Newspapers
Newspapers are a valuable resource for many types of research. The UCLA Library has many online newspaper databases as well as titles on microfilm that have not been digitized. Check the News research guide for more information and links.
Los Angeles Public Library
Not all articles are available in databases that UCLA subscribes to. The Los Angeles Public Library (LAPL) has over 250 databases available to anyone with an LAPL library card. You can get an ECARD online-no need to go to a library.
The most useful database to try searching is Research Library (ProQuest), which UCLA does not subscribe to. It has some online journals not at UCLA.
General Interdisciplinary Databases
The databases listed here and in the following boxes are a very select list of those that the UCLA Library subscribes to. If you want to look for others, go to Databases by Subject and click through to your discipline (political science, sociology, history, chemistry, etc.)
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including 4,600 peer-reviewed journals. Click on Choose Databases to select other databases available from EBSCO. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books.
- Periodicals Index Online (PIO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles in more than 5000 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences; many link to full text. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of most disciplines. Indexes major journals with all cited references captured. Combines the following citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI); Conference Proceedings Citation Index.
Social Sciences and Humanities Databases
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Indexes articles from over 1,700 history journals published worldwide since 1964. - Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers anthropology (cultural and physical), archaeology, and interdisciplinary studies. - ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes educational literature from 1966 to the present. Includes articles in journals and reports. It is sometimes helpful to search in ERIC and PsycINFO together. - Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more, indexing more than 1,800 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. - MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes worldwide publications on topics including literature, language, linguistics and folklore from 1923 to the present. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Many link to full-text. 99% are peer-reviewed journals. - Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Covers journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
Science and Engineering Databases
- Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage of the agricultural and environmental sciences, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Includes the AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management, Ecology Abstracts, and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases. Can also be searched as part of the Natural Science Collection. - BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts for journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and technical reports in all areas of biology, related fields such as medicine and ecology, and interdisciplinary areas such as biochemistry and biotechnology. - Compendex (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains citations and abstracts to over 5000 engineering journals from 1884 to the present, conferences and technical reports in the fields of chemical and process engineering, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics, communications, civil engineering, and mechanical engineering. Coverage is from 1884 to the present; print equivalent is Engineering Index. - Inspec (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computers and control, and information technology. Includes IEEE publications. - APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Many link to full-text. 99% are peer-reviewed journals. - PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Also searches NCBI's integrated molecular biology databases, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system. Note: This link uses a special address which turns on Get it at UC. Without that, PubMed does not link to UCLA's online subscriptions.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of most disciplines. Indexes major journals with all cited references captured. Combines the following citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI); Conference Proceedings Citation Index.