Asian and Asian American Studies in Library Special Collections

The Chinese Community newspaper, started publication in the early 1980s and was the first Chinese newspaper to be published in Southern California. The collection consists of a weekly Chinese language newspaper that chronicles Southern California's suburban Chinese Community.

The present finding aid represents the fruits of a multiyear collaborative effort, undertaken at the initiative of then UCLA Chancellor Charles Young, to collect, collate, classify, and annotate available materials relating to the China Democracy Movement and tiananmen crisis of 1989. These materials---including, inter alia, thousands of documents, transcribed radio broadcasts, local newspaper and journal articles, wall posters, electronic communications, and assorted ephemeral sources, some in Chinese and some in English---provide a wealth of information for scholars, present and future, who wish to gain a better understanding of the complex, swirling forces that surrounded the extraordinary "Beijing Spring" of 1989 and its tragic denouement.

Rose Hum Lee was the first woman and the first Chinese American to head an academic department of an American university when she was appointed in 1956 to chair the Sociology Department at Roosevelt University in Chicago. The bulk of the collection is made up of correspondence written by Rose Hum Lee to her daughter, Elaine Lee. These letters and other documents were collected by Elaine Lee, who kept her mother's letters to her. The rest of the collections is comprised of transcribed telephone conversations; research on the Chinese in the United States; published and unpublished materials; biographical materials; and related materials.

Josephine Fowler was a scholar, writer, and activist who researched early activity of the Communist Party in the United States, particularly by Asian immigrants and Asian Americans, as well as gay and lesbian activism.

Steve Louie, an Asian-American activist, compiled the Steve Louie Asian-American Movement Collection which focuses on the Asian American Movement that spanned the late 1960s and 1970s. Louie participated in the Asian American Movement across the U.S., but spent the majority of his time in California.

Lisa See was born in 1955 in Paris, France. She received a BA degree from Loyola Marymount University College of Liberal Arts in 1979. Her published books include On Gold Mountain : the one-hundred-year odyssey of my Chinese-American family (1996), a NY Times Notable Book of 1995, and Flower net (1997), which was an Edgar Nominee for Best First Mystery.

Yu-shan Han (1899-1983) taught at the History Department, UCLA (1941 to 1966).

Chow Tai-Wai (David Chow) was from Shanghai China; he was born in ca. 1929. He graduated from UCLA and he went on to earn a master's degree in economics from the University of Southern California. As an actor, he appeared in motion pictures and television series, but is best known for his work on the motion picture Conquest of the Planet of the Apes and the television series Kung Fu.

The East West Players theater company (EWP), located in Los Angeles, CA, was founded in 1965. EWP provides Asian Pacific actors, writers, directors, and producers a forum for presenting their unique works from an Asian-Pacific-American perspective, with productions ranging from traditional Asian theater forms to the Asian American experience to mainstream drama and musical theater.

The Craft and Folk Art Museum (CAFAM) and its predecessor, The Egg and The Eye Gallery, was an active part of "Museum Row" at 5814 Wilshire Blvd. on Los Angeles' Miracle Mile in the mid-Wilshire district, showing fine craft, international folk art, and design for over 30 years.

Collection consists of some 1000 twentieth-century dance programs, primarily American, but many for foreign dance companies on tour in the U.S. Includes programs for Anna Pavlova, Ruth St. Denis and Ted Shawn, George Balachine, Martha Graham, Folies-Bergère, the Bolshoi Ballet, New York City Ballet, San Francisco Opera Ballet, Ballet Russe de Monte Carlo, and Ballet Theater.

Fannie Charles Dillon (born 16 March 1881) was an American pianist, composer, and music educator. Born in Denver, Colorado, Dillon moved with her family to Long Beach, California in 1890. After graduating from Pomona College, she moved to Berlin, where she studied the piano with Leopold Godovsky and composition with Heinrich Urban and Hugo Kaun, from 1900-1906. She later studied composition with Rubin Goldmark in New York, before returning to Los Angeles in 1908 and working as a pianist, teacher, performer and composer.

Born Nadir Khan-Romanoffski in Yalta, Crimea, 1881, and educated at Eton, École le Grand, Oxford, and the Sorbonne; he became a naturalized British subject and served in the British and British-Indian Army; his many writing credits include Broadway Interlude, Pagan Love, Bucking the Tiger, The Remittance Woman, and The Lives of a Bengal Lancer.

Helen Louise Schaffer was an American composer. Schaffer resided in Los Angeles, where she taught music and composed popular songs, instrumental pieces, and the occasional radio play.

Composer Clifford Vaughan was born September 23, 1893 in Bridgeton, New Jersey, and studied at the Philadelphia Conservatory of Music. Vaughan served as musical director for Ruth St. Denis and Ted Shawn's Denishawn Dancers during their 1925-1926 Asian tour, composing a number of dance works for the troupe. He moved to Los Angeles in the 1930s and worked as an orchestrator and composer for several major studios, including Paramount, Warner Bros., RKO, MGM, Disney, and Universal. Among his orchestration credits are the films Bride of Frankenstein (1935), Old Yeller (1957), and Darby O'Gill and the Little People (1959).

