Medieval and Renaissance Studies

The 2007 Release of the Dictionary of Old English: A to G online has been produced in part with the support of the Canada Foundation for Innovation through the TAPoR project, the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada and the National Endowment for the Humanities, an independent federal agency.

Over 3,000 different texts of surviving Old English (Anglo Saxon and Medieval) material that is the basis of the Dictionary of Old English, covering the first six centuries (C.E. 600-1150) of the English language.

The Lexikon is the standard encyclopaedia for medieval studies. It deals with all branches of the field and covers the period from AD 300 to 1500 for the whole of Europe and parts of the Middle East and North Africa. The International Encyclopaedia is an English language supplement to the Lexikon.

Includes the complete text of the Oxford English Dictionary, 2nd ed. plus quarterly updates of new and revised entries. Trace the origin and history of words and their meanings in this etymological dictionary.

A monumental dictionary of Latin. It encompasses the Latin language from the time of its origin to the time of Isidore of Seville (d.636).

The American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language is a cooperative project of the CNRS and the University of Chicago. It is a large goup of licensed and freely available databases including the following: Provençal Poetry, Textes de Français Ancien (TFA), and B.A.S.I.L.E.: Le Corpus de la littérature narrative du Moyen Age au XXe siècle: Romans, Contes, Nouvelles.

High-resolution Images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Includes a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching purposes. Images are contributed by museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, artists, and estates, from a variety of sources including the Hartill Archive of Architecture and Allied Arts. UC campuses contribute additional images including: the Archivision Library, Saskia Art & Architecture images, the Visual Resources Collections from UCB, UCSB, UCI, UCLA, UCR, and the UCSC Library Instructional Collection. Access includes several licensed resources through ARTstor's JSTOR Forum. Other institutions contribute open access digital media content.

Part II "Medieval & Renaissance" - facsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works, and similar materials. Searching is based on tags and descriptive text associated with each manuscript.

Online editions of classic French works, plus modern studies and essays on French literature, language, history, art, music, and social sciences. Portions which UCLA subscribes to Include: Livres et revues numériques (mostly texts from and about the Renaissance), French language dictionaries and encyclopedias from the 9th to 20th centuries; and the Grand Corpus des littératures française et francophone (French literature, medieval literature, modern and Francophone literature from Black Africa and the Indian Ocean).

Contains primary source material from British and European archives, and includes four thematic areas: Conduct and Politeness, Domesticity and the Family, Consumption and Leisure, Education and Sensibility, and The Body.

Citations from early English texts from 1475 to 1700, presented as digital images. Includes works by Malory, Bacon, More, Erasmus, Boyle, Newton, Galileo; musical exercises by Henry Purcell and novels by Aphra Behn; prayer books, pamphlets, and proclamations; almanacs, calendars, and many other primary sources.

Searchable SGML/XML text editions of image files contained in Early English Books Online.

A collection of approximately 1,000,000 incipits covering all known Latin texts, in manuscript form, from the start of Latin literature to around 1500 A.D. Includes ancient, patristic, medieval, and humanist literature and covers all genres: theology and liberal arts, history and poetry, medicine and liturgy, civil and canon law, exact and occult sciences, summons and sermons, glossaries and correspondences, cooking recipes and cursing formulas, large and small treatises, even isolated sentences

Previously known as Index of Christian Art, this database indexes medieval art in books, manuscripts, and photographs (Princeton University). Records works of art produced without geographical limitations from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1400. Focuses on art of the western world. Seventeen different media are represented in the archive, including manuscripts, metalwork, sculpture, painting, glass, and so forth. Search for musical instruments, musical notation, other music-related terms using Find searches.

Also known as LION. An array of literary databases (including the full text of poems, plays, and fiction), reference works (including bibliographies, encyclopedias, etc.), and links to other Web resources for the study of literature. The complete text of journal articles is available on the database for all or some of the journals indexed. Fully searchable texts of over 250,000 works in English and American Literature.

Five collections of family letters from 15th-century England. The database contains full-color images of the original medieval manuscripts, viewable side-by-side with searchable transcripts.

Presents manuscripts of some of the most important works of European travel writing from the later medieval period. The chief focus is on journeys to central Asia and the Far East, including accounts of travel to Mongolia, Persia, India, China and South-East Asia. The collection also includes a number of important accounts of travels to or through the Holy Land although in this it makes no claims to full or even broad coverage: a separate collection, covering crusading and pilgrimage narratives, would be required for that.

Official records of the meetings of the English parliament from the reign of Edward I until the reign of Henry VII (1272 - 1509). Reproduces the rolls edited in Rotuli Parliamentorum (RP), plus those subsequently published by Cole, Maitland, and Richardson and Sayles, as well as a substantial amount of material never previously published. Accompanied by full translations of all the texts (originals in Latin, Anglo-Norman, and Middle English).

An electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. It comprises the works of the Church Fathers, Tertullian (200 A.D.) to Pope Innocent III (1216).

The TLG contains virtually all Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600 and the majority of surviving works up the fall of Byzantium in A.D. 1453.

A full-text collection of early women's writing in English, published by the Women Writers Project at Northeastern University. It includes full transcriptions of texts published between 1526 and 1850, focusing on materials that are rare or inaccessible and women's literate culture in the early modern period.

Click on Accès aux bases de données on the opening page. The following databases are licensed for UCLA users:
- Grand Corpus des littératures française et francophone, du Moyen Âge au 20e siècle
- Corpus de la littérature médiévale des origines au 15e siècle
- Corpus de la littérature narrative du Moyen Âge au 20e siècle
- Corpus de la première littérature francophone d'Afrique noire, écrite et orale, des origines aux Indépendances (fin 18e siècle-1960)
- Corpus de la première littérature francophone de l'Océan Indien, écrite et orale, des origines aux Indépendances (18e siècle-1960)