News Databases
Need to get the latest news or articles? Use these databases to access local, state, national and international news sources.
- Access World News - Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Restricted to UC Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 875 U.S. and over 1800 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper. - Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text business and general news content covering thousands of sources from more than 200 countries in 26 languages. Includes US and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, web sites, photographs, and trade and industry publications. Also: company and industry profiles; company-to-company/company-to-industry financial comparisons; stock price data; and stock charting.
NOTE: Text mining of Factiva is strictly prohibited.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text news (including broadcast transcripts), business, legal, and reference information. Useful for finding full-text of current performing arts and media industry news in major newspapers. Includes biographical information from Who's Who titles. Formerly LexisNexis Academic. - World News Connection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Translated and English language news compiled from foreign media sources. Coverage includes political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events from 1995 through 31 December 2013. Includes FBIS Reports from 2002-2005. - Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Restricted to UC Full text database of selected newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press. It contains articles from as early as 1983, but a bulk of the coverage is from 1991 to the present. - Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete text of articles from 1959 to the present from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish. - Keesing's Worldwide Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digest of political, social, and economic events for all countries of the world from 1931 to the present. Includes over 175,000 full text reports. - Facts on File World News Digest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
World news digest for 1940-present. Includes stories on people, stats, and world events from the top news stories for each decade.
Major Newspapers
Access to Library Licensed versions of key newspapers.
- Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1985 to the present. For access to older issues, see Proquest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times [1881-2014].
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the first issue in 1881 to 2014. For access to current issues, see Los Angeles Times [1985-present]. - New York Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1980 to the present. For access to older issues, see Proquest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times [1851-2018].
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the first issue in 1851 to 2018. For access to current issues, see The New York Times [1980-present].
- Sacramento Bee
- This link opens in a new window
UCLA has print and microfilm holdings of the Bee back to 1857. Please consult the UCLA Library Catalog. Available online from 1984 - 2021 through Access World News.
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text, from 1984 to present. For access to older issues, see Proquest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal [1889-2004]. - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: the Wall Street Journal. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text, from 1889 to 2004. For access to current issues, see Wall Street Journal [1984-present].
Historical News Sources
These are databases of online historical newspapers. The Library has numerous newspapers in print and microfilm as well. Consult the Library Catalog or email me if you are looking for a particular title.
- Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersDigital project from the Library of Congress including online access to newspapers published from from 1789-1963.
- Early American Newspapers, Series 1 and 2 (America's Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window Thousands of fully searchable historical newspapers from all 50 states and Washington, D.C., chronicling the evolution of American culture and daily life from 1690 to 1922. Series One covers 1690-1876, and Series Two includes 1690-1900. Readex
- This link opens in a new window
- Historical Newspapers Online This link opens in a new window Includes Palmer's Index to the (London) Times, 1790-1905, with Palmer's Full Text Online, 1785-1870 (currently available: 1800-1870); The Official Index to the Times, 1906-1980; and The Historical Index to the New York Times, 1851-1923 (currently available: 1863-1905 and 1913-1922). News resources;
- This link opens in a new window
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the first issue in 1881 to 2014. For access to current issues, see Los Angeles Times [1985-present]. - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the first issue in 1851 to 2018. For access to current issues, see The New York Times [1980-present]. - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: the Wall Street Journal. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text, from 1889 to 2004. For access to current issues, see Wall Street Journal [1984-present].
Government News Sources
- GCN Government Computer NewsNews about all things Tech and the Government. Includes links to recent government reports on topics like cloud computing, data centers, pda's.
- Federal Computer WeekNews, special reports, white papers on government IT.
- The HillPublished daily while congress is in session. LexisNexis Congressional has full text coverage back to 1995.