Lewis Segal was born in Los Angeles in 1941. He attended UCLA and graduated with a BA in Language/Arts, an MA in Theatre History and Criticism, and an MFA in Theatre Directing. He is a performing arts critic who has written on various topics related to the performing arts, from ballet to contemporary dance and musicals. He began working as a freelance writer in the 1960s for a number of publications, including the Los Angeles Times, Performing Arts magazine, the Los Angeles Free Press, Ballet News, and High Performance magazine.

Collection of Original Works of Art on Paper

Collection consists of motion picture pressbooks dating from 1935 to ca. 1980s. The collection primarily represents American films produced by companies including Columbia Pictures, Walt Disney, 20th Century Fox, MGM, Paramount, RKO, Universal, United Artists, and Warner Brothers.

Collection of photographs, performance programs, publicity information, and clippings related to dance, gathered by Dorathi Bock Pierre, a dance writer and publicist.

Charles C. Pierce (1861-1946) was a pioneer Los Angeles photographer. He came to Los Angeles in 1886 from Chicago due to health issues and remained until his death in 1946. Along with two other photographers who accompanied him, he began to document the people and architecture of the area. Pierce also became a collector and dealer in historical photographs of Los Angeles and the surrounding vicinity and he assembled a pictorial record of most of the important civic, commercial, and social events which occurred during the half century after his arrival.

The Los Angeles daily news was originally named the Illustrated Daily News by Cornelius Vanderbilt, Jr. when he started it in 1923. He copied the tabloid format of the New York daily news, although he rejected lurid and sensational journalism. In 1926 the paper went bankrupt and was taken over by Manchester Boddy, who changed the name to the Los Angeles daily news. He kept the tabloid format, with its heavy reliance on photographs. In 1954 it merged with the Mirror, the afternoon paper of the Los Angeles times, and became the Mirror-News. It lost reporters, columnists, and its more liberal flavor, and ceased publication in the early 1960s.

Photograph album of the Los Angeles Times Oriental Excursion Party to Japan, China, Hong Kong, and the Philippines in 1906

Daughter of Lord Yu Keng, a progressive and reform-minded Chinese official and sometime minister to Japan and France. Princess Der Ling was educated first in missionary schools and then in a French convent. After completing her education, she returned to China to become the first lady-in-waiting to the Empress Dowager. She lost her job when she became engaged to an American whom she subsequently married. Later she wrote several books about the Dowager Empress and her experiences in the Chinese court, including Two Years in the Forbidden City, Imperial incense, Old Buddha, Kowtow, and Lotus petals.

Francis M. Fultz (1857-1948) was a school superintendent before becoming the director of conservation and reforestation in Los Angeles City Schools (1925-1932). He also lectured on subjects ranging from California, Hawaii and Yellowstone to camping, wildflowers and weeds.

The collection consists of original 19th and 20th century photographs and reproductions covering a broad range of subjects as well as a small collection of original artwork. Subjects in the collection include: Los Angeles, Hollywood, Pasadena, California missions, adobes, and ranchos, the U.S. Civil War, and Latin America. Includes portraits, landscapes, cityscapes, panoramic views, location shots, and more.

Carleton E. Watkins was born in Oneonta, Oswego County, New York, on November 11, 1829. He was the youngest of five children of a Scottish innkeeper. During his youth he became acquainted with Collis P. Huntington, who frequented his father's hotel. Soon after the discovery of gold, both young men went to California, where Huntington later became one of the Big Four who built the Central Pacific Railroad.

Disbound leaves of an album containing mounted black-and-white photographs of Southern California views, probably taken between 1880 and 1899.

Collection consists of a selection from the U.S. Farm Security Administration (FSA) photography project of the depression years representing the work of many well-known photographers, and from the U.S. Office of War Information (OWI) reflecting efforts on the home front. The prints, 20 × 25.5 cm., were made from the original negatives in the Library of Congress. FSA photographers include Walker Evans, Dorothea Lange, Carl Mydans, and Arthur Rothstein. OWI subjects include: airplanes, baseball players, Winston Churchill, Fort Benning, Japanese Americans, Liberia, Marine Corps women, Negro workers, Eddie Rickenbacker, shipbuilding, steel industry, tin, War Production Board, and women in essential services.

California historian, author, and civic leader. Mrs. Armitage S.C. Forbes (1861-1951), born Harrie Rebecca Piper Smith, was a major leader in the preservation of California historical sites in the 1930s, namely the Campo de Cahuenga site. She was instrumental in identifying the historic road linking the 21 California missions, and determining its name--El Camino Real--and also designed and cast in her own foundry the first bells used to mark the historic highway; she was known as the "Bell Lady," and "America's First Woman Bell Maker." Her books include California Missions and Landmarks: El Camino Real (1903), and Mission Tales in the Days of the Dons (1909).

