Keyword search for primary source materials in UCLA's online finding aids:
Archival Collection on Democracy and Unification was originally collected by the Korea Church Coalition for Peace, Justice, and Reunification in Washington, D.C., from 1975 through early 1990s, and donated to University of California, Los Angeles in the summer of 1995. The collection is mostly about Korean human rights movements and democratic development during the 1970s and 1980s in the United States. Also, it contains information on how American religious and citizen groups participated in activities in Washington, D.C., and abroad to promote Korean democracy. The Korea Church Coalition for Peace, Justice, and Reunification (formerly named North American Coalition for Human Rights in Korea) was formed in 1975 during the Yushin period by concerned religious and human rights activists in the United States. According to the Coalition, the organization was the major voice which spoke out on behalf of victims of human rights abuses as well as supported efforts for democracy in Korea. The collection is now housed in the Department of Special Collections, the UCLA Library. Both the East Asian Library and the Dept. of Special Collections have a detailed finding aid for users to locate materials in this collection. Please see the finding aid for the Archival Collection on Democracy and Unification in Korea.
Ho Young Ham was born in Seoul, Korea on May 5, 1868, and immigrated to Hawaii in 1905 with his wife, Hannah Chur Ham (1882-1979). The Ho Young Ham papers consist of artifacts, audio recordings, books, clothing, correspondence, manuscripts, photographs, and printed material that document Mr. Ham and his family, his professional life as a sugar plantation employee and Korean Methodist Church minister, and his involvement in Korean nationalist activities. Please see the finding aid for the Ho Young Ham Papers, 1873-1984.
Hei Sop Chin (1905- ) was the editor of the World Literary Dictionary (1955), wrote the textbooks Korean reader (1958) and Fundamental Korean for English speaking people (1959), founded, edited, and published the news weekly Hanmi t'ongsin, or The Korean American news bulletin (1961-1965), was the head of the lithograph department at the University of Southern California Press, founded Johnny International men's clothing importing company (1970), and founded two corporations (1983), Harry and Sons, and Asia International to promote joint ventures and business development in China. The collection consists of materials related to the Korean independence movement in Hawaii and the mainland United States prior to 1945, organizational papers pertaining to Tongjihae, and documents pertaining to the United Korean Committee, Korean Interim Government and Assembly, and the Korean Community Center in Los Angeles. Please see the finding aid for the Hei Sop Chin Archival Collection.
Hyung-ju (also known as Henry) Ahn graduated from the Wharton School of Finance and Commerce at the University of Pennsylvania in 1964, worked as a computer systems analyst for aerospace companies and for Orange County, California (1965-95), and received his MA in history from California State University, Fullerton. He wrote his thesis on Korean interpreters at Japanese-American internment camps during World War II. The collection contains mostly Korean printed materials, including religion and history books, and textbooks published under Japanese occupation. Also contains an original documentary motion picture film, Mugunghwa Tongsan (Hibiscus Garden), about the Korean community in Hawaii from 1900-47. Please see the finding aid for the Hyung-ju Ahn Collection of Korean Materials, 1902-1959.
In 2007, the UCLA East Asian Library was selected as a hub-library for Korean films by the Korean Film Council (KOFIC). More than 350 Korean DVDs were donated to the library by KOFIC and most of these are now available to UCLA library card holders. Please see the Korean Films Research Guide for more information.