles Japanese Daily News 羅府新報 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Rafu Shimpo is the longest running Japanese American newspaper in the United States. The paper began in 1903 supporting the small but growing Japanese community in the Little Tokyo area of Los Angeles, California.
Sacramento Bee: Historical and Current (1857-current) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text of the Sacramento Bee from 1857 - current.
San Francisco Chronicle: Historical and Current (1865-current) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text of the San Francisco Chronicle from 1865 - current.
Service Newspapers of World War Two This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains an extensive range of both rare and well-known wartime publications for soldiers serving in major theatres around the world. Publications are included from many key nations involved in the conflict, such as the US, Canada, New Zealand, India, and the countries of Europe, Africa and the Middle East.
U.S. Hispanic Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text collection of leading Hispanic newspapers, news wires, websites, and blogs from US publishers in Spanish or English. Includes full contents of U.S. Hispanic Newsstand.
1980s Culture and Society This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Compiles archival collections housed across the United States, United Kingdom, Australia, and Canada. Content ranges from zines, newspapers and ephemera, to oral histories, films and photographs. Grassroots materials produced by left-wing organizations and underrepresented groups are presented alongside government records and mainstream media to showcase the key social, cultural, and political concerns of the decade.

Afghan Serials Collection. Partisan Publications from The Wahdat Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection is a major contribution to the preservation of the history of the region and is comprised of the careful selection of more than 2,500 individual issues of 46 newspapers and journals published in Persian, Pushto, Arabic, Urdu, and English.
Argumenty i Fakty Digital Archive (DA-AIF) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides all obtainable published issues of Argumenty i fakty (Аргументы и факты, Arguments and Facts), a weekly newspaper based in Moscow. Coverage begins in 1983 and an additional year’s worth of content is added on an annual basis.
Associated Press Collections Online (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digitized archives of the Associated Press, including news features, internal communications, U.S. City bureaus, Middle East and European bureaus, and some images.
Central Asia, Persia and Afghanistan, 1834-1922: From Silk Road to Soviet Rule This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection of Foreign Office files explores the history of Persia (Iran), Central Asia and Afghanistan from the decline of the Silk Road in the first half of the nineteenth century to the establishment of Soviet rule over parts of the region in the early 1920s. It encompasses the era of “The Great Game” - a political and diplomatic confrontation between the Russian and British Empires for influence, territory and trade across a vast region, from the Black Sea in the west to the Pamir Mountains in the east.
Donetsk and Luhansk Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Donetsk and Luhansk Newspaper Collection incorporates 10 rare newspapers from the self-proclaimed Donetsk and Luhansk (Lugansk, in local spelling) republics of Ukraine. Coverage includes the period of military hostilities between the unrecognized states and the government of Ukraine (2013-2015).

Europeana Newspapers
Digitized materials from the European Union, including newspapers from 1618 to the 1980s.

Global Press Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
GPA encompasses newspapers in more than 30 languages and will ultimately include titles from over 125 countries. Wherever possible, titles are presented in their complete runs from the first issue.
The GPA CRL collections include the following eight open access collections: Imperial Russian Newspapers; Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers; Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers; Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers; Southeast Asian Newspapers; South Asian Newspapers; El Mundo Digital Archive; Daily Observer Digital Archive. The GPA CRL collections also include the following six CRL-wide member collections with access restricted to UCLA: Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers Premium (5 additional in-copyright titles); El Caribe Digital Archive; East African Newspapers; Post-Perestroika Newspapers; Local and Independent Ukrainian Newspapers; Soviet-Era Ukrainian Newspapers.
Integrum Profi Central Press This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
INTEGRUM™ Profi is the largest archive of mass-media sources from Russia and countries of the former Soviet Union with analytical tools. The archive contains Moscow and Russian regional newspapers and magazines, on-line, TV and radio sources as well as media sources from the CIS and some other countries with the archive of some of them back to the late 1980s - early 1990s.
TO ACCESS: Click the link, select interface (English interface windows-1251 encoding is selected by default), and click the grey "Enter (no registration)" button.
Integrum Profi User Manual
Moscow News Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Moscow News Digital Archive contains all obtainable published issues (1930-2014, approx. 60,000 pages), including issues of the newspaper's short-lived sister publication: Moscow Daily News (1932-1938).
Novoe Russkoe Slovo Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Novoe russkoe slovo (New Russian Word) was first New York. Published initially as Russkoe slovo with pro-Communist leanings, the newspaper underwent changes a decade later, in 1920. First it changed the name by adding Novoe (or New) to Russkoe slovo and secondly and perhaps most importantly it shed its pro-Communist sympathies establishing itself as the newspaper of the Russian émigré community in New York and beyond.
Pravda Archive, 1959-1996 Twentieth-Century Global Perspectives This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles published by Pravda during the Cold War and the years immediately following, from 1959 to 1996, collected and translated into English by the CIA

Pravda Digital Archive 1912-2009
- This link opens in a new window
Historical full text of the Soviet/Russian newspaper (most content is in Russian language only).

