Belt Gallery
Belt MS 37. Book of Hours. [Use of Rouen]
Manuscript book of hours for the use of Rouen, written and illuminated in Rouen, France sometime during the 15th century.
Belt MS 65 : Michelangelo Autograph
Michelangelo Buonarroti, 1475-1564.; Florence, Italy. [Memorandum, 1533 Sept. 22]
Belt Library Manuscripts (Belt MS)
The Elmer Belt Library of Vinciana is a collection of manuscripts and printed books and materials concerning Leonardo da Vinci and the Italian Renaissance. It was given to UCLA in 1961 by Dr. Elmer Belt, professor emeritus in the UCLA School of Medicine and a collector of Vinciana for more than sixty years. Included in the collection are 19 manuscripts. The records are searchable in the UCLA Library Catalog with keywords “Belt MS”.
The Elmer Belt Collection of Vinciana Graphic Arts, is a special collection of original artwork, original printed lithographs, and materials concerning Leonardo da Vinci and the Italian Renaissance.
Digital images of a selection of Belt manuscripts and graphic materials are available on the UCLA Digital Library Collections.
For more information regarding the Belt Library of Vinciana see https://www.library.ucla.edu/collections/elmer-belt-library-of-vinciana and the Elmer Belt Collection of Vinciana Graphic Arts finding aid on the Online Archive of California (OAC).
Bibliography
F.L. Finger, Catalogue of the Incunabula in the Elmer Belt Library of Vinciana (Los Angeles 1971).
Marmor, Max, “The Elmer Belt Library of Vinciana, “ The Book Collector 38 (1989), pp. 321-342.