19th Century
- American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Published between 1741 and 1900, these periodicals include special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children and women magazines, and many other historically significant periodicals. - Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content pertaining to US Hispanic history, literature, and culture from colonial times to 1960. Includes historical articles, books, broadsides, newspapers and pamphlets in both Spanish and English. - Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 2 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Thematic content focusing on the evolution of Hispanic American civil rights, religious thought, and the growing presence of women writers from the late 19th and 20th centuries. Rare books and newspapers are presented in their original form. Extensive manuscript collections of both organizations and individuals are included. - British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Facsimile page images and searchable full text for nearly 500 British periodicals published from the 17th through the early 20th centuries. - Defining Gender, 1450-1910 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains primary source material from British and European archives, and includes four thematic areas: Conduct and Politeness, Domesticity and the Family, Consumption and Leisure, Education and Sensibility, and The Body.
- Early Experiences in Australasia: Primary Sources and Personal Narratives 1788-1901 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online portal of first-person accounts, including letters and diaries, narratives, and other primary source materials. - Empire Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary source manuscripts and secondary essays relevant to Empire Studies. The sections cover Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969; Empire Writing and the Literature of Empire; The Visible Empire; Religion & Empire; and Race, Class & Colonialism, 1783-1969. - Everyday Life and Women in America Online, c.1820-1900 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This digital collection provides access to rare primary source material on American social, cultural, and popular history from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women History, Duke University, and The New York Public Library. It comprises thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals, and broadsides addressing the 19th and early 20th centuries.
- Frontier life: Borderlands, Settlements, and Colonial Encounters This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary sources from multiple archives that capture the lives, experiences and colonial encounters of people living at the edges of the Anglophone world from 1650-1920. Includes the various colonial frontiers of North America, as well as the settlers of Southern Africa, Australia and New Zealand. - Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A cross-search platform of 21 databases available from the Gale Group, including historical newspapers (formerly NewsVault), The Making of Modern Law, U.S. Declassified Documents Online, among others. They can be searched as a group or as a selected subset. - Gerritsen Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs (Women's History) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Facsimile scans of monographs, periodicals, and pamphlets in 15 languages, started in the late 1800s by Dutch physician Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen. Focus is on 19th and 20th century feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights but includes books published from 1543 to 1945.
- Godey's Lady's Book (via Accessible Archives, 1830-1898)
- This link opens in a new window
Major historical women's magazine, covering fashion descriptions and plates, biographical sketches, handcrafts, female costume, the dance, equestrienne procedures, health and hygiene, recipes and remedies, and more.
- History of Mass Tourism This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Guidebooks, brochures, periodicals, travel agency correspondence, photographs, and personal travel journals provide insight into the expansion of tourism for the masses between 1850 and 1980. - Jewish Life in America, c1654-1954 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains digitized manuscript materials covering the history of Jewish communities in America through the mid-20th century. Includes letters, scrapbooks, autobiographies, notebooks and more. - Latin American Women Writers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of full text literature and non-fiction by Latin American women from the 17th century colonial period to the present. Includes prose, poetry, and drama composed by women writing in Mexico, Central America, and South America. Also included are essays by Latin American feminists and revolutionaries, who address both the universal concerns of women in every age and the distinctive issues of their struggles in the region.
- Library of Congress Digital CollectionsOnline access to manuscripts, ephemera, images, maps, and more.
- London Low Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains primary source materials on Victorian street culture, including ephemera, penny fiction, cartoons, chapbooks, reform literature, and guides to prostitution.
- Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926 (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of 19th and early 20th century Anglo-American legal treatises, derived from two essential reference collections for historical legal studies: the 19th Century Legal Treatises and 20th Century Legal Treatises microfilm collections.