Pravda Ukrainy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Pravda Ukrainy (originally Sovetskaia Ukraina) was a Russian-language Soviet Ukrainian daily and a newspaper of record, serving as the official organ of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of Ukraine and Supreme Soviet of the Ukrainian SSR. Covers 1938-2014.
Service Newspapers of World War Two This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains an extensive range of both rare and well-known wartime publications for soldiers serving in major theatres around the world. Publications are included from many key nations involved in the conflict, such as the US, Canada, New Zealand, India, and the countries of Europe, Africa and the Middle East.
Sovetskaia Kul'tura Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to Kulʹtura (Culture), a Russian weekly newspaper previously published under the titles: Rabochiĭ i iskusstvo (1929-1930), Sovetskoe iskusstvo (1931-1941), Literatura i iskusstvo (1942-1944), Sovetskoe iskusstvo (1944-1952) and Sovetskai︠a︡ kulʹtura (1953-1991). Throughout the years the newspaper articles reviewed major events in Russian cultural life, in literature, theater, cinematography and arts.
Sovetskaia Ukraina Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
In Kyiv, Sovetskaia Ukraina (later Pravda Ukrainy) was a Russian-language Soviet Ukrainian daily and a newspaper of record, serving as the official organ of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of Ukraine and Supreme Soviet of the Ukrainian SSR. The newspaper was the Ukrainian Communist Party’s leading print media agent in the dissemination of the party’s opinions about politics, culture, economics and other issues.
Soviet Cinema Online: Periodicals and Newspapers, 1918-1942 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The collection includes Soviet film magazines and newspapers from the 1920s and 1930s, reflecting an interesting period in the history of Russian Film. Part I: Journals online, number of titles: 27. Part II: Newspapers online, number of titles: 20.
Universal Database of Central Asia and Caucasus (UDB-CAC) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journals and newspapers from former Soviet republics. The database consists of titles from Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tadjikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan.

Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 1.3 million pages of archival material (manuscripts, monographs, newspapers and periodicals) concerning Latin America and the Caribbean, including major collections about Latin American independence, Brazilian popular groups, Diplomatic activities in Cuba and more. Under this database's former name, Gale World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean included some periodicals and reference books that have been moved to Gale’s Dictionary of Literary Biography and Gale eBooks.
Black Studies Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes both scholarly and popular press journals, newspapers, and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean. Coverage is international in scope and multidisciplinary, including cultural, economic, historical, religious, social, and political issues. Formerly titled International Index to Black Periodicals (IIPA).
Caribbean Newspapers 1718-1876 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of 18th and 19th-century Caribbean newspapers. Colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, New World slavery with a comprehensive resource for studying the development of Western society.
Global Press Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
GPA encompasses newspapers in more than 30 languages and will ultimately include titles from over 125 countries. Wherever possible, titles are presented in their complete runs from the first issue.
The GPA CRL collections include the following eight open access collections: Imperial Russian Newspapers; Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers; Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers; Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers; Southeast Asian Newspapers; South Asian Newspapers; El Mundo Digital Archive; Daily Observer Digital Archive. The GPA CRL collections also include the following six CRL-wide member collections with access restricted to UCLA: Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers Premium (5 additional in-copyright titles); El Caribe Digital Archive; East African Newspapers; Post-Perestroika Newspapers; Local and Independent Ukrainian Newspapers; Soviet-Era Ukrainian Newspapers.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Articles are drawn from more than 500 key social science and humanities journals. Produced by the UCLA Latin American Center.

Historic Mexican and Mexican-American Press
Historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.
Hoji Shinbun Digital Collection
The open access Hoji Shinbun Digital Collection (Hoover Institution Library & Archives) is currently the world’s largest online archive of open-access, full image Japanese American and other overseas Japanese newspapers in Asia and South America.
Latin America Digital Beat (LADB)
The LADB archive, located at the University of New Mexico, includes a searchable database of over 28,000 articles drawn from a variety of Latin American news sources and journals. Time period covered is 1986-2018.

