Research Guides: Social Welfare: Home

Joseph's Contact

Office Phone: (310) 825-6151
Email: joseph.yue@library.ucla.edu

Humanities, Social Sciences and Reference Collections, Non-Governmental and International Organization Information, US State and Local Documents,

Need more research help? We're here for you.

Chat with us online

Email us your quick questions

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic essays reviewing and summarizing the year's scholarship in specific fields, highlighting context, significance, and points of consensus or controversy. UCLA subscribes to only a subset of the Annual Reviews titles available, mostly in the social and life sciences.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Social Work This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Annotated bibliographies for topics in the field of Social Work. Combines encyclopedia-style introductions with expert recommendations of the most important reference works, books, journals, and primary sources on the topic.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Handbooks, now a part of Oxford Academic, provide review articles which summarize and analyze current research and trends in a given discipline. UCLA subscribes to most Oxford Handbooks Online, excluding a few individual titles.
Routledge Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Handbooks covering a wide range of humanities, social sciences, psychology and some science topics, published by Routledge, Ashgate and other imprints. Some CRC Press handbooks can also be accessed via this particular site.

handbooks from American Psychological Association
Online access to most of the handbooks published by American Psychological Association with publication date up through 2019.

Encyclopedia of Social Work This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A continuously updated online collaboration between the National Association of Social Workers (NASW Press) and Oxford University Press (OUP). Building off the classic reference work, a valuable tool for social workers for over 85 years, the online resource of the same name offers the reliability of print with the accessibility of a digital platform.

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
- This link opens in a new window
A scholarly encyclopedia covering disciplines of the social and behavioral sciences: Anthropology, Economics, Geography, Political Science, Psychology, Social Welfare, Sociology, and related fields and concepts.

Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A good place to start, but note that it is an index to over 15 million articles in 11,000 subject encyclopedias and handbooks, both print and online and does not provide full-text articles. Instead, it will connect you to our catalog so you know where to find the appropriate encyclopedia, dictionary or other reference work. You will be linked to UCLA's holdings for any entries you find.

UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
UC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.

For step-by-step guide on how to create video clips from the following licensed streaming video titles, please consult the Psychotherapy Video Clips guide (or go to http://guides.library.ucla.edu/psychotherapy_videos).

Counseling and Therapy in Video: Volume 1 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains training videos, reenactments, and footage of therapy sessions from 1985-2010 conducted by renowned counselors, psychiatrists, psychologists, and social workers.
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text transcripts of actual therapy sessions, client narratives, and reference works. Includes diaries, letters, autobiographies, oral histories, and personal memoirs along with the full text of therapy and counseling sessions themselves.
Psychotherapy.net This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Training videos in psychotherapy, psychology and addictions.
Mindscape Commons This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Mindscape Commons is the world’s first online resource for immersive and interactive content in mental health. It presents and documents nearly 200 VR experiences, as well as some serious games and apps, for teaching and research in counseling, social work, psychology, health sciences, and related programs.