- Migration to New Worlds This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary sources from 1800 to 1924 concerning migration from Europe and Asia to the Americas and Australasia. Includes both first-person accounts such as letters, travel journals, diaries, and oral histories; and supplementary materials such as scrapbooks, government papers, maps, emigration pamphlets, and ship plans. - Nineteenth Century Collections Online (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary source collections of the 19th century. UCLA access includes: Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; British Politics and Society; British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture; Children's Literature and Childhood; Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, and Conquest; European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection; Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature; Photography: The World Through the Lens; Religion, Society, Spirituality, and Reform; Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925; and Women: Transnational Networks. - North American Women's Letters and Diaries: Colonial to 1950 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of letters and diaries of women of varied age groups, ethnicities, and geographical regions, spanning more than 300 years. Includes both published and previously unpublished materials. - Popular Medicine in America, 1800-1900 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digitized primary source materials originally aimed at the general public rather than medical professionals. Includes rare books, pamphlets, trade cards, and advertising ephemera. - Shakespeare in Performance This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Annotated prompt books from the Folger Shakespeare Library, chronicling Shakespeare’s plays as performed in British, US, and international theaters between the 17th and 20th centuries. - Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of digitized documents, maps, and essays concerning the Atlantic slave trade, primarily from British and North American libraries. Includes 18th and 19th-century court records from Georgia, Louisiana, Missouri, and North Carolina. - Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of accounts by women of their travels across the globe from the early 19th century to the late 20th century. Sources cover topics including the arts, the British Empire, exploration, race, and more. Contents also include manuscripts, diaries and correspondence, drawings, guidebooks and photographs.
- Victoria & Albert Museum: 19th Century Theatre and PerformanceWeb resource from the V&A, with some basic overviews and primary source images from the museum.
- Victorian Popular Culture This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Research portal for the study of popular entertainment in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Segments include: Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks; Moving Pictures, Optical Entertainments and the Advent of Cinema; Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment; Spiritualism, Sensation and Magic.
- Victorian Women Writers Project (VWWP)Online collection featuring works of lesser-known British women writers of the 19th century - poetry, novels, children's books, political pamphlets, religious tracts, histories, and more. VWWP contains scores of authors, both prolific and rare.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies, documenting the multiplicity of women's reform activities. - Women and Social Movements, International — 1840 to Present This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains primary source writing by women activists, including personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made. - Women in the National Archives This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes a Finding Aid to Women's Studies Resources in The National Archives at Kew, and original documents on the Suffrage Question in Britain, the Empire and Colonial Territories.
- Women Writers Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A full-text collection of early women's writing in English, published by the Women Writers Project at Northeastern University. It includes full transcriptions of texts published between 1526 and 1850, focusing on materials that are rare or inaccessible and women's literate culture in the early modern period. - Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 1.3 million pages of archival material (manuscripts, monographs, newspapers and periodicals) concerning Latin America and the Caribbean, including major collections about Latin American independence, Brazilian popular groups, Diplomatic activities in Cuba and more. Under this database's former name, Gale World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean included some periodicals and reference books that have been moved to Gale’s Dictionary of Literary Biography and Gale eBooks. - World's Fairs This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"A global history of expositions." Official records, monographs, publicity, artwork, and artifacts from world's fairs, from the Crystal Palace in 1851 to twenty-first century expos.
Manuscripts and Ephemera: Finding Aids and Indexes
Many historical materials are not available online, and housed only in archives or in harder to find publications. These discovery tools can help identify their holdings and locations.
- C19: Nineteenth Century Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
19th century books, journals, magazines, official documents, newspapers, and archives. Includes The Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Wellesley Index, Poole's Index, Palmer's Index to the Times, and Periodicals Index Online. - Online Archive of California (OAC) This link opens in a new windowFinding aids for primary source collections in all UC campuses and other contributing institutions, including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California.
- UCLA Library Special CollectionsCollections and access information for the UCLA Library Dept. of Special Collections, including papers and manuscripts on a range of topics.
- ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new windowSearches finding aids for historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in libraries, museums, and archives around the world. Researchers searching ArchiveGrid can learn about the items in each of these collections, contact archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, and order copies.
- Mazer Archive at UCLADigital records and finding aids for June L. Mazer Archives housed at the UCLA Library.
- June L. Mazer Lesbian ArchivesLocated in West Hollywood, the Mazer collection is the only archive on the West Coast "dedicated exclusively to preserving lesbian history."
- ONE National Gay and Lesbian ArchivesLarge USC-affiliated research collection covering Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual,and Transgendered history.
- Vern and Bonnie Bullough Collection on Sex and GenderLocated at CSUN, the Bullough research collection documents the history of human sexuality, including prostitution, cross dressing, homosexuality, abortion, laws relating to sexual behavior, and sex education.
- National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC)Gateway for searching OCLC WorldCat manuscripts.