The first postcards were probably playing cards used as visiting cards (late 17th-early 18th century). They were replaced by visiting cards and most had pictures and a blank space for the name. Subjects were places of interest or general motifs and often included messages. Printers printed decorative letter paper using old visiting card plates (1830s) and established the link from visiting cards to postcards. There were few areas or events not recorded on postcards by the early 1900s. The collection consists of postcards and novelty cards from various places around the world.

The Los Angeles Times was founded in 1881 and was incorporated as the Times-Mirror Company in 1884. The collection dates from circa 1918 to 1990 and provides a record of major world events, what the Times considered as significant news in the moment. The scope of its contents is near-comprehensive as a document of events, personalities, movements, and institutions in the news.

This collection, like Picture Collection 99, contains photographs etc. of both persons and places and is intended as a supplement to other collections in the Department. It contains both bound and boxed sets of photographs which are too bulky to be located with Picture Collection 99 .

Adelbert Bartlett was born in 1887; became a commercial photographer based in Santa Monica, California; his photographs of the Southern California lifestyle were widely published in the U.S. and abroad; director, Near East Relief Fund regional headquarters news bureau in Los Angeles; worked for the Fund in Greece, Palestine, and Syria; died in 1966.

Jules Langsner was born on May 5, 1911, in New York, New York and died in Los Angeles, California, on September 29, 1967. Langsner was surrounded by intellectuals and artists from a young age, and became a celebrated art writer, critic and curator.

Friends of Soochow is a non profit corporation dedicated to assisting Soochow University (SU) financially and academically since 1963.

Friends of Soochow is a non profit corporation dedicated to assisting Soochow University (SU) financially and academically since 1963.

Friends of Soochow is a non profit corporation dedicated to assisting Soochow University (SU) financially and academically since 1963.

Friends of Soochow is a non profit corporation dedicated to assisting Soochow University (SU) financially and academically since 1963.

This collection contains the production records of UCLA's Theatre Group. Materials include and regard photographs, scripts, contracts, publicity, tickets, programs, reviews, tours, and house manager's reports regarding productions staged from 1958-1966.

The Asia Institute at the University of California, Los Angeles was formed in 2003 when the Center for East Asian Studies was combined with the Asia-Pacific Institute.

Friends of Soochow is a non profit corporation dedicated to assisting Soochow University (SU) financially and academically since 1963.

Friends of Soochow is a non profit corporation dedicated to assisting Soochow University (SU) financially and academically since 1963.

Contains the administrative files of the National Center for History in the Schools.

Friends of Soochow is a non profit corporation dedicated to assisting Soochow University (SU) financially and academically since 1963.

Record Series 545 contains the exhibition files of Art Council.

The University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA) Center for Language Education and Research (CLEAR) was a federally-funded five-year project lasting from 1985 - 1989. The Center was part of the UCLA Center for World Languages. The purpose of CLEAR was to improve the quality of language education in the United States. It's chief focus was on English proficiency with a simultaneous commitment to the maintenance and development of heritage language proficiency.

Record Series 543 contains the administrative files of Chandler Harris, of UCLA's Public Information Office.

Record Series 284 contains the administrative files of the director of UCLA University Extension.

Record Series 746 contains information on academic programs, buildings, events, and organizations affiliated with: the Los Angeles State Normal School (LASNS), 1881-1919; the University of California, Southern Branch, 1919-1926; and the University of California, Los Angeles, 1927- . The contents of the Subject Files (Reference Collection) include: reports, statistical data, histories of academic departments, organization charts, pamphlets, and other miscellaneous items.

Record Series 666 contains Master's theses generated within the UCLA Dance Department between 1958 and 1988.

In 1936, UC President Robert Sproul appointed the Committee on Drama, Lectures, and Music (later known as the Committee on Fine Arts Production and currently known as the Center for Performing Arts) to present on-campus one musical event each year. The first event sponsored by the Committee occurred on 4 February 1937 when the Vienna Choir Boys performed on the UCLA campus. During the 1960's, under the leadership of Frances Inglis, the Center built a national and international reputation for the size and sophistication of its programs.

Contains the approved course lists of the University of California Academic Senate (Los Angeles Division) Committee on Undergraduate Courses and Curricula.

The Security Studies Project at the University of California, Los Angeles, was founded in 1961. The Project pursued research on national security and international arms control.

Contains the exhibition files of the Exhibit Committee at the UCLA Library.

Record Series 497 contains the administrative files of the UCLA Library Technical Services Department.

Formal instruction in Chinese and Japanese languages was first offered in the fall of 1947 at UCLA, when the Department of Oriental Languages was organized by Richard C. Rudolph, chairman, with the assistance of Ensho Ashikaga and Yong C. Chu. The impetus for such a department began with Peter A. Boodberg, the chairman of a parallel department at UC Berkeley.

Contains the administrative files of the School of Public Health. Topics include the China Exchange Program, budget, degree programs, Dean's Office correspondence, Western Consortium for the Health Professions (WCHP), department reorganization, transfers, and history.

Contains the administrative files of the directory of UCLA's Brain Research Institute. Files regard Brain Research Institute (BRI) history, programs, grants, conferences, exchange program, Advisory Committee, Executive Committee, and MHTP(?).

