UCLA Digital Projects
Check out these UCLA digital projects:
- Cuneiform Digital Library Initiative
- Digital Karnak
- HyperCities Egypt
- Keck Digital Cultural Mapping Program
- Qumran Visualization Project
- UCLA Encyclopedia of Egyptology
- YouTube: Treasures of the UCLA Library: Cuneiform Tablets
- YouTube: Treasures of the UCLA Library: Near Eastern Manuscripts
- A documentary map of Richard & Engelina Billauer's journey from the 1930's to present.
Finding Books
To locate print resources in a library near you, search these catalogs:
Suggest a Site
Do you have a favorite resource that you would like to see on this guide? Please submit the link below.
Resources at the UCLA Library and Beyond
This guide serves as a portal for resources relating to the ancient Near East and Egypt. Intended as a "one-stop shopping" site, this guide contains links to hundreds of e-resources, including reference sources like online dictionaries, encyclopedias, and bibliographies; databases and indexes; e-book and journal collections; and online archives, image repositories, and maps. Please note that while some electronic resources are freely available, others are subscription services provided by the UCLA Library, so remote access may be necessary when accessing from off-campus.
Blogs and Other News Sources on Current Events in the Middle East
For additional resources, please see the News section of the guide for Reference Sources in the Humanities and Social Sciences and the News Sources section of the guide for African Studies.
- Ahram Online (Arabic)

- Ahram Online (English)

- Al Ahram (Arabic)

- Al Ahram Weekly (English)

- Al Jazeera (Arabic)

- Al Jazeera (English)

- Al Shams

- al-Sharq al-Awsaṭ

- American University in Cairo (AUC) web archive: 2011 Egyptian Revolution

- Arab spring: an interactive timeline of Middle East protests

- BBC News Middle East RSS Feed

- BBC News Middle East

- Collection: North Africa & the Middle East 2011

- FibrayirDaily Libyan Newspaper
- Maghreb Intelligence

- Middle East Protests: An animated map

- Nawaat

- Tahrir Documents

- The Arabist

- The New York Times Lede Blog

- The New York Times Middle East section

- Tripoli PostEnglish language newspaper from Tripoli, Libya
- Tunisia Watch

- Waṭanī.

Google Custom Search
Librarian for Middle Eastern, Islamic, South Asian, and Jewish Studies |
![]() ![]() ![]() Contact Info YRL A1540 O UCLA Box 951575 Los Angeles, CA 90095-1575 Tel: +13108252930 Fax: +13108253777 Send Email Links: Profile and Guides |
Acknowledgment
This guide was created and maintained by Elizabeth Waraksa, CLIR Postdoctoral Fellow and Librarian for Middle Eastern Studies, from September 2008 through August 2011.
Research Assistance
Research assistance in the social sciences and humanities is available at the Charles E. Young Research Library. See Reference and Research Help for complete reference service options.


Submit



Loading...