Latin American Newspapers, Series 1 from the World Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
More than 35 fully searchable newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere. Latin American Newspapers offers unprecedented coverage of the people, issues, and events that shaped this vital region between 1805 and 1922.
Latin American Newspapers, Series 2 from the World Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
More than 250 Nineteenth and Twentieth Century Latin American Newspapers. Featuring titles from: Belize, Brazil, Columbia, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Paraguay.

Asahi Shimbun Cross-Search This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of Asahi shinbun 朝日新聞 (1879-present). Includes full images of Asashi shinbun shukusatsuban 朝日新聞縮刷版 (1879-1989), Asahi gurafu アサヒグラフ (1923-1956) and Asahi shinbun rekishi shashin ākaibu 朝日新聞歴史写真アーカイブ, a historical photo archive (1928-1944). Database should open with a prompt to "Login." Click "Login" to access the database. Please note that the UC license allows two simultaneous users shared among seven campuses. Please logout after use.
Previously Kikuzo II Visual for Libraries
Central Daily News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Central Daily News was first published in Shanghai in February 1928, and has been the official news media for the KMT (Kuomintang) government for years. This online database covers page image access from 1928 to 2006.
The China Times 時事新報 1911-1949 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CNBKSY has digitized 147,000 pages of The China Times, from its beginning to its final issue.
Chosŏn ilbo akʻaibŭ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable databases of Choson Daily Newspaper PDF archives from its first issue in 1920 to the present. It includes more than 2,600,000 articles and is searchable by journalist or content type.
Global Press Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
GPA encompasses newspapers in more than 30 languages and will ultimately include titles from over 125 countries. Wherever possible, titles are presented in their complete runs from the first issue.
The GPA CRL collections include the following eight open access collections: Imperial Russian Newspapers; Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers; Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers; Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers; Southeast Asian Newspapers; South Asian Newspapers; El Mundo Digital Archive; Daily Observer Digital Archive. The GPA CRL collections also include the following six CRL-wide member collections with access restricted to UCLA: Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers Premium (5 additional in-copyright titles); El Caribe Digital Archive; East African Newspapers; Post-Perestroika Newspapers; Local and Independent Ukrainian Newspapers; Soviet-Era Ukrainian Newspapers.
Herald of Asia This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Published from 1916 to 1938 during the Taisho era, "The Herald of Asia" was a weekly publication that featured geopolitical, diplomatic, and financial news, contributions by prominent political and business figures, etc. Digitized by Japan Times.

Hoji Shinbun Digital Collection
The open access Hoji Shinbun Digital Collection (Hoover Institution Library & Archives) is currently the world’s largest online archive of open-access, full image Japanese American and other overseas Japanese newspapers in Asia and South America.

Japan Chronicle Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to the English-language newspaper Japan Chronicle Weekly (1900–1940). This collection also includes access to the Kobe Weekly Chronicle (1900-1901).
Japan Times Archives This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of digitized issues of The Japan Times, The Japan Advertiser, The Japan Times & Mail, The Japan Times and Advertiser, and The Nippon Times; includes issues from March 22, 1897 through the final issue of 2023.
Jiefangjun Bao (PLA Daily) Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Jiefangjun Bao (解放军报, People’s Liberation Army (PLA) Daily) is the official newspaper of the People’s Republic of China’s Central Military Commission. The publication was established on January 1, 1956 and acts as the authoritative media of the Chinese People’s Liberation Army to release military news and comprehensive military-related information. Contains all published issues from 1956-present.

Kyongsong Sinbo (경성신보 京城新報)
Japanese-language newspapers, published in Korea during the period of Japanese colonization. The articles are provided in PDF format and are not searchable.