Contains Schoenberg Hall Concert Recordings generated by the UCLA Music Department.

Contains the administrative files of department chairs of UCLA's Physics Department. Files regard Academic Senate, affirmative action, apprentice personnel, budget, computing, faculty, Graduate division, labs, courses, tax exemptions, appointments, and ballots. Materials include correspondence, memos, reports, forms, announcement, proposals, and committee documentation.

Contains the administrative files of Ernest C. Moore, University Chancellor from 1919-1936. Files include correspondence, office memoranda, minutes, agendas, reports, applications, budget requests and statements. Subjects covered by the files include administration of the of the university, schools, colleges, and academic departments; business conducted by the Academic Senate, administrative offices at the University of California, Berkeley, and the Associated Students and other campus student organizations; student activism and disciplinary action; and general correspondence between the chancellor and students and faculty.

Contains the administrative files of the UCLA University Librarian, generated between 1919 and 1998, including those of John E. Goodwin, Lawrence Clark Powell, and Robert Vosper. Files regard such topics as library departments; branch libraries; interaction and cooperation with UCLA academic departments, other University of California campuses, libraries, universities, and institutions; acquisitions; budgets; committees; associations and societies; Library Council; Northern and Southern Regional Library Boards; Special Collections; programs and conferences; contracts; grants; the use and need of space; library visitors; bibliographers; OCLC (Online Computer Library Center, Inc., formerly the Ohio College Library Center); lending privileges; public library catalogs; and blanket purchase orders. Also included are the chronological files of James R. Cox (Acting Associate University Librarian for Public Services, 1977-1979; Assistant to the University Librarian, 1979-1983). Materials include correspondence, statistics, reports (annual, semiannual, quarterly, and monthly from library departments and branch libraries), meeting agendas and minutes, forms, manuals, and other operational materials.

The Center for the Study of Women (CSW) was established in Setember 1984 by the UC Board of Regents with a research focus on women, gender and sexuality. It was the first organized research unit to focus on women and gender-related issues in the UC System. Its mission is to develop and foster research emerging out of women's experiences collectively or as individuals and returning that to the community; to facilitate productive scholarly relationships; and to aid recruitment and retention efforts. It is funded by by the UCLA Division of Social Sciences as part of it's commitment to gender equity and research parity at UCLA. The Center develops, promotes, and disseminates faculty and graduate student research and administers grants, conferences and seminars. The founding director of the Center is Karen Rowe.

Contains the administrative files of UCLA Chancellor Charles E. Young, generated primarily between 1968-1997.

Frederick S. Wight Art Gallery Established in 1953 as the University Art Galleries for the display of fine art in UCLA's Art Building, the gallery was renamed the Frederick S. Wight Art Gallery in 1973 in honor of Frederick S. Wight (1902-1986), chairman of the art department and director of the original University Art Galleries. In 1965 the gallery moved from the Arts Building into the Dickson Art Center where it was used for student shows and traveling exhibitions. In 1995 the gallery staff moved to the Armand Hammer Museum of Art and Cultural Center, and the Wight Art Gallery became known as the New Wight Gallery, located on the UCLA campus in the Eli and Edyth Broad Art Center (formerly known as the Dickson Art Center.)

Contains moving image and audio recordings from the UCLA Public Information Office. Files include recordings of UCLA on the Air, news coverage, newscasts, public service announcements, public communications, interviews, promotional films, radio shows, inaugurations, commencement, anniversaries, and other UCLA events and happenings. Materials include tapes, reels, audio cassettes, digital audio tapes, Beta SP, VHS, 1/4" audio tapes, 16mm films, slides, 3/4" tapes, 1" reel to reel films, documents, and interview transcripts.

The Civil Rights Project at Harvard University/CRP was established in 1996 to: 1) conduct scholarly research and analysis in support of U.S. civil rights and 2) produce multidisciplinary research and policies on behalf of academics, policy makers, and civil rights advocates. The Civil Rights Project's founding co-directors were Christopher Edley, Jr. and Gary A. Orfield. In 2004 Christopher Edley, Jr. resigned as the Harvard CRP co-director. In 2007 Gary Orfield and the CRP relocated to the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA) Graduate School of Education & Information Studies. With the 2007 relocation to UCLA, the Harvard Civil Rights Project was renamed the Civil Rights Project/Proyecto Derechos Civiles and Patricia Gandara joined Gary Orfield as co-director.

Contains administrative files and publications generated by the Argentina, previous hit China next hit , Columbia, Ghana, Peru, and Puerto Rico Programs of UCLA's International Studies and Overseas Programs. Files include conference proceedings of the previous hit China next hit Program; reports (including itineraries and press releases), correspondence, and hand-written comments by students of the Columbia Project; correspondence, clippings, and grant information of the Portugal Program; proposals, grant information, correspondence, and pamphlets of the African Institute; and correspondence of the Argentina, Peru, Latin America, and Puerto Rico programs.

