Selected Resources for Finding Articles
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers. - Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of more than 600 journals and 220 books on "a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design." It wholly incorporates and significantly expands on the coverage and contents of the Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective databases. Indexes illustrations. Coverage: late 1920s-present. - ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all scholarly fields of religion; includes articles written in 36 languages. - Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft (BDSL) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete bibliography of German literature and language. Includes citations of books, articles, book chapters. (Similar to the MLA International Bibliography.)
- Bibliography of British and Irish History This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index of books, book chapters, and journal articles dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, from 55BC to the present. Coverage includes Writings on British History (1901-1974) and Annual Bibliographies (1975-2002).
- Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender IndexJournal articles, book reviews, and essays about women, sexuality and gender in Europe, North Africa and the Middle East, from 450 C.E. to 1500 C.E., with citations for Russia extended to 1613. Subject coverage for gender and sexuality means that articles on masculinity and male homosexuality are included. Publications indexed are in English, French, German, and Spanish, and in Italian since 2001.
- FRANCIS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index to European journal articles in the humanities and social sciences. Multiple languages, 1972 to 2015. FRANCIS is no longer being updated. - Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches multiple literary sources, including: Dictionary of Literary Biography, Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center, Scribner Writer Series, and Twayne's Authors Series. Scroll down to click on Gale's Literary Index, a master index to the major literature products published by Gale.
- Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database that provides access to the literary criticism collections Classical and Medieval Literary Criticism (CMLC), Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC), Drama Criticism (DC), Literature Criticism from 1400-1800 (LC), Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism (NCLC), Poetry Criticism (PC), Shakespeare Criticism (SC), Short Story Criticism (SSC), and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (TCLC). - Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers. Combines the core Gale Group literary databases: Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Dictionary of Literary Biography. Complements Literature Criticism Online. - Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts for articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life) published since 1955.
- International Bibliography of Art (IBA) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The International Bibliography of Art is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), and covers from 2008 to the present. Contains some retrospective coverage, but for comprehensive research before 2008 it is essential to use BHA. Publications covered include at least 500 core journals, with an emphasis on specialist and rare titles that are not covered by other indexes, plus detailed coverage of monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings, and exhibition catalogs. - International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary bibliography of Europe, North Africa and the Near East for the period 300-1500. Comprehensive current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text back issues of core scholarly journals, browsable and searchable across multiple disciplines. Coverage starts with first issue, with moving wall for most recent 3-5 years. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books only. JSTOR also includes primary source collections, including images from Artstor.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes worldwide publications on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, television, and theater from 1923 to the present. See also the MLA Directory of Periodicals. - Oxford Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to Oxford University Press journals. UCLA subscribes to only some titles from the full collection. - Periodicals Index Online (PIO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to articles published in over 7,000 periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences, covering the period 1665-1995. Full text of many articles can be found in Periodicals Archive Online. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.
- SAGE Complete Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of journals available from SAGE Publications. - Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to journals from Taylor & Francis, Routledge, and Psychology Press. UCLA subscribes to a subset of these titles. Please limit to (filter) by Access Type to “Only show content I have full access to.” - UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
UC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
- World Shakespeare Bibliography Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Record of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide between 1960 and 2009. Contains over 122,867 annotated entries.
- Anuario de estudios medievales Yearbook of Medieval Studies is a scientific journal published by the CSIC [and] edited by the Milá y Fontanals Humanities Research Institution, which publishes original research articles on the most diverse aspects of the Middle Ages: political, social, economic, cultural, religious history, of science, art, literature, thought, philosophy, etc.
- Cahiers de civilisation médiévale The journal Cahiers de civilization medievale published quarterly is dedicated to all aspects of Romanesque civilization (10th –12th century). Published by the CESCM (Center for Higher Studies of Medieval Civilization) since 1958, with a resolutely multidisciplinary and French-speaking editorial policy, it opens its pages to original summary articles or devoted to more specific subjects in any competing discipline. to a better knowledge of the Central Middle Ages (history, literature, art history, legal history, musicology, philology, philosophy, etc.) by promoting both interdisciplinarity and the specificity of each field. Each contribution is assessed double-blindly.
