Entertainment Industry News and Trade Publications
- Business Databases by CategoryFrom the UCLA Anderson School of Management Rosenfeld Library, this page lists available Library databases by category, including market research, technology, and company information. NOTE: some databases are only available to Anderson students.
- Variety Intelligence Platform (VIP +) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full-text database providing analysis, market research, and data for film, television, and digital entertainment. Includes special reports covering such topics as digital marketing and publishers, streaming, virtual reality, and artificial intelligence. Also includes daily commentary on news and industry trends and corporate analysis. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text news (including broadcast transcripts), business, legal, and reference information. Useful for finding full-text of current performing arts and media industry news in major newspapers. Includes biographical information from Who's Who titles. Formerly LexisNexis Academic.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text business and general news content covering thousands of sources from more than 200 countries in 26 languages. Includes US and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, web sites, photographs, and trade and industry publications. Also: company and industry profiles; company-to-company/company-to-industry financial comparisons; stock price data; and stock charting.
NOTE: Text mining of Factiva is strictly prohibited.
Major digitization projects that include historic entertainment magazines previously unavailable online.
- Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (EIMA) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EIMA is an historical archive of major trade and consumer magazines in film, television, music, radio, and theater, from their inception to 2000. Includes weekly Variety, Hollywood Reporter, American Cinematographer, Back Stage, Billboard, Broadcasting, Picturegoer, Screen International, Spin, and more. UCLA has access to parts I, II and III of this database.
- Media History Digital Library This link opens in a new windowFreely available online portal, featuring millions of pages of books and magazines from the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound.
- Radio's Online History ResourceFull text scans of historical broadcasting magazines in the fields of radio and television. Includes Broadcasting Magazine, Broadcasting Yearbook, Radio Annual, and more.
- Broadcasting America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This resource enables research into the development of mass broadcasting through the papers of pioneer David Sarnoff. Sarnoff’s work with RCA pushed the company to become a broadcasting, home media and technological powerhouse of the twentieth century. The bulk of the material spans the 1920s to the 1970s, representing the decades of David Sarnoff’s career at RCA. Some additional content covers pre-1920s broadcasting developments, and the final years of RCA before its sale in 1986.
Most of these sites have Twitter, Facebook, and/or RSS feeds, allowing you to follow news more easily. They are useful for contemporary news only. For older content, use print editions of publications and databases listed under "Historical Entertainment Industry Magazines Online."
- VarietyThe Variety website allows you to freely search articles from the magazine from 2003-present. See the separate guide page on Variety for information on more content.
- Hollywood ReporterOnline edition of Hollywood Reporter, featuring recent articles as well as blogs and additional digital content.
- A.V. ClubA non-parody entertainment news site from The Onion.
- Advertising AgeWebsite of the advertising publication. Includes only recent articles.
- AdweekSource of news for marketing, media, and advertising professionals.
- Broadcasting & Cable**Note that some articles are blocked behind a pay wall on the website. You can often get these articles via databases like LexisNexis and Factiva.
- C21MediaEntertainment industry news, particularly television and online streaming. Some content is subscriber-only.
- CinemaBlendContains entertainment industry news and editorials, including gaming news.
- Company Town (Los Angeles Times)LA Times blog devoted to entertainment industry news.
- Deadline HollywoodIndustry news site, originally created by Nikke Finke in 2006 and now owned by publishing company PMC.
- EW.com (Entertainment Weekly)Entertainment Weekly's website contains some news blogs that are separate from the print magazine's contents.
- Los Angeles Business JournalContains useful articles on L.A.-focused business news, including the entertainment industry (theaters and exhibition, technology, business leaders, etc.). The UCLA Management Library also has print issues available.
- Media Decoder (New York Times)NY Times blog focused on the media industry.
- Media Life Magazine (archive)Includes short articles with reviews, news, and some data. Ran from 1999-2017, archived content available from Internet Archive.
- MediaREDEFMedia, tech, and pop culture news.
- MovielineMovie previews, reviews, and news.
- PlaybackCanadian entertainment industry news, including production, broadcasting and interactive media.
- Rapid TV NewsStarted in 2007, this site is an online daily news service for the television industry. Reports on broadcast technology, information, analysis, and more.
- Speakeasy (Wall Street Journal)The entertainment news blog for WSJ.
- SSN InsiderThis free, twice-daily newsletter from Baseline provides a synopsis of industry news. The UCLA Library does NOT have access to Baseline's data resources.
- TV Guide.comRecent articles only.
- TVLineTV news, original previews and recaps/reviews.
- Vulture (New York Magazine)Vulture reports on entertainment news and gossip, and is part of New York Magazine's online presence.
Below are catalog records for major film industry periodicals held in the UCLA Library. While some have selected content online, full historical issues are often only available in print or via microfilm. The Library houses many more magazines and journals pertaining to the consumption and study of media, but the publications below specifically cover the industry and business of production to some extent.
- Broadcasting & Cable (1993-2010)Previously titled "Broadcasting" and "Broadcasting, Telecasting" (1946-1993)
- Daily Variety (1948-2013)Ceased as a daily title in 2013.
Despite the number of article databases and online content now available, several important print indexes, bibliographies, and facsimile reprints provide crucial access to early film periodicals.
Search these subject headings in UC Library Search for more titles.
- Motion picture industry--periodicals
- Cable television--periodicals
- Television--periodicals
- Television broadcasting--periodicals
- Digital media--periodicals