The University of California, Los Angeles's International Studies and Overseas Program (ISOP) formally began in 1958 as the Institute of International and Foreign Studies (IIFP). It's founding functions were to promote international interdisciplinary studies, and to serve as a liaison for government, international agencies, and international dignitaries and visitors to the university. ISOP oversaw programs that sent students to such places as Brazil, Chile, Iran, Nigeria, Japan, Argentina, China next hit , Columbia, Ghana, Peru, and Puerto Rico. Additionally, ISOP oversaw a Peace Corps program at UCLA.

Record Series 447 contains the subject files of UCLA University Librarian Russel Shank. Files regard ARL, GSLIS, Library Council, Northern and Southern Regional Library Facilities, and other UCLA Library-related topics, Materials include correspondence, drafts, agendas, meeting minutes, and committee documents.

Record Series 522 contains sound recordings generated by the Music in the Rotunda program at the UCLA College Library. Files include reel to reel tape and cassette tape recordings of events.

The Chinese Historical Society of Southern California and the UCLA Asian Studies Center initiated the Southern California Chinese American Oral History Project in September 1978. The project collected oral histories from 165 Chinese residents who discussed their lives in Los Angeles up to 1945. The collection consists of 400 hours of taped interviews, over 1700 pages of summaries and indices, an appendix with the user's guide sample sheets, and descriptions of the cumulative index. Also includes interview transcripts. The transcripts are in Chinese, mainly Cantonese dialects, with English translations.

Herbert Allen Giles (1845-1935) was professor of Chinese at Cambridge (1897-1932). His published books include a Chinese biographical dictionary (1898), Chinese fairy tales (1911), and The civilization of China (1911). Collection consists of letters to sinologist Herbert Allen Giles from other writers, articles by Giles from Temple bar, 44 issues of The young East (1925-30), a copy of The Buddhist diet-book, and a manuscript of Chinese shorthand vocabulary.

Richard Baum was born in Los Angeles, CA on July 8, 1940. Baum began teaching Political Science at UCLA in 1968 and continued his career there for 44 years. While at UCLA, Baum was also the director of the Center for Chinese Studies from 1999 until 2005. The collection consists of materials related to his career as a professor of Political Science at UCLA, US policy advisor, and China scholar. Baum was founder of the listserv Chinapol and was an influential authority on contemporary Chinese politics who authored more than 50 scholarly studies and six books. The materials include correspondence, conference files, Baum’s writings, course materials, and recordings of Baum’s lectures.

Verne Dyson (1879-1962 ) was a feature writer for the Kansas City Star (1907), and joined the staff of the Los Angeles Times as manager of the Pasadena news bureau and Sunday editor. At the end of World War I, he went to Shanghai, China to become dean of Williams College. In 1921, he became professor of English and Chinese history at the University of the Philippines in Manila and helped to found the Philippine Academy of Social Sciences. The collection consists of correspondence, research notes, unpublished manuscripts, books, pamphlets, clippings, maps, articles, scrapbooks, student compositions, photographs, postcards, and original prints of Verne Dyson, American journalist, teacher and author.

This collection documents the activities of Ho Young Ham, a Korean immigrant to Maui, Hawaii in 1905. The materials reflect Mr. Ham's role as husband, father, sugar plantation employee, Methodist minister, and Korean nationalist activist. The bulk of the collection consists of Mr. Ham's monographs, including a number of theological books. The collection also includes artifacts, clothing (including some Korean traditional dress), correspondence, ledgers, manuscripts (including Mr. Ham's diaries), photographs, and printed materials that reflect Mr. Ham's varied interests and pursuits. Some materials are in Korean and Chinese.

Donald Crabs was a UCLA professor who specialized in theater design. He studied scenery and lighting design, as well as set design for television and film.

The forced enslavement of individuals in Cuba began in the early 1500s and continued until 1886. Spanish colonists first enslaved Cuba's indigenous population, and then began forcibly transporting individuals from Africa in the late 1700s as Cuba's sugar industry, which relied heavily on enslaved labor, increased. Throughout the 1800s, amongst international pressure to cease the Atlantic slave trade, Spanish colonists and Cuban plantation owners sought out other systems of forced labor. These systems essentially continued the same practices and conditions of enslavement but were disguised as contract labor. This included a system in China, where individuals were forcibly, deceptively, and coercively recruited into signing labor contracts and then subsequently transported to Cuba.

Collection consists of eighteenth and nineteenth century correspondence and documents from Peru. Correspondence includes letters from important figures in Peruvian history, including presidents Ramón Castilla, Juan Antonio Pezet, and Manuel Pardo. Also includes a letter from Bolivian president Jose Balivian, and documents concerning the importation of Chinese laborers to Peru.

Ida E. Wickenden (1886-ca.1972) spent her early years in Toledo, Ohio. Her interest in missionary work began as a college student, with her involvement in the Young Women's Christian Association. In November of 1906 she traveled to Nashville to attend a missionary convention, and a year later she sailed for Hangchow, China to begin work there as a missionary. In 1911, her letters to her family made an American newspaper for their descriptions of the Republican Revolution, which transferred power from the Manchu dynasty to Chinese next hit rule under Sun Yet Sen. The collection consists mostly of correspondence from Ida E. Wickenden and other hand-written and printed materials relating to the time she spent as missionary in Hangchow, China.

