Connecting from Off-Campus: VPN or Proxy Server
The UCLA Library's online subscription resources can be accessed from computers and wireless networks on campus. However, off-campus access is restricted to current UCLA, students, faculty, and staff who have set up their computer using a virtual private vetwork (VPN) or a proxy server:
- RECOMMENDED: Virtual Private Network (VPN): A program you can download and install, or use the built-in version on many computers or mobile devices. VPN software must be logged on manually before you access a restricted site, but works for all programs on your computer. It stays connected until you log off.
- Proxy Server: A simple browser setting which will automatically divert you to a UCLA logon page when you first access a restricted site.
If you still need help, you can contact the UCLA IT Support Center at (310) 267-4357 or help@it.ucla.edu. They provide 24/7 phone support.
Selected Resources for Finding Books
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
UC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
- WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
OCLC FirstSearch catalog includes citations for books, journals, manuscripts, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, computer files, newspapers, slides, videotapes, archival material, etc., in libraries around the world.
- WorldCat.orgFreely available version of the OCLC combined catalog of books, journals, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, and other items in thousands of libraries worldwide.
- International Bibliography of Book Reviews (IBR)This database contains over one million entries about book reviews from 1985 onwards. It is international (mostly from Europe and the United States) and interdisciplinary and its reviews have been published in more than 6600 academic journals, mainly in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
UCLA Library Locations for Books and Other Print Materials
The majority of printed books found in this guide are located at the following library locations:
- Arts Library: Core collection of film history and criticism. Greatest strength is in English-language books, but does selectively collect some European-language books and periodicals.
- Charles E. Young Research Library (YRL): Houses research-level collections in the humanities and social sciences, including the majority of UCLA's international books and periodicals.
- Library Special Collections (LSC): Unique and rare materials that do not circulate; follow the link for information on searching and requesting LSC materials. Refer also to this FAQ page.
- Powell Library: Focuses on collections that primarily support undergraduate curricula in the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and mathematics.
- Southern Regional Library Facility (SRLF): Off-site storage facility for all campus libraries; most materials can be delivered to an on-campus library for pick-up (look for a "request" link when viewing an SRLF item in the library catalog).
For a complete list of UCLA Library locations and hours, go here.
Searching by Subject
The UCLA Library uses the Library of Congress (LOC) Classification to organize its holdings. Searching LOC's standardized subject headings can help you find books on specific topics, authors, and genres in UC Library Search. To find more relevant subject headings, look at individual catalog records that are relevant to your topic—you will find subject headings listed in the "Details" section under "Subject". You can also browse UC Library Search by Library of Congress Subject Heading (LCSH) here; just select the option in the dropdown. Some examples are:
Browsing the Stacks
It can also be useful to know the Library of Congress call number ranges. Below are selected call number ranges relevant to medieval and Renaissance studies. For a detailed breakdown, see the Library of Congress Classification Outline.
Subclass D
D1-2027 History (General)
D101-110.5 Medieval and modern history, 476–
D111-203 Medieval history
Subclass DA
DA1-995 History of Great Britain
DA20-690 England
DA129-260. Early and medieval to 1485
DA750-890 Scotland
DA777-790 Early and medieval to 1603
DA900-995 Ireland
DA930-937.5 Early and medieval to 1603
Subclass DB
DB1-3150 History of Austria. Liechtenstein. Hungary. Czechoslovakia
DB1-879 Austria. Austro-Hungarian Empire
DB51-64 Early and medieval to 1521
DB2000-3150 Czechoslovakia
DB2080-2133 Early and medieval to 1526
Subclass DC
DC1-947 History of France
DC60-109 Early and medieval to 1515
Subclass DD
DD1-(905) History of Germany
DD125-174.6 Early and medieval to 1519
Subclass DF
DF10-951 History of Greece
DF501-649 Medieval Greece. Byzantine Empire, 323-1453
Subclass DG
DG11-999 History of Italy
DG500-537.8 Medieval, 476-1492
DG532-537.8 Renaissance
Subclass DH
DH1-925 History of Low Countries. Benelux Countries
DH141-162 Early and medieval to 1384
DH401-811 Belgium
DH571-584 Early and medieval to 1555
Subclass DJ
DJ1-(500) History of Netherlands (Holland)
DJ151-152 Early and medieval to 1555
Subclass DL
DL1-1180 History of Northern Europe. Scandinavia
DL101-291 Denmark
DL160-183.9 Early and medieval to 1523
DL401-596 Norway
DL460-478 Early and medieval to 1387
DL601-991 Sweden
DL660-700.9 Early and medieval to 1523. Union of Kalmar, 1397
Subclass DP
DP501-(900.22) History of Portugal
DP558-618 Early and medieval to 1580
Subclass DQ
DQ1-851 History of Switzerland
DQ78-110 Early and medieval to 1516
Subclass DR
DR1-2285 History of Balkan Peninsula
DR73.7-80.8 Early and medieval
DR201-296 Romania
DR238-240.5 Early and medieval to 1601. Roman period
DR1202-2285 Yugoslavia
DR1259-1265 Early and medieval to 1500