Articles: Social Welfare, General
Search Tips: Do not use the full-text only option in databases as that feature will take out sources that we do have access to, just not through that those specific databases. Instead, use UC-eLinks to locate full-text option.
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and dissertations relevant to students, researchers, and professionals working in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences from 1,800+ serials publications; also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Coverage from 1952-present.
- Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCitations (with abstracts) of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Coverage: 1980-present.
- Education Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 2,850 education journals, 550 books, and education-related conference papers.
- Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles, books, conference papers, and reports in the fields of family science, human ecology, human development, and social welfare. Covers research, policy, and practice literature from 1970 to the present.
- Contemporary Women's Issues This link opens in a new windowComprehensive coverage of issues that influence women’s lives across the globe on topics including civil rights, health, education, professional development, and entrepreneurship. Full-text access to journals, newsletters, and research reports from non-profit groups, government and international agencies. Information on women internationally includes cross-disciplinary methodology.
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Provides access to citations for a wide range of topics in the study of women and gender, 1972-present.
- Social Science Research Network (SSRN) eLibrary This link opens in a new windowSSRN provides access to 1000s of research publications in all disciplines. Search the library by title, author or journal/topic. Or communicate directly with authors listed in the author contact list. You may receive daily delivery of papers as authors release them.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
International coverage of articles, books, conference proceedings, and government documents on social and political policy, political science, public administration, current affairs, and related topics from 1972 to the present. Includes PAIS Archive, which covers 1915 to 1976.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international literature in political science, international relations, law, and public policy.
- The Campbell Collaboration Library of Systematic ReviewsThe Campbell Collaboration (C2) helps people make well-informed decisions by preparing, maintaining and disseminating systematic reviews in education, crime and justice, and social welfare.
- Social Systems EvidenceThe world’s most comprehensive, free access point for evidence about strengthening 20 government sectors and program areas, and achieving the Sustainable Development Goals.
Articles: Medical
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Also searches NCBI's integrated molecular biology databases, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system. Note: This link uses a special address which turns on Get it at UC. Without that, PubMed does not link to UCLA's online subscriptions.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 1,300 English-language nursing and allied health journals and publications back to 1937. Includes access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, Evidence-Based Care Sheets, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.
- CABI Global Health This link opens in a new windowProvides access to over 4 million research records dedicated to national, regional, and international public health.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of six databases designed to inform healthcare decision-making: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR), Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA), and NHS Economic Evaluation Database (EED). It is an important resource for systematic reviews.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Offers instant access to the most current clinical information and recommendations on patient care and treatment, written by expert faculty from the world's leading medical schools and academic medical centers.
- Alcohol Studies DatabaseThe Alcohol Studies Database contains citations of over 80,000 documents indexed by the Rutgers University Center of Alcohol Studies since 1987. The primary focus of the database is on research and professional materials dealing with beverage alcohol, its use and related consequences. UC-eLinks is not available. Copy information into Citation Linker to locate full-text.
- PTSDpubs This link opens in a new windowThis database, formerly called PILOTS, is produced by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs National Center for PTSD. The database provides citations and abstracts to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other psychological effects of trauma.
Articles: Crime / Deviant Behavior
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) This link opens in a new windowIndex of articles and government documents on criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse. Based on the NCJRS Virtual Library collection. When available, full text is included.
Articles: Multidisciplinary
- Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new windowAlternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers, and magazines. The index is international and interdisciplinary, spanning the social sciences and humanities, with its central focus on the practice and theory of socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism. Link searches both Alternative Press Index (1991-present) and Alternative Press Index Archive (1969-1990).
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers.
Scholarly Books
- WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
OCLC FirstSearch catalog includes citations for books, journals, manuscripts, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, computer files, newspapers, slides, videotapes, archival material, etc., in libraries around the world.
Methodologies and Tests
- Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) This link opens in a new windowInformation on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.
- APA PsycTests This link opens in a new windowBrowse structured information about psychological tests and measures as well as full-text tests.
- SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new windowBooks, reference works, and instructional videos about qualitative and quantitative methodologies in the sciences and social sciences. Includes Research Tools (online tools for planning research and choosing methods), Cases (examples of real research), Video (research process, data science, and methods) and Datasets (sample data chosen specifically to support practice with various statistical analysis methods). Includes Diversifying and Decolonizing Research, and Sage Research Methods Video: Quantitative and Mixed Methods.
- O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
OHE includes more than 38K computer science, engineering, business book titles from 200+ publishers, as well as video, case studies, expert playlists, audio books, and more. Includes pre-publication titles published by O'Reilly. Titles are HTML only. Replaces the Safari Tech Books Online collection.
Note: Access with Single Sign On after choosing University of California, Los Angeles from the list of institutions. Access is limited to current students, staff, and faculty at UC campuses. No community use.
Other Research Tools
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowNote that UC-eLinks will not be able to send you to the full-text within this databae. You need to search directly within this database instead.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of most disciplines. Indexes major journals with all cited references captured. Combines the following citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI); Conference Proceedings Citation Index.
- Ulrichsweb: Global Serials Directory This link opens in a new windowLists publication details for more than 300,000 worldwide periodicals (journals, magazines, newspapers). Includes information on which databases index specific journals and online availability of periodicals.
- Journal Citation Reports (JCR) This link opens in a new windowResource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from scholarly and technical journals worldwide. Coverage is both multidisciplinary and international, and incorporates journals from over 3,000 international publishers.