Connect from Off-Campus
UCLA students, faculty, and staff can access Library subscription databases from off-campus using either of the following options.
- UCLA Virtual Private Network (VPN)A program you install on your computer. Already built-in on most mobile devices.
- UCLA OnLine Proxy ServerA simple browser setting which will automatically divert you to a UCLA logon page when you first access a restricted site.
Bibliographies and Indexes Licensed for UCLA
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Music This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Annotated bibliographies for topics in the field of Music. Combines encyclopedia-style introductions with expert recommendations of the most important reference works, books, journals, and primary sources on the topic.
- RISM: International Inventory of Musical Sources after 1600A cooperative effort to identify and describe the world's pre-1850 musical sources, to record what primary sources exist and where they can be located.
Dissertations Licensed for UCLA
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to doctoral dissertations from 1637 to the present, with abstracts since 1980. A number of master's theses are also indexed, with abstracts since 1988. Many are available for download in pdf format. UCLA has access to all full text dissertations in the database. Non-UCLA users may use Dissertations Express to purchase digital or print copies of individual dissertations.
Music Industry Data Licensed for UCLA
- Music ID (Industry Data) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Music ID delivers the narrative of music in its cultural, economic and social context. International sales of all artists across 74 countries for all genres are displayed in vivid graphs and representations.
Bibliographies and Indexes Freely Available
- Aria DatabaseIndex to arias and songs in opera. Search by composer, role, voice range, etc.
- Analysis IndexIndex of analyses or program notes for musical compositions in books owned by the University of Tennessee, Knoxville. The call numbers for the books should be the same or similar to those used in the UCLA Music Library.
Dissertation Indexes Freely Available
- DDM: Doctoral Dissertations in MusicologyDDM-Online is an international database of bibliographic records for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology, as well as in related musical, scientific, and humanistic disciplines.
- DMS: Dissertationsmeldestelle der Gesellschaft für MusikforschungMusicological and pedagogical theses registered from institutions in Austria, Germany, and Switzerland.