Political Science and Sociology Databases
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
International coverage of articles, books, conference proceedings, and government documents on social and political policy, political science, public administration, current affairs, and related topics from 1972 to the present. Includes PAIS Archive, which covers 1915 to 1976.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences from 1,800+ serials publications; also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Coverage from 1952-present.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international literature in political science, international relations, law, and public policy.
Criminal Justice and Law Databases
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes 2500 legal journals, the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text news (including broadcast transcripts), business, legal, and reference information. Useful for finding full-text of current performing arts and media industry news in major newspapers. Includes biographical information from Who's Who titles. Formerly LexisNexis Academic.
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) This link opens in a new windowIndex of articles and government documents on criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse. Based on the NCJRS Virtual Library collection. When available, full text is included.
Biology, Medicine, and Public Health Databases
Note that many of these sources only index journal articles -- they don't actually have the full text. Use the gold UC-eLinks button to do an automated search to find the full text, or search for the journal title in the UCLA Library Catalog.
- BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts for journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and technical reports in all areas of biology, related fields such as medicine and ecology, and interdisciplinary areas such as biochemistry and biotechnology. - CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text for more than 1,300 English-language nursing and allied health journals and publications back to 1937. Includes access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, Evidence-Based Care Sheets, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. - ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to doctoral dissertations from 1637 to the present, with abstracts since 1980. A number of master's theses are also indexed, with abstracts since 1988. Many are available for download in pdf format. UCLA has access to all full text dissertations in the database. Non-UCLA users may use Dissertations Express to purchase digital or print copies of individual dissertations. - Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage of the agricultural and environmental sciences, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Includes the AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management, Ecology Abstracts, and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases. Can also be searched as part of the Natural Science Collection. - Global Health This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Global Health is the only specialist bibliographic abstracting and indexing database dedicated to public health, completing the picture of international medical and health research by capturing key literature that is not covered by other databases. on the Advanced search screen, select Global Health from the Search in box. - APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and dissertations relevant to students, researchers, and professionals working in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Also searches NCBI's integrated molecular biology databases, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system. Note: This link uses a special address which turns on Get it at UC. Without that, PubMed does not link to UCLA's online subscriptions.
- TOXNET This link opens in a new windowAs part of a broader NLM reorganization, most of NLM's toxicology information services have been integrated into other NLM products and services.
Economics and Business Databases
- EconLit This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The fundamental research tool in economics with bibliographic citations, and some abstracts, to the international literature on economics since 1969. Subjects covered include book reviews, business, economics, finance, industry and statistics. - Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive business articles database covering more than 8,500 scholarly, professional, and trade periodicals in all areas of business. Coverages dates back to 1886. Content also includes books, case studies, Datamonitor company and industry profiles, conference proceedings, country reports (from CountryWatch, EIU, Icon International, and others), market research reports, SWOT analyses, profiles of the most-cited authors, and more. Sole electronic resource for full text of the Harvard Business Review and California Management Review. - MarketResearch.com Academic This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable repository (aggregator) of over 3,000 full-text market research reports covering eight major subject areas: business services, consumer goods, demographics, food & beverage, heavy industry, life sciences, public sector, and technology and media. The following market research firms are the contributors included in UCLA's subscription: Freedonia Focus; Kalorama Information; Mind Commerce; Packaged Facts; and Simba Information. To get to Freedonia Focus Reports, go to Advanced Search and click on the drop-down menu of Publishers.
Interdisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of most disciplines. Indexes major journals with all cited references captured. Combines the following citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI); Conference Proceedings Citation Index.