Connect from Off-Campus
UCLA students, faculty, and staff can access Library subscription databases from off-campus using either of the following options.
- UCLA Virtual Private Network (VPN)A program you install on your computer. Already built-in on most mobile devices.
- UCLA OnLine Proxy ServerA simple browser setting which will automatically divert you to a UCLA logon page when you first access a restricted site.
Articles and Journals Licensed for UCLA A to Z
- Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (EIMA) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
EIMA is an historical archive of major trade and consumer magazines in film, television, music, radio, and theater, from their inception to 2000. Includes weekly Variety, Hollywood Reporter, American Cinematographer, Back Stage, Billboard, Broadcasting, Picturegoer, Screen International, Spin, and more. UCLA has access to parts I, II and III of this database.
- Jazz Periodicals (RIPM) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of 105 American (U.S) full-text jazz journals and magazines published from 1914 to roughly the year 2000. Developed in collaboration with the Institute of Jazz Studies (IJS) at Rutgers University and RIPM’s Partner and Participating Libraries, offers access, for the first time, to this essential documentary resource. All journal issues are out-of-print and rarely accessible, with numerous complete publication runs reconstructed by RIPM. - Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles and reviews from a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, circus, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television, and more. Former database title: International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA) Full Text. - Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus full text for more than 140 of the indexed journals. Former database title: International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) Full Text. - Jazz Periodicals (RIPM) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of 105 American (U.S) full-text jazz journals and magazines published from 1914 to roughly the year 2000. Developed in collaboration with the Institute of Jazz Studies (IJS) at Rutgers University and RIPM’s Partner and Participating Libraries, offers access, for the first time, to this essential documentary resource. All journal issues are out-of-print and rarely accessible, with numerous complete publication runs reconstructed by RIPM. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to several, but not all, important music journals. NOTE: The most recent five to seven years of any title is not in JSTOR; JSTOR is for access to back issues only. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly music journals, essay collections, music articles in non-music journals, dissertations, and non-English resources. UC-eLinks provides access to online content if it is available. - RIPM - Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century periodical literature dealing with music. - Rock's Backpages This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text articles of rock and roll criticism from various publications, 1970's to current.
Music Industry Databases Licensed for UCLA
- Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (EIMA) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EIMA is an historical archive of major trade and consumer magazines in film, television, music, radio, and theater, from their inception to 2000. Includes weekly Variety, Hollywood Reporter, American Cinematographer, Back Stage, Billboard, Broadcasting, Picturegoer, Screen International, Spin, and more. UCLA has access to parts I, II and III of this database.
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles and reviews from a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, circus, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television, and more. Former database title: International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA) Full Text. - Rock's Backpages This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text articles of rock and roll criticism from various publications, 1970's to current.
Musicology and Ethnomusicology Databases Licensed for UCLA
- Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus full text for more than 140 of the indexed journals. Former database title: International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) Full Text. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly music journals, essay collections, music articles in non-music journals, dissertations, and non-English resources. UC-eLinks provides access to online content if it is available.
Music Primary Resources Databases Licensed for UCLA
- Jazz Periodicals (RIPM) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of 105 American (U.S) full-text jazz journals and magazines published from 1914 to roughly the year 2000. Developed in collaboration with the Institute of Jazz Studies (IJS) at Rutgers University and RIPM’s Partner and Participating Libraries, offers access, for the first time, to this essential documentary resource. All journal issues are out-of-print and rarely accessible, with numerous complete publication runs reconstructed by RIPM. - RIPM - Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International, highly annotated database with detailed content analysis of writings on musical history and culture between 1800 and 1950--from Beethoven to Bartok, from Berlioz to Berg, and from Schubert to Shostakovich. Currently indexes the contents of 120 music periodicals including articles, reviews, illustrations, music examples, advertisements, press reviews. In addition, RIPM offers more than 5,000 English-language translations of articles from journals in other languages.
- Rock's Backpages This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text articles of rock and roll criticism from various publications, 1970's to current.