Lian he zhi shi ku This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Udndata, an article-specific database was established by UDN Online in February 2001 to provide news articles from five major newspapers published by the United Daily News Group. The newspapers include United daily news, Min sheng daily, United evening news, Economic daily news, and Star news. Also included are several news magazines such as Global view monthly and some Chinese newspapers published outside Taiwan.
UDN; Lian he zhi shi ku; Chinese; newspaper; Taiwan
Mobilizing East Asia This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Mobilizing East Asia offers a carefully selected and tightly organized range of essential English-language newspapers, magazines, pamphlets and books following the descent into war in East and South-East Asia from the turn of the twentieth century to the 1950s. This exciting collection of newspapers and lavishly illustrated magazines, often in colour, shows the route from the defeat of Russia by Japan to Japan’s own defeat, through seismic upheaval in China and the onset of systemic change in Asia.
The National Herald 神州日報 1907-1946 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The National Herald was the first large-scale daily newspaper founded by the revolutionaries of the late Qing Dynasty. CNBKSY has digitized over 63,000 pages of The National Herald.
Nikkei Telecom 21 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text access to Nihon keizai shinbun (1876/12/2-1956/12/31, and 1981/10-present), Nikkei sangyō shinbun (1981/10-present), Nikkei ryūtsū shinbun (1985/10-present), and Nikkei kin’yū shinbun (1987/10-2008/1) is provided; it also offers English sources such as Nikkei English News, Nikkei Weekly and translations of major articles from the above-mentioned Japanese newspapers, as well as Nikkei Company Profile (30,000 company profiles) and Nikkei Who's Who (20,000 corporate executive profiles).
North-China Daily News & Herald Newspapers and Hong Lists (1850-1951) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
From the largest British-founded press agency in Shanghai, searches a number of historical Chinese and English newspapers. Titles include The Chinese Shipping List & Advertiser, Hu Bao, Han Bao, and Xiao Xian Bao. Select English or Chinese interface from the drop down list at the upper right corner. Limited to two simultaneous users.

People's Daily (Renmin Ribao)
- This link opens in a new window
People's Daily is the most influential and authoritative newspaper in China. It is the official voice of the central government of the People's Republic of China. For over 60 years, the People's Daily has published daily issues that provide a single location where the central government and the Communist Party of China announce their respective policies and disseminate governmental, political, and economic messages to the public and the world. Updated daily.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Korea Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text from November 1950 to 2016.
Shen Bao (申报) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Shen Bao was the first major newspaper in China, having national coverage spanning from 1872 to 1949, from the Qing Dynasty to the Republic Era.
Sheng-ching Shih-pao 盛京時報 1906-1944 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Sheng-ching Shih-pao was a leading Japanese-owned Chinese newspaper. CNBKSY has digitized 105,000 pages of Sheng-ching Shih-pao, covering all pages from the first to final issue.
Taiwan Nichinichi Shinpo Sound Culture Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The database covers the period from the year Taiwan Nichinichi Shinpo was launched (1898) to March 31, 1944, after which date Taiwan Daily News merged with other newspapers into Taiwan shinpo (Taiwan News). It includes any articles that involve musical sound, including performing arts ((such as dance, opera, drama), mass media (such as records, radio broadcasts, and films), activities (such as ceremonies, rituals, temple festivals, parades), etc. The content of the database mainly concerns Taiwan and Japan, but it also covers China, Korea, Southeast Asia, and other parts of the world.
USER LIMIT: 3 simultaneous systemwide
Wisenews This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text articles from 759 newspapers and other media sources from China, Hong Kong, Taiwan, and other regions. About two thirds of the titles are in Chinese and one third is in English.
Zhenben Full Text Discovery This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes Chinese public documents and digitized collections developed by higher education and research institutions, with links to the freely available full-text materials on third party websites. Included are government documents published by Chinese central government and ministries, Chinese rare books from China Academic Digital Associative Library, Si ku quan shu from Japan Kanseki Repository, Overseas Chinese Archives digitized by the State Library New South Wales, historical newspapers from East View Global Press Archive, and digitized maps from the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology.
20th Century Media Information Database 20 世紀メディア情報データベース (Institute of Intelligent Studies, Japan インテリジェンス研究所) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database index to the Prange microform collection of Japanese newspapers and magazines during the Allied occupation. Created under the supervision of Professor Taketoshi Yamamoto, the database is now administered by the NPO, The Institute of Intelligence Studies in Japan.

British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full runs of influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of British society from the 18th-20th century. UCLA has access to parts 1-5.
British Newsreels, 1911-1930: Culture and Society on Film This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Supplied by the British Film Institute and Imperial War Museums, British Newsreels, 1911-1930: Culture and Society on Film showcases a large collection of newsreels produced by the Topical Film Company and provides a glimpse into the early twentieth century - from everyday interests, such as sport and fashion, to coverage of key events, such as the First World War, the Suffragette Movement, and the establishment of the Irish Free State.
Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2016 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Described by the New Yorker as "the newspaper that rules Britain," the Daily Mail has been at the heart of British journalism since 1896, regularly changing the course of government policy and setting the national debate. Its website is among the most visited news sites in the world. The Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2016 includes more than one hundred years of this major UK national newspaper, viewable in full digital facsimile form, with copious advertisements, news stories, and images that capture twentieth-century culture and society.