John Adrian Rademaker was a professor of Sociology, Ph.D., University of Washington (ca. 1939). He served as community analyst at the Granada Relocation Center, Prowers County, Colorado, during World War II. This collection consists of approximately 660 returned postcard-questionnaires on the numbers of Japanese and Chinese residents who were served by post offices in the state of Washington for the year 1936.

Halleck, Peachy & Billings was one of the leading San Francisco law firms in the settlement of titles to Mexican land grants.

Halleck, Peachy & Billings was one of the leading San Francisco law firms in the settlement of titles to Mexican land grants. The firm was dissolved in 1861.

Harry Kitano was born in San Francisco, California, 14 February 1926 to Motoji and Kou Yuki Kitano. Raised in San Francisco's Chinatown, Kitano attended Galileo High School. After the bombing of Pearl Harbor, the Kitano family was sent to the Assembly Center at the Santa Anita Race Track in Arcadia, California. Six months later, the family was sent to an internment camp in Topaz, Utah where they remained until 1945. He taught at UCLA from 1958 until his retirement in 1995, teaching in the departments of Social Welfare and Sociology. He served twice as Acting Director of the American Asian Studies Center and also as Co-Director of the UCLA Alcohol Research Center. He was the first to hold the endowed chair for Japanese American Studies at UCLA, established in 1990.

Nyogen Senzaki (1876–1958), born Aizo Senzaki, was a Zen Buddhist monk and one of the first Zen masters to come to the United States from Japan. He developed a following with his "floating zendo" model. Ruth Strout McCandless (1909-1994) was Senzaki’s close collaborator and a major Western scholar on Zen Buddhism in Japan, particularly contributing to Zen Buddhist movements in California.

Thomas Bradley was born in Calvert, TX, in 1917. His family moved to Los Angeles, CA, when he was seven years old. He attended UCLA on a track scholarship from 1937 to 1940, majoring in education, but left before graduating to join the Los Angeles Police Department (LAPD).
Bradley became the first African American lieutenant in the LAPD, and attended law school at Southwestern University, receiving his law degree in 1956. He retired from the LAPD in 1961. After working as an attorney in Los Angeles, he decided to run for office and was elected to the Los Angeles City Council representing the 10th District in 1963.
In 1969 he ran unsuccessfully against Sam Yorty for mayor. He ran again in 1973 and was elected the first African American mayor of Los Angeles. He was re-elected to a subsequent four terms, and served as mayor until 1993. He retired from political life when his fifth term ended.

Jay D. Frierman (1923-1999) was a UCLA professor and Consulting Archaeologist who conducted archaeological excavations throughout the Middle East and southern California, and supervised numerous archaeological projects at the El Pueblo de Los Angeles State Historic Park. Frierman was a specialist in ceramic glazes and historical archaeology in southern California and he published several articles and books on his research. The collection consists of correspondence, archaeological surveys and reports, research notes, and published articles.

Chuman, a Nisei, was born in California in 1917. He graduated from the University of California, Los Angeles (1938) and the University of Maryland Law School (1945). He was the administrator at the Manzanar Camp hospital from 1942-43. He later was legal counsel for the National Japanese American Citizens League (JACL) from 1953-60 and served as its national president from 1960-62. He became a liaison to the Japanese American Research Project (JARP) in 1962 and published a book titled, The Bamboo People: The Law and Japanese Americans (c. 1976).

Kenneth Rexroth (1905-1982) was an author, critic, poet, teacher, translator and active member of San Francisco's cultural, political, and poetry scenes from the 1930s through the 1960s. The collection consists of correspondence, manuscripts, and ephemera by and about Rexroth, and members of his circle.

John Downing Weaver and his wife, Harriet, clipped newspaper and magazine articles that were used as a database of reference materials for articles, etc.

The Zen Center of Los Angeles (ZCLA) was founded in 1967 by Taizan Maezumi. Associated with the Soto Zen sect, it provides Buddhist teaching and training to both lay people and monks.

Richard Casper Rudolph was born on May 21, 1909 in San Francisco, CA; BS (1932), AM (1936), and Ph.D (1942), UC Berkeley; research associate and instructor of Chinese, University of Chicago, 1937-40; research associate, Oriental languages, UC Berkeley, 1942-43; assistant professor of Chinese and head of Chinese language section, US Department of the Navy Language School, University of Colorado, 1943-45; assistant professor of Chinese studies (1945-46), University of Toronto; associate professor of Chinese and acting director of the school of Chinese studies (1946-47), associate professor (1947-52), professor (1952-80), and, in 1980, emeritus professor of Oriental languages, UCLA; publications include Dynastic booty : an altered Chinese bronze (1948), Chinese moveable type printing in the eighteenth century (1954), and Illustrated botanical works in China and Japan (1966).