- The Chaucer Review Founded in 1966, The Chaucer Review: A Journal of Medieval Studies and Literary Criticism publishes studies of the language, sources, historical and political contexts, social milieus, and aesthetics of Chaucer's poetry, as well as associated studies on medieval literature, philosophy, theology, and mythography relevant to an understanding of the poet, his contemporaries, his predecessors, and his audiences. The Chaucer Review is published quarterly by the Pennsylvania State University Press.
- Digital Philology: A Journal of Medieval Cultures Digital Philology: A Journal of Medieval Cultures is a peer-reviewed journal devoted to the study of medieval texts and cultures. Publishing two issues per year, the journal aims to foster new research that challenges traditional fields of study, national boundaries, and periodization; that introduces new methods of engaging with medieval materiality; and that advances the applied and theoretical promise of the digital humanities.
- Early Medieval Europe Early Medieval Europe is an interdisciplinary medieval studies journal covering European history from the fall of the Roman Empire up until the 11th century. Offering a medium for dialogue on all aspects of the European Middle Ages, it covers the entire continent and interactions between Europe, Scandinavia, Iceland and the Mediterranean world. The breadth of the chronological, methodological, and geographic scope makes the journal essential for both students and scholars of the early medieval world.
- Essays in Medieval Studies Essays in Medieval Studies is an interdisciplinary journal of medieval studies. Contents for each volume are selected from papers delivered at the annual meeting of the Illinois Medieval Association. Since 1993 each volume has had a thematic focus based on the theme or topic of the annual meeting. Recent themes have included children and the family, medieval communities, and emotions in the Middle Ages.
- Exemplaria Exemplaria publishes articles and review essays that promote debates in medieval and early modern studies, exploring literary theory, history, race, gender and more.
- Gesta Gesta publishes original research on medieval art and architecture. The journal embraces all facets of artistic production from ca. 300 to ca. 1500 C.E. in every corner of the medieval world.
- Journal of Early Christian Studies Journal of Early Christian Studies focuses on the study of Christianity in the context of late ancient societies and religions from C.E. 100-700. The Journal publishes the best of traditional patristics scholarship while showcasing articles that call attention to newer methodologies and themes often absent from other patristic journals. Every issue features an extensive book review section. Journal of Early Christian Studies is the official publication of the North American Patristics Society (NAPS).
- Journal of Early Medieval Northwestern Europe (JEMNE) JEMNE is a peer-reviewed interdisciplinary journal dedicated to the exploration of all aspects of early medieval Northwestern Europe from c. 300–c. 1400. Our mission is to provide a forum for the investigation of the histories, cultures, and peoples of the medieval North Atlantic and North Sea regions in their local, intercultural, and global contexts.
- Journal of Early Modern History The early modern period of world history (ca. 1300–1800) was marked by a rapidly increasing level of global interaction. Between the aftermath of Mongol conquest in the East and the onset of industrialization in the West, a framework was established for new kinds of contacts and collective self-definition across an unprecedented range of human and physical geographies. The Journal of Early Modern History (JEMH), the official journal of the University of Minnesota Center for Premodern Studies, is the first scholarly journal dedicated to the study of early modernity from this world-historical perspective, whether through explicitly comparative studies, or by the grouping of studies around a given thematic, chronological, or geographic frame.