Europeana Newspapers
Digitized materials from the European Union, including newspapers from 1618 to the 1980s.

Financial Times Historical Archive (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable facsimile run of the daily business newspaper, from 1888-2016.
Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective: 1908-1981 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This retrospective database indexes over 750 legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. Annual surveys of the laws of a jurisdiction, annual surveys of the federal courts, yearbooks, annual institutes, and annual reviews of the work in a given field or on a given topic will also be covered.
International Herald Tribune Historical Archive, 1887-2013 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete run of the paper from its origins as the European Edition of The New York Herald and later the European Edition of the New York Herald Tribune. The archive ends with the last issue of the International Herald Tribune before its relaunch as the International New York Times.
Irish Newspaper Archives This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of many Irish newspapers, including both historical and current content from the 1700s to current day.
Listener Historical Archive, 1929-1991 (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A weekly magazine established by the BBC in 1929 under its director-general, Lord Reith. The intellectual counterpart to the BBC listings magazine, Radio Times. Developed as the medium for reproducing broadcast talks -- initially on radio, but in later years television as well -- one of the few records and means of accessing the content of many early broadcasts.
London Times Index 1906-1980 This link opens in a new window
Short index entries from the 296 printed volumes of the Official Index to the London Times which covers the years 1906-1980.
Mail on Sunday Historical Archive, 1982-2011 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The digitized editions of this Sunday paper offer analysis and commentary on politics and foreign affairs, popular culture, financial and business news, entertainment and sport, and represent a key part of the British media.
Mirror Historical Archive, 1903-2000 (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Founded in 1903, the Mirror plays a pivotal role in the history of journalism. Peaking in 1967, with a daily circulation of 5.25 million, the newspaper has had a history full of highs and lows. Today, it is the only mainstream left-wing tabloid remaining in the UK. Gale's Mirror Historical Archive, 1903-2000 features more than 800,000 pages of brand-new, full text searchable, scans of the complete run of the Mirror from 1903-2000, including the Sunday Mirror.
Picture Post Historical Archive, 1938-1957 (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides a snapshot of British life from the 1930s to the 1950s, with thousands of photos of ordinary people doing ordinary things – from boys rolling a tyre, to a view of a postwar bedsit, to young women on a rollercoaster – all caught in a single moment in time.
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to digital facsimiles of the British Library's collection of the newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817), the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media.
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Nichols Newspapers Collection (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Features the newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets and broadsheets that form the Nichols newspaper collection held at the Bodleian library in Oxford, UK. All 296 volumes of bound material, covering the period 1672-1737 are presented in digitized format.
Service Newspapers of World War Two This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains an extensive range of both rare and well-known wartime publications for soldiers serving in major theatres around the world. Publications are included from many key nations involved in the conflict, such as the US, Canada, New Zealand, India, and the countries of Europe, Africa and the Middle East.
Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1822-2016 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from The Sunday Times, London from 1822-2016. Although similar in title, Sunday Times is a distinct newspaper with no editorial connection to The Times London.
Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2000 (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2000 has over 1 million pages of content and includes the Sunday edition from its inception in 1961. The archive offers a fundamental insight into domestic and international affairs and culture over a timespan of almost 150 years.
Times of London Digital Archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes full text and page images of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials, advertising and images (excluding the Sunday Times) for 1785-2019.
1980s Culture and Society This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Compiles archival collections housed across the United States, United Kingdom, Australia, and Canada. Content ranges from zines, newspapers and ephemera, to oral histories, films and photographs. Grassroots materials produced by left-wing organizations and underrepresented groups are presented alongside government records and mainstream media to showcase the key social, cultural, and political concerns of the decade.

