Major Online Encyclopedias
The links below lead you to encyclopedia and dictionary titles that come from major vendors of online reference tools. These resources are primarily for humanities and social sciences. For biological and physical sciences, see the appropriate research guides for those disciplines.
- AccessScience This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full access to thousands of articles, dictionary terms, illustrations and graphics, bibliographies containing literature citations, and hundreds of Research Updates in all areas of science and technology. Updated daily. Also includes biographies of more than 2,000 well-known scientists from the Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography. Includes the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology.
- BrillOnline Reference Works This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subject encyclopedias in classics, Middle East and Islamic studies, African studies, and international law. UCLA has selected access. Titles with a green box are available. - Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text online access to the complete 250-plus volumes of the Cambridge Histories. Provides political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects. Continually updated with new volumes taken from the print series as soon as they become available. - Gale E-Books (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online encyclopedias, dictionaries, and specialized reference sources, primarily in the social sciences and humanities.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Combines Grove Art Online, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Includes image partnerships with ARTstor, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Art Images for College Teaching, Art Resource, Artists Rights Society, and numerous international art galleries and artists. - Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Music Online is the access point for Grove Music Online and other Oxford music reference resources, including The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd Edition (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd Edition (2001) and updates.
- International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
- This link opens in a new window
A scholarly encyclopedia covering disciplines of the social and behavioral sciences: Anthropology, Economics, Geography, Political Science, Psychology, Social Welfare, Sociology, and related fields and concepts.
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Spans 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias. UC subscription allows limited simultaneous users, so if you can't connect try again later.
- Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Research Encyclopedias is a series of digital works that present peer-reviewed articles on a wide range of topics, such as Anthropology, Business and Management, Climate Science, Communication, Criminology, Economics, Education, Global Public Health, History, Linguistics, Literature, Planetary Science, Politics, Psychology and Religion. - SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
E-books and reference works in the social sciences. Includes scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more. Includes books published by both Sage and CQ Press. UCLA subscribes to only a small fraction of the books available, and not all content from Sage.