Connect from Off-Campus
UCLA students, faculty, and staff can access Library subscription databases from off-campus using either of the following options.
- UCLA Virtual Private Network (VPN)A program you install on your computer. Already built-in on most mobile devices.
- UCLA OnLine Proxy ServerA simple browser setting which will automatically divert you to a UCLA logon page when you first access a restricted site.
Classical / Historical Music: Licensed for or Published by UCLA
- Art Song Transpositions This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Art Song Transpositions provides access to over 12,000 art songs and Baroque aria pdfs. Users may find transpositions that have been professionally translated into different keys. - Contemporary Music Score Collection, UCLA Music Library This link opens in a new windowPublished by the UCLA Music Library in eScholarship, the Contemporary Music Score Collection includes the digital, open access scores from the Contemporary Score Edition series, the first open access edition of new music published by a library, and scores from the Kaleidoscope 2020 Call for Scores, an open access collaboration with the UCLA Music Library.
- Music Online: Classical Scores Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A series of four volumes with a mission to provide a reliable and authoritative source for scores of the classical canon, as well as a resource for the discovery of lesser-known contemporary works. The collections encompass all major classical musical genres and time periods from the Middle Ages to the 21st century. With full, study, piano, and vocal scores, this comprehensive collection will enhance the study of music history, performance, composition and theory for a variety of scholars. - nkoda This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The world’s largest digital library of sheet music, with over 30 million pages of music ready to view, annotate and share. Search content, browse curated playlists and discover new music using unique smart technology. New individual users will need to create an account with nkoda to access content and features.
Popular Music and Jazz: Freely Available
- Hoagy Carmichael Collection(Indiana University) Digitized materials from the Hoagy Carmichael Collection.
- Digital Archive of Popular American Music(UCLA Library. Performing Arts Special Collections) American popular songs in the form in which they were originally published.
- Music for the American Nation: Sheet Music 1870-1885(Library of Congress) Part of the American Memory series of digital collections.
- African American Sheet Music: 1850-1920(Library of Congress) Part of the American Memory series of digital collections.
- Sheet Music ConsortiumSearch the digital sheet music and print collections of UCLA, Indiana University, Johns Hopkins University, and Duke University.
- 19th Century American Sheet Music(University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill) A unique collection of American music material.
- 19th Century California Sheet Music(UC Berkeley) A virtual library of some 2,700 pieces of sheet music published in California between 1852 and 1900, and related materials.
Classical / Historical Music: Freely Available
- Beethovenhaus Bonn. Digital Archives...contains the unique collections of the Beethoven-Haus: Music manuscripts, first editions, letters and pictures and many recordings.
- Chopin Early Editions(University of Chicago) The Chopin collection at the University of Chicago Library includes over 400 first and early printed editions of musical compositions by Frédéric Chopin.
- Choral Public Domain LibraryBegun in December 1998, CPDL is one of the world's largest free sheet music sites. You can use CPDL to find scores, texts, translations, and information about composers.
- Contemporary Music Score Collection, UCLA Music Library This link opens in a new windowPublished by the UCLA Music Library in eScholarship, the Contemporary Music Score Collection includes the digital, open access scores from the Contemporary Score Edition series, the first open access edition of new music published by a library, and scores from the Kaleidoscope 2020 Call for Scores, an open access collaboration with the UCLA Music Library.
- Danish Digital Music Archive(Royal Library of Denmark) Selected works from the Music and Theatre collections in digital form.
- IMSLP: International Music Scores LibraryAttempts to create a virtual library containing all public domain musical scores, as well as scores from composers who are willing to share their music with the world without charge.
- The Josquin Research ProjectSearch, browse, and analyze scores of polyphonic music, ca. 1420 - c. 1520.
- Medieval Music Digital ArchiveA portal to worldwide collections of medieval polyphonic music manuscripts. The music and the manuscripts date from approx 800 to 1500, and the original documents are kept in libraries and archives around the globe. Access is free to anyone, but you must register.
- Music Treasures Consortium(Library of Congress; Harvard University; Juilliard School) Online access to the world's most valued music manuscripts and print materials, held at the most renowned music archives, in order to further research and scholarship.
- Musical Theatre Scores(Univeristy of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign) Opera and musical theater scores (G&S, Kern, Sousa, Herbert) via the Internet Archive.
- New Mozart Edition: Digital Edition(Neue Mozart-Ausgabe) The Mozart complete works edition in digital form.
- Online Chopin Variorum EditionAnd online music edition of Chopin's work with the print and manuscript sources.
- Opera and Ballet Sources OnlineScores, libretti, and other original sources for opera, operetta, and ballet. From Brigham Young University.
- SCHUBERT OnlineManuscripts, letters, and prints of Franz Schubert from the Austrian Academy of Sciences.
- Sibley Music Library Digital Scores Online(Eastman School of Music. Sibley Music Library) "Scores and books in the public domain, many .... unique to the Sibley Music Library collection.
- Virtual Music Rare Book Room(University of North Texas) Digital collection of early opera scores, particularly Lully and other French composers.