- Journal of Late Antiquity Journal of Late Antiquity (JLA) is the award-winning first international English-language journal dedicated to the study of Late Antiquity writ large. The Journal provides a venue for multi-disciplinary coverage of all the methodological, geographical, and chronological facets of Late Antiquity. All of Late Antiquity will be represented—from the late and post-classical world up to the Carolingian period, and including the late Roman, western European, Byzantine, Sassanid, and Islamic worlds, ca. 250-800 CE. JLA is essential, not only as a space for scholarship dealing with practical and theoretical issues, but, in particular, to bridge the gap between literary and material culture scholarship. One of the primary goals of the journal is to highlight the status of Late Antiquity as a discrete historical period in its own right. JLA honors include the Association of American Publishers PROSE Award for Professional and Scholarly Excellence as Best New Journal in the Social Sciences & Humanities for 2010, and Honorable Mention/Runner-Up for Best New Journal in 2009 by the Council of Editors of Learned Journals (CELJ). JLA also is a two-time winner (2013 and 2019) of the Codex Award, given once per year by the Council of Editors of Learned Journals in recognition of the best journal on any subject before 1500.
- Journal of Medieval and Early Modern Studies The Journal of Medieval and Early Modern Studies publishes articles informed by historical inquiry and alert to issues raised by contemporary theoretical debate. The journal fosters rigorous investigation of historiographical representations of European and western Asian cultural forms from late antiquity to the seventeenth century. Its topics include art, literature, theater, music, philosophy, theology, and history, and it embraces material objects as well as texts; women as well as men; merchants, workers, and audiences as well as patrons; Jews and Muslims as well as Christians.
- Journal of Medieval History The Journal of Medieval History is a major international periodical devoted to all aspects of the history of Europe broadly defined, from Iberia to the Urals and from the Mediterranean littoral to Scandinavia and the North Atlantic, also welcoming submissions of articles placing these regions within a global context. Founded in 1975, it has a distinguished record of publication on topics between late antiquity and the early modern period, encompassing research articles, historiographical essays, ‘state of research’ studies, editions of short texts and review articles on all aspects of historical enquiry (including interdisciplinary).
- Manuscripta: A Journal for Manuscript Research Manuscripta: A Journal for Manuscript Research publishes articles, notes, and reviews in Medieval and Renaissance manuscript studies. The journal accepts submissions on topics relating (but not limited) to paleography, codicology, illumination, book production, library history, reading and literacy, textual editing and transmission, and manuscript catalogues. Manuscripta (ISSN 0025-2603) is published twice yearly for the Knights of Columbus Vatican Film Library.
- Medieval Encounters: Jewish, Christian, and Muslim Culture in Confluence and Dialogue. Medieval Encounters promotes discussion and dialogue across cultural, linguistic and disciplinary boundaries on the interactions of Jewish, Christian and Muslim cultures during the period from the fourth through to the sixteenth century C.E.
- Medieval Feminist Forum: A Journal of Gender and Sexuality Medieval Feminist Forum: A Journal of Gender and Sexuality is an online, peer-reviewed journal of interdisciplinary scholarship on women, gender, and sexuality in medieval studies. We invite studies of literature, history, religion, art and architecture, and medievalism, including ones that employ theoretical models ranging from (but not limited to) queer theory and trans studies, critical race theory, decolonial and postcolonial approaches, disability studies, ecocriticism, materiality, affect theory, and history of emotion. Studies of specific authors or events are welcome, but should be framed for an audience of feminist medievalists broadly construed as well as for specialists in the case study.
- The Medieval Review (TMR) Since 1993, The Medieval Review (TMR; formerly the Bryn Mawr Medieval Review) has been publishing reviews of current work in all areas of Medieval Studies, a field it interprets as broadly as possible. The electronic medium allows for very rapid publication of reviews, and provides a computer searchable archive of past reviews, both of which are of great utility to scholars and students around the world.
- Medium Ævum Medium Ævum, which first appeared in 1932, is one of the leading international academic periodicals in medieval studies.
- New Medieval Literatures New Medieval Literatures is an annual of work on medieval textual cultures. Its scope is inclusive of work across the theoretical, archival, philological, and historicist methodologies associated with medieval literary studies. The title announces an interest both in new writing about medieval culture and in new academic writing. The editors aim to engage with intellectual and cultural pluralism in the Middle Ages and now. Within this generous brief, they recognize only two criteria: excellence and originality.
