Connect from Off-Campus
UCLA students, faculty, and staff can access Library subscription databases from off-campus using either of the following options.
- UCLA Virtual Private Network (VPN)A program you install on your computer. Already built-in on most mobile devices.
- UCLA OnLine Proxy ServerA simple browser setting which will automatically divert you to a UCLA logon page when you first access a restricted site.
Audio Licensed for UCLA
These sites are licensed by UCLA for students, faculty and staff on campus or at home via the VPN or Proxy Server. Access to non-UCLA users is on campus only.
- Avalon This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Avalon houses streaming audio and video collections at UCLA. Content is restricted to UCLA users and requires additional UCLA authentication for use both on and off campus via the "Sign in" link.
- Digital Audio Reserves
- This link opens in a new window
Assigned listening for UCLA classes; each class is password protected.
- DRAM (Database of Recorded American Music) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Recordings and scholarly resources on modern and contemporary American art music ("new music").
- Arhoolie Foundation's Strachwitz Frontera Collection of Mexican and Mexican American RecordingsApproximately 40,000 recordings of music from the border regions of Mexico and the United States. These performances document many types of popular lyric songs, including the first recordings of corridos (narrative ballads on topics of the day), canciones, boleros, rancheras, and sones, including the first recordings of norteno and conjunto music.
- Music Online: American Music This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
American popular song of all genres, 19th century to the 1960s. - Music Online: Classical Music Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides musical sound recordings and MIDI files, program notes, reference texts (composer biographies, history, and glossary), and images. The music includes vocal and instrumental works from the Middle Ages through to the present. Users navigate through browse lists, a search engine and music track playlists - Music Online: Contemporary World Music This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Music from all the regions of the world including important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more. Complements: Smithsonian Global Sound, the collection of American traditional musics. Liner notes to the original recordings are available. - Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A virtual encyclopedia of the world musical and aural traditions, from the Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries. - Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming audio recordings of mostly classical music from Naxos, Marco Polo, Da Capo, and several other major labels. - Naxos Music Library Jazz This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming access to jazz recordings from Naxos, Fantasy, and other major labels.
Video Licensed for UCLA
These sites are licensed by UCLA for students, faculty and staff on campus or at home via the VPN or Proxy Server. Access to non-UCLA users is on campus only.
- Avalon This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Avalon houses streaming audio and video collections at UCLA. Content is restricted to UCLA users and requires additional UCLA authentication for use both on and off campus via the "Sign in" link. - Berliner Philharmoniker Digital Concert Hall This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Digital Concert Hall of the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra transmits the concerts of the Berlin philharmonic orchestra to the internet for registered users to access on demand. Users must register as an Institutional User at the site for access.
- BroadwayHD Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming video for 19 premium performances of plays and musicals from the New York theater scene. - Dance Online: Dance in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Video selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Also included documentaries by and about choreographers; videos on dance training; and other items covering 20th century dance styles. UCLA has access to Volumes I and II of this database. - Ethnographic Video Online: Foundational Films This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Volumes I and II of Ethnographic Video Online. Contains streaming video of documentary footage focused on the study of human culture and behavior. Includes ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, interviews, field notes, and study guides. See also volume III, Indigenous Voices; and, volume IV, Festivals and Archives. - Filmakers Library Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online video collection featuring hundreds of documentaries covering a range of topics. Subjects include race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. UCLA subscribes to volumes I and II. - Kanopy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
On-demand streaming video service for educational institutions with thousands of documentaries, training films and theatrical releases across diverse subjects and disciplines. More information on Kanopy access and use is available on this guide. - Met Opera on Demand: Student Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online streaming access to more than 650 full-length Metropolitan Opera performances.
- Medici.tv This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a high definition video library of performances, concerts, recitals, and documentaries in classical music, opera, dance, and jazz. - Music Online: The Qwest TV Collection, Volume I This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers live music performances, covering the evolution of jazz and beyond - representing funk, soul, hip-hop, folk, indie, electronic, blues, and other world genres.
Audio Freely Available
Selected free sites available to anyone, anywhere.
- Afrocentric Sounds RadioA free, online radio station featuring classical music written and/or performed by the African diaspora.
- American Folklife Center. Library of CongressAmerican vernacular songs and stories from the Library of Congress collections.
- Belfer Cylinders Digital Connection(Belfer Audio Laboratory and Archive. Syracuse University) Access to 22,000 cylinder recordings.
- British Library Sounds(British Library) English accents, oral histories, drama, literature, music.
- CHARM: Centre for the History and Analysis of Recorded Music(Royal Holloway, University of London; King's College, London; University of Sheffield) Library of "ex-copyright recordings," discographies, recording history, and recording analysis tool.
- Cylinder Preservation and Digitization Project(UC Santa Barbara. Davidson Library. Department of Special Collections) Historical recordings before 1923 or music in all genres.
- D. K. Wilgus Folksong Collection(UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive) American folk music, stories, and and field recordings.
- Arhoolie Foundation's Strachwitz Frontera Collection of Mexican and Mexican American RecordingsApproximately 40,000 recordings of music from the border regions of Mexico and the United States. These performances document many types of popular lyric songs, including the first recordings of corridos (narrative ballads on topics of the day), canciones, boleros, rancheras, and sones, including the first recordings of norteno and conjunto music.
- Global Music Archive(Vanderbilt University. Wilson Music Library) A multi-media reference archive and resource center for traditional and popular song, music, and dance of Africa and the Americas.
- Judaica Sound ArchivesThe Judaica Sound Archives is a major center for the collection, preservation and digitization of Judaica audio recordings. The JSA is located in the Wimberly Library on the Boca Raton campus of Florida Atlantic University.
- National Juke Box(Library of Congress) Historical recordings of American music in all genres.
- PhonobaseEarly gramophone records and cylinders from France and Europe.
- Virtual GramophoneFrom the Library and Archives Canada; early recordings from Canada.
Video Freely Available
- Folkstreams » The Best of American Folklore FilmsA National Preserve of Documentary Films about American Roots Cultures - streamed with essays about the traditions and filmmaking. The site includes transcriptions, study and teaching guides, suggested readings and links to related websites.
Selected free sites available to anyone, anywhere.
- Global Music Archive(Vanderbilt University. Wilson Music Library) A multi-media reference archive and resource center for traditional and popular song, music, and dance of Africa and the Americas.