Afghan Serials Collection. Partisan Publications from The Wahdat Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection is a major contribution to the preservation of the history of the region and is comprised of the careful selection of more than 2,500 individual issues of 46 newspapers and journals published in Persian, Pushto, Arabic, Urdu, and English.
Associated Press Collections Online (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digitized archives of the Associated Press, including news features, internal communications, U.S. City bureaus, Middle East and European bureaus, and some images.
Central Asia, Persia and Afghanistan, 1834-1922: From Silk Road to Soviet Rule This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection of Foreign Office files explores the history of Persia (Iran), Central Asia and Afghanistan from the decline of the Silk Road in the first half of the nineteenth century to the establishment of Soviet rule over parts of the region in the early 1920s. It encompasses the era of “The Great Game” - a political and diplomatic confrontation between the Russian and British Empires for influence, territory and trade across a vast region, from the Black Sea in the west to the Pamir Mountains in the east.
Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
From the Confidential Print series, issued by the British government's Foreign and Colonial Offices since c. 1820, This collection consists of the Confidential Print for the countries of the Levant and the Arabian peninsula, Iran, Turkey, Egypt and Sudan.
Gazetteer of the Persian Gulf, Oman and Central Arabia Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Gazetteer of the Persian Gulf, Oman and Central Arabia is one of the most important European primary sources for the study of the modern Gulf region from the 17th to the early 20th century. The Gazetteer offers the fullest account of the state of knowledge of the region in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, and as such is both an unique and important tool for researchers.
Global Press Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
GPA encompasses newspapers in more than 30 languages and will ultimately include titles from over 125 countries. Wherever possible, titles are presented in their complete runs from the first issue.
The GPA CRL collections include the following eight open access collections: Imperial Russian Newspapers; Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers; Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers; Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers; Southeast Asian Newspapers; South Asian Newspapers; El Mundo Digital Archive; Daily Observer Digital Archive. The GPA CRL collections also include the following six CRL-wide member collections with access restricted to UCLA: Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers Premium (5 additional in-copyright titles); El Caribe Digital Archive; East African Newspapers; Post-Perestroika Newspapers; Local and Independent Ukrainian Newspapers; Soviet-Era Ukrainian Newspapers.
Service Newspapers of World War Two This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains an extensive range of both rare and well-known wartime publications for soldiers serving in major theatres around the world. Publications are included from many key nations involved in the conflict, such as the US, Canada, New Zealand, India, and the countries of Europe, Africa and the Middle East.

Dawn Internet Edition
"Pakistan's most widely circulated English language Newspaper." Note: The Library has microforms of back issues: Oct. 26, 1941-Sept. 3, 1947 (Originally published from Delhi); 1951-to date (from Karachi).

Global Press Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
GPA encompasses newspapers in more than 30 languages and will ultimately include titles from over 125 countries. Wherever possible, titles are presented in their complete runs from the first issue.
The GPA CRL collections include the following eight open access collections: Imperial Russian Newspapers; Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers; Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers; Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers; Southeast Asian Newspapers; South Asian Newspapers; El Mundo Digital Archive; Daily Observer Digital Archive. The GPA CRL collections also include the following six CRL-wide member collections with access restricted to UCLA: Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers Premium (5 additional in-copyright titles); El Caribe Digital Archive; East African Newspapers; Post-Perestroika Newspapers; Local and Independent Ukrainian Newspapers; Soviet-Era Ukrainian Newspapers.

Hoji Shinbun Digital Collection
The open access Hoji Shinbun Digital Collection (Hoover Institution Library & Archives) is currently the world’s largest online archive of open-access, full image Japanese American and other overseas Japanese newspapers in Asia and South America.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Times of India This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete issues of the widely circulated English daily newspaper, 1838-2011.
SEApapers Archive of Southeast Asia Serial Publications This link opens in a new window
The goal of the SEApapers Archive is to overcome many of these issues for the various library collections around the country that are interested in long-term digital access to newspapers, journals and other serials from Southeast Asia. Titles: Chulalongkorn University e-Newsletter, International Graduate Conference Proceedings by LITU , JATI, Journal of Lao Studies,Journal of Modern Languages,
The Gazette of Chulalongkorn University, Timor Post and Vientiane Times
Service Newspapers of World War Two This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains an extensive range of both rare and well-known wartime publications for soldiers serving in major theatres around the world. Publications are included from many key nations involved in the conflict, such as the US, Canada, New Zealand, India, and the countries of Europe, Africa and the Middle East.
South Asia Open Archives (SAOA) This link opens in a new window
Openly accessible, hosted by JSTOR, and developed by the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) and partner institutions. Collection of historical and contemporary primary sources in the arts, humanities and social sciences from and about South Asia.
South Asian Newspapers from the World Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An extensive coverage of the people, issues and events that shaped the Indian Subcontinent between 1864 and 1922.
American Proxy Wars: Korea and Vietnam Global Perspectives, 1946-1975 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, government documents, and books covering the Korean and Vietnamese conflicts.
Taiwan Nichinichi Shinpo Sound Culture Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The database covers the period from the year Taiwan Nichinichi Shinpo was launched (1898) to March 31, 1944, after which date Taiwan Daily News merged with other newspapers into Taiwan shinpo (Taiwan News). It includes any articles that involve musical sound, including performing arts ((such as dance, opera, drama), mass media (such as records, radio broadcasts, and films), activities (such as ceremonies, rituals, temple festivals, parades), etc. The content of the database mainly concerns Taiwan and Japan, but it also covers China, Korea, Southeast Asia, and other parts of the world.
USER LIMIT: 3 simultaneous systemwide

