Dictionaries
- Dictionary of Old English This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The 2007 Release of the Dictionary of Old English: A to G online has been produced in part with the support of the Canada Foundation for Innovation through the TAPoR project, the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada and the National Endowment for the Humanities, an independent federal agency. - Dictionary of Old English Web Corpus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 3,000 different texts of surviving Old English (Anglo Saxon and Medieval) material that is the basis of the Dictionary of Old English, covering the first six centuries (C.E. 600-1150) of the English language.
- Middle English CompendiumThree major Middle English resources: a dictionary, a bibliography, and a collection of texts.
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes the complete text of the Oxford English Dictionary, 2nd ed. plus quarterly updates of new and revised entries. Trace the origin and history of words and their meanings in this etymological dictionary. - Thesaurus Linguae Latinae This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A monumental dictionary of Latin. It encompasses the Latin language from the time of its origin to the time of Isidore of Seville (d.636).
Encyclopedias
- Lexikon des Mittelalters & International Encyclopaedia for the Middle Ages This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Lexikon is the standard encyclopaedia for medieval studies. It deals with all branches of the field and covers the period from AD 300 to 1500 for the whole of Europe and parts of the Middle East and North Africa. The International Encyclopaedia is an English language supplement to the Lexikon.
- Women and Gender in Medieval Europe: An Encyclopedia
- This link opens in a new window
First published in 2006, this encyclopedia examines the daily reality of medieval women from all walks of life in Europe between 450 CE and 1500 CE.
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the complete 250-plus volumes of Cambridge Histories reference series. Provides political, economic, and social history, philosophy, and literature of selected countries and subjects. Continually updated with new volumes taken from the print series as soon as they become available. - Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers. Combines the core Gale Group literary databases: Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Dictionary of Literary Biography. Complements Literature Criticism Online. - Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Handbooks, now a part of Oxford Academic, provide review articles which summarize and analyze current research and trends in a given discipline. UCLA subscribes to most Oxford Handbooks Online, excluding a few individual titles. - Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Spans 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias. UC subscription allows limited simultaneous users, so if you can't connect try again later.
- Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A good place to start, but note that it is an index to over 15 million articles in 11,000 subject encyclopedias and handbooks, both print and online and does not provide full-text articles. Instead, it will connect you to our catalog so you know where to find the appropriate encyclopedia, dictionary or other reference work. You will be linked to UCLA's holdings for any entries you find.
- World Biographical Information System Online (WBIS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains biographical profiles of people from all centuries as well as all countries and regions worldwide. Compiles biographical articles from printed reference works published from the 16th to the 20th century, and reproduces these original documents as facsimile images on the screen.
- The Cambridge History of Medieval Political Thought c. 350-c. 1450
- This link opens in a new window
Also available online. - The Cambridge History of Renaissance Philosophy
- This link opens in a new window
Also available online. - The Cambridge History of Later Medieval Philosophy: from the Rediscovery of Aristotle to the Disintegration of Scholasticism, 1100-1600
- This link opens in a new window
Also available online. - The Canterbury Tales ProjectThis project aims to establish a system of computer-readable transcription of the manuscripts and early editions of the work.