Karl G. Yoneda was a Kibei-nisei, born in Glendale, California in 1906 and stayed in Japan between 1913 and 1926. He returned to the United States in 1927 and joined the American Communist Party. During World War II, Yoneda was incarcerated in the Manzanar War Relocation Center and volunteered to join the Military Intelligence Service Language School from the camp. He served for the China-Burma-India Theater as a member of the Psychological Warfare Team, the United States Office of War Information. Starting in the late 1960s, Yoneda gave lectures and talks at various classes and programs of academic institutions in the West Coast and Hawaii and authored publications in English and Japanese.

Robert Ernest Cowan was born in Toronto, Canada in 1862. He arrived in San Francisco in 1870 and was best known for the publication of bibliographies and other works on early California history including: A bibliography of the history of California, 1510-1930, Bibliography of the Chinese next hit question in the United States (with Boutwell Dunlap), and The Spanish press of California, 1833-1845. Robert Ernest Cowan collected a wide-array of materials on early California history that would later form the nucleus of the UCLA Department of Special Collections's holdings in Californiana. Cowan was a former student at UC Berkeley from 1882-84, a San Francisco bookseller from 1895-1920, and a librarian for William Andrews Clark, Jr., from 1919-1933.

T. Scott Miyakawa (November 23, 1906- ) earned his BS from Cornell in 1929 and his Ph.D from Columbia University and taught at Boston University from 1946-72. His efforts to collect documentary materials related to the history of Japanese Americans and Japanese immigration to the United States resulted in the inauguration of the Japanese American Research Project (JARP) at the University of California, Los Angeles in 1962 of which he served as director from 1962-65.

Leon Knopoff was born on July 1, 1925 in Los Angeles, California; B.S. in Electrical Engineering, California Institute of Technology (1944); M.S. in Physics, California Institute of Technology (1946); PhD. in Physics and Mathematics California Institute of Technology (1949). From 1948-1950 Knopoff was an Assistant and Associate Professor of Physics at Miami University (Oxford, Ohio). In 1950 Knopoff was hired by Louis B. Slichter as a post-doctoral Research Associate at the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA) Institute of Geophysics (1950-1957); UCLA Associate Professor of Geophysics (1957-1959); UCLA Professor of Geophysics (1959) and UCLA Professor of Physics (1961).

This collection was created by a variety of research institutions and organizations involved in immigration issues.

Contains the specialization papers of students in UCLA's Graduate School of Library and Information Science.

Edison Tomimaro Uno was born in 1929 in Los Angeles. He was interned with his family in a camp in Crystal City, Texas during World War II. He graduated from Los Angeles State College in political science. He moved to San Francisco in 1956 and became operations manager of the University of California, San Francisco (UCSF) Student Union in 1964, financial aid officer in 1969, and assistant dean of students from 1969-74.

James Allen Clifford Grant, Political Science Professor Emeritus joined the UCLA faculty in 1930 and retired in 1969. While at UCLA, Grant chaired the Political Science Department and the Academic Senate and was instrumental in the foundation of the UCLA Law School and the selection of its first dean.

Al Mesmer (1855-1947) was the president of the North Los Angeles Development Company, served as a member of the Freeholder's Charter Commission to frame a city charter for Los Angeles, and served as Los Angeles park commissioner.

Kumezō Hachimonji was born in 1888. A native of Miyagi Prefecture, he graduated from Thoku Gakuin in Sendai and arrived in the United States in 1918. He received his BS from Columbia University. Before World War II he owned and operated Valley Seed Company in El Monte, California.

Cornelius Cole (1822-1924) practiced law in San Francisco (1850) before relocating to Sacramento in 1851 where he served as the district attorney of Sacramento City and County (1859-62). He was later elected as a Union Republican to the thirty-eighth Congress (1863-65), and as a Republican to the U.S. Senate (1867-73) where he served as the chairman for the Committee on Appropriations (Forty-second Congress).

Pierre Stephen Robert Payne (1911-1983) was a professor of English poetry and lecturer in naval architecture (1943-46), head of the English deptartment at Alabama College, Montevallo (1949-54), war correspondent in Spain (1938), correspondent for the Times of London in Changsha, China (1942), the founding director of Columbia University Translation Center, and the author of books in a variety of subjects.

Alexander Plaisted Saxton (b.1919) taught at UC Berkeley and Wayne State University before joining the Department of History at UCLA in 1968. His writings include Grand crossing (1943), The great midland (1948), Bright web in the darkness (1958), The great fear (1970), and The indispensable enemy: labor and the anti- Chinese next hit movement in California (1971).

Edward Ross Roybal (1916- ) was a public health educator for the California Tuberculosis Association (1942-44), the director of health education for the Los Angeles County Tuberculosis and Health Association (1945-49), a member of the Los Angeles City Council (1949-62), president of Eastland Savings and Loan Association (1958-68), and a Democrat in the U.S. Congress, House of Representatives (1963-93) where he served as chairman of the Select Committee on Aging from 1989-93.