Archivio Digitale Sbt dei Quotidiani e Periodici (AQP)
Digital archive of newspapers from Lugano, Switzerland, browseable by date and searchable within each issue. Open access titles include Gazzetta Ticinese (1914–1918), Libera Stampa (1913–1993), La Voce di Blenia (1970–2007). Additional titles are restricted by publisher agreement, including Corriere del Ticino (1891–2005), Il Dovere (1921–1982), Giornale del Popolo (1997–2004), La Regione Ticino (1992–2004), radiotivù (1960–1974), Radioprogramma (1934–1959), and tele radio 7 (1976–2005).

Associated Press Collections Online (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digitized archives of the Associated Press, including news features, internal communications, U.S. City bureaus, Middle East and European bureaus, and some images.

Bayerische Landesbibliothek Online — Schwerpunkt Zeitungen
Historical archive of newspapers from the Bavarian State Archives and others. Contains Coburger Zeitung (1854/61–1935), Coburger Nationalzeitung (1930–1945), and others.
Belgian Press
In 2004, the Royal Library of Belgium, in conjunction with the Center for Historical Research and Documentation on War and Contemporary Society, launched this digital collection of Belgian newspapers collected from federal centers. The total number of pages is expected to reach three million, from over 30 separate titles, spanning the period from 1831 to 1950. Titles include: L'Indépendance Belge, L'Avenir du Luxembourg, and Almanach d’Uylenspiegel.
Biblioteca Digitale — Emeroteca
A collection of digitized periodicals and newspapers from the Biblioteca Nazionale Centrale di Roma.
Biblioteca Digitale Reggiana — Giornale e Riviste
A collection of digitized newspapers from the Reggio region.
Biblioteca di Storia Moderna e Contemporanea — Digiteca
A large collection of digitized newspapers.
De Groene Amsterdammer
Digital archive of this independent Dutch weekly news magazine. Includes the first 64 volumes, from 1877-1940.
Delpher newspapers dataset
Features 2 million digitised newspapers, dating from 1618 until 1995. Some of the files can be freely accessed and downloaded.
Die Zeit
National weekly newspaper. Chronological access to print and online articles from its beginning (1946) to the present. Does not allow page image access.
The Dutch Underground Press During World War II
Digital copies of forbidden printings, 1940-1945. Included is a collection of the underground newspapers from WWII in the Tresoar collection. A majority of this collection is from the 'Verzetsmuseum Friesland' (the Friesian museum of the Resistance). Two publications have been scanned in full (B.B.C. Nieuws and de V 3). Some titles carry a reference to the central catalogue (OPC). Links to other sites with underground newspapers are included.
EuroDocs — Historic German Newspapers Online
Freiburger Historische Bestände — Digitalisiert
Digitized pages of Freiburger Zeitung (1784–1943), Staufener Wochenblatt (1875–1968), and other material. Browseable by date.
Gallica Newspapers
Digitized materials from the Bibliothèque nationale de France, including historical newspapers.
Gazzette Bolognesi
Historic news periodical from Bologna, holdings [1645-1796].
Gemeentarchief Roermond – Krantenarchief
Gemeentarchief Roermond (a municipality in southeastern Netherlands) offers a digital archive of regional newspapers covering the period 1856-1936. Titles currently include De Roermondenaar (1855-1920), De Volksvriend (1859-1880), Het Nieuwsblad van Roermond (1856-1879), De Maas en Roerbode (1856-1904), De Nieuwe Koerier (1887-1913), De Nieuwe Koerier/Maas-en Roerbode (1906-1930), De Maas-en Roerbode (1856-1904), and other shorter runs. The archive includes nearly 60,000 pages, open to the public.
German-Language Newspaper Access in North America
"Index to German-language newspaper access in North America." Published by the Association of College & Research Libraries (ACRL), European Studies Section (ESS).
Europeana Newspapers
Digitized materials from the European Union, including newspapers from 1618 to the 1980s.
International Coalition of Newspapers (ICON)
A catalog that can locate print, microfilm or digitized copies of newspapers.