- Nottingham Medieval Studies Nottingham Medieval Studies is one of the leading interdisciplinary journals for European history and literature from Late Antiquity through to the Reformation. The journal builds on its traditional areas of strength - the literature and history of Western Europe - with articles in related fields such as archaeology, art history, linguistics, musicology and philosophy, as well as reviews of recent publications by renowned experts in the field.
- Parergon Parergon is the journal of ANZAMEMS, the Australian and New Zealand Association for Medieval and Early Modern Studies. We publish articles on all aspects of medieval and early modern studies.
- Peregrinations: Journal of Medieval Art & Architecture Begun in 2002, Peregrinations: Journal of Medieval Art and Architecture is published periodically. Topics of research include: medieval art and architectural history, as well as medieval history and religion that pertain to medieval visual culture. It is open-access, peer-reviewed, and encourages more illustrations than a typical print journal. It also publishes photographs for non-profit teaching and research, as well as audio and video clips and 3-D models.
- postmedieval: a journal of medieval cultural studies postmedieval publishes theoretically driven scholarship on premodernity and its ongoing reverberations. Contributions are characterized by conceptual adventure, stylistic experiment, political urgency, or surprising encounter. Our aim is to facilitate collaborative, ethical, and experimental engagements with the medieval—with its archives and art, its thought and practices, its traces and its enduring possibilities.
- Renaissance Quarterly Renaissance Quarterly welcomes essays of various lengths, up to a maximum of 15,000 words (including notes, bibliography, and any appendices). We publish articles in all the fields represented by the RSA. Geographically, the journal’s reach includes Europe, the Americas, Africa, Asia, and beyond. Chronologically, the journal focuses on the period 1300-1700 as well as the afterlife of the Renaissance in later periods across cultural production. We seek essays that address an interdisciplinary readership and, ideally, offer theoretical and methodological insights across subfields. Articles should locate their arguments within both specific and broader historical contexts, and explicitly draw their larger implications.
- Renaissance Studies: Journal of the Society for Renaissance Studies Renaissance Studies is a multi-disciplinary journal which publishes articles and editions of documents on all aspects of Renaissance history and culture. The articles range over the history, art, architecture, religion, literature, and languages of Europe during the period. Editions of important documents appear in their original languages, with introduction, textual apparatus, notes and (occasionally) translations of the documents and sources into English. The journal also contains a substantial book reviews section and often illustrated reviews of major exhibitions worldwide.
- Speculum: A Journal of Medieval Studies Speculum is the oldest U.S. journal devoted exclusively to the Middle Ages. The chronological boundaries of the medieval period are defined as approximately A.D. 500-1500. The primary geographic focus of the journal is on Western Europe, but Byzantine, Hebrew, Arabic, and Slavic studies are also included. There are no restrictions as to subject matter: the journal publishes articles and book reviews on any and all aspects of the Middle Ages, including art, history, literature, philosophy and theology, music, science, law, and economics. All scholarly methodologies and approaches are welcome.
- Viator Viator offers a space for renewed attention to transcultural studies from late antiquity into early modernity, while continuing its long-standing tradition of publishing articles of distinction in the established fields of medieval and Renaissance studies. In keeping with its title, “traveler,” the journal gives special consideration to articles that cross frontiers, focus on meetings between cultures, pursue an idea through the centuries, or employ methods of different disciplines simultaneously while remaining accessible to the non-specialist reader. We particularly welcome articles that look beyond Western Eurasia and North Africa and consider the history, literature, art, and thought of the eras of early global interconnection from broader perspectives.
- Vivarium: A Journal for Medieval and Early-Modern Philosophy and Intellectual Life Vivarium (VIV) is an international journal dedicated to the history of philosophy and intellectual life from the early Middle Ages to the early modern era. It is widely recognized as an unrivalled resource for the history of logic, semantics, epistemology, and metaphysics. It welcomes articles on medieval, Renaissance and early-modern thinkers, their ideas, arguments, and writings, as well as the institutional and intellectual life of this period.