International Herald Tribune Historical Archive, 1887-2013 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete run of the paper from its origins as the European Edition of The New York Herald and later the European Edition of the New York Herald Tribune. The archive ends with the last issue of the International Herald Tribune before its relaunch as the International New York Times.

Intelligenzblatt für die Stadt Bern, 1834-1922
Full-text database of Intelligenzblatt für die Stadt Bern from 1834–1919 and Berner Landeszeitung from 1919–1922.
Italian Newspapers
List of major Italian newspapers.
The Journal de Genève, 1826-1998
The Swiss newspaper Le Temps, in cooperation with the Swiss National Library and the Bibliothèque de Genève, has made the complete collection of the Journal de Genève available online.
L'Emeroteca Digitale
(Biblioteca Nazionale Braidense) Archive of more than 800 periodicals and newspapers from Italy.
Le Gazetier Universel — Ressources Numériques sur la Presse Ancienne
320+ digitized copies of early French Newspapers (pre-1789)
Le Gazetier Révolutionnaire — Ressources Numériques sur la Presse Révolutionnaire
French newspapers published during the French Revolution
Luxemburgensia Online - Quotidiens et Hebdomadaires
Browseable by date.
Mikrofilmarchiv der deutschsprachigen Presse e.V. (MFA)
"The microfilm archive (MFA), founded in 1965, ensures the long-term transmission of German newspapers and magazines for the purpose of promoting science and research. As a service, the MFA coordinates filming projects and the production of working copies for libraries and archives and offers the purchase of working films."
Sächsen Historische Zeitungen
Digitized images of newspapers from the region of Saxony. Contains Leipziger Zeitungen (1740), Sachsenzeitung (1830–1834), and others.

Service Newspapers of World War Two This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains an extensive range of both rare and well-known wartime publications for soldiers serving in major theatres around the world. Publications are included from many key nations involved in the conflict, such as the US, Canada, New Zealand, India, and the countries of Europe, Africa and the Middle East.

Stichting Digitaal Archief Leeuwarder Courant
A complete run of the oldest continuously published newspaper in the Netherlands, dating from 1752 to the present.
Universitätsbibliothek Heidelberg — Zeitschriften und Zeitungen
Contains digital images of field newspapers from World War I, Heidelberger Zeitung (1861–1919), and Der Heidelberger Student (1929–1938), among other items. Also provides access to Relation (Straßburg, 1609) "the oldest newspaper in the world."
Zeitungsinformationssystem der Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin (ZEFYS)
Large collection of digitized newspapers from the 19th century and the first half of the 20th century. List of digitized newspaper titles.
ZEFYS: Historical German Newspapers Online
Online newspaper portal for the Berlin State Library (Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin = SBB), with digitized German language newspapers from the late 19th Century-1940s.

Many database vendors allow researchers to search across multiple databases at once, allowing cross-searching of different newspaper sets and other primary source materials.

ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches all ProQuest newspapers to which UCLA subscribes, both current and historical newspapers from major U.S. cities (Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal), international news sources, and alternative press.
AM Search This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
UCLA subscribes to selected AM (formerly Adam Matthew) databases comprised of digitized archival material and primary sources. You can use AM Search to search across all of them. UCLA has access to licensed AM content published through 2023. Formerly known as Adam Matthew Archive Explorer.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A cross-search platform of 21 databases available from the Gale Group, including historical newspapers (formerly NewsVault), The Making of Modern Law, U.S. Declassified Documents Online, among others. They can be searched as a group or as a selected subset.
Readex AllSearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Combined search of all Readex (NewsBank) databases to which UCLA subscribes, including America's Historical Imprints, America's Historical Newspapers, American State Papers, FBIS Daily Reports, U.S. Congressional Serial Set, Caribbean newspapers, 1718-1876 and World Newspaper Archive.