Kelly Lytle Hernandez is associate professor in the UCLA Department of History and Associate Co-Director of the National Center for History in the Schools. Her research interests are in twentieth-century U.S. history with a concentration upon race, migration, and police and prison systems in the American West and U.S.-Mexico borderlands.

Edgar Bowers was born in Rome, Georgia in 1924. He began writing poetry at a young age, and had published poems in newspapers by the time he was 13 years old. He entered the University of North Carolina (UNC) in 1942, but his studies were interrupted by World War II. After his discharge in 1946, he completed his undergraduate studies at UNC, and moved to Stanford in 1947 to pursue his master's degree and doctorate. He taught at Duke University, Harpur College, and from 1958 until his retirement in 1991 at the University of California, Santa Barbara, where he specialized in English Renaissance and modern poetry.

Little is known about Frances (Long) Holt other than that she was the second wife of Alfred Holt (1829-1911), an entrepreneur and engineer who helped to introduce and advance steamship technology in the late nineteenth century. The company that he founded, Ocean Steam Ship Company (later Alfred Holt & Co.), first rose to prominence by sending steam-powered ships on Asian trade routes. The Holts resided in Liverpool, England.

H. Arthur Steiner (1905-1991) was a Marine corps officer during World War II and a professor of international relations and political science at UCLA. His areas of expertise were in India and China.

The Buddhist Churches of America (BCA) is a national organization of the Jōdo Shinshū Hongwanji sect in the continental United States. Formerly known as the Buddhist Mission of North America (BMNA), the BCA is the largest Japanese American Buddhist organization and is currently headquartered in San Francisco, California. The Buddhist Churches of America (BCA) organization was originally founded in 1899 but its origins date back to the Meiji Restoration (1868) and the arrival of Japanese immigrants to the mainland United States.

Cousins was born on June 24, 1915 in Union Hill, New Jersey; attended Teachers College, Columbia University; began working at New York post as the education editor, 1934-35; worked at Current history as book reviewer, literary editor, and managing editor, 1935-40; married Eleanor (Ellen) Kopf in 1939; executive editor (1940-42), and editor-in-chief (1942-71) of Saturday Review Of Literature, later known as Saturday Review; editor of World (1972-73), Saturday Review/World (1973-74), and Saturday Review (1975-78); worked on editorial board of Office of War Information during World War II; he was involved with organizations fostering world government and control of nuclear weapons, serving as president of United World Federalists from 1952-54 and as founding member of the Committee for a Sane Nuclear Policy (SANE); founded US-USSR and US- Chinese Writers Conferences; served as a diplomat during 3 presidential administrations; produced numerous books on political, social, and medical issues; adjunct professor of medical humanities, UCLA, beginning in 1978, where he initiated the Task Force in Psychoneuroimmunology; received many awards, including the United Nations Peace Medal, the Albert Schweitzer Prize of Humanitarianism, and nearly fifty honorary doctorate degrees; he died on Nov. 30, 1990 in Los Angeles, CA.

Joseph Gregg Layne (1885-1952) was a leading authority and bibliographer of Californiana as well as president, member of the board of directors and editor of the Quarterly for the Historical Society of Southern California and an organizer for E Clampus Vitus.

The Federal Writers' Project began in 1935 under President Franklin Delano Roosevelt’s New Deal program, as part of the Works Progress Administration. Employing writers, researchers, editors, historians, and other field workers, FWP is best known for compiling the American Guide Series books that detailed the histories of each state. This collection is from the Southern California branch of the FWP and contains essays and research relating to city and county government, social and cultural institutions, commerce and industry, arts and culture, sports and recreation, local history and folklore, war and civilian defense, and municipalities and cities, as well as numerous other subjects used toward FWP assignments. The program ended in 1943 after state and federal sponsorship halted.

Sakae Susuki was born in 1875; a native of Okayama Prefecture, he arrived in the United States in 1898; graduated University of Southern California Medical School, 1917; additional studies at Berlin University; lived in San Francisco (1898-1906) and relocated to Los Angeles, California following the Great Earthquake; was a photographer prior to Medical School; practiced medicine in Southern California before World War II and in Denver post-World War II; was also known as Dr. Peter M. Suski; he was also an author and a linguist; died 1961.

Susan Sontag (1933-2004) was an American writer, director, and political activist. She authored numerous essays, short stories, novels, and non-fiction books, as well as films and plays that she also directed in the United States and abroad.

California Works Progress Administration Translation Project Records

Carey McWilliams (1905-80) was an attorney with the firm, Black, Hammack and McWilliams in Los Angeles (1927-38), chief of the Division of Immigration and Housing for the State of California (1938-42). McWilliams later worked for The Nation (1945-75). He also wrote numerous books on race and migrant labor issues.

Edwin Wendell Pauley was born in 1903. In 1940 Pauley served as a member of the University of California, Board of Regents, a position he kept for 30 years.

Philip Durham (1912-1977) was a professor of American literature at UCLA (1953-1976), Fulbright professor of American literature at the University of Helsinki(1955-56) and the author of several books.

Collection consists of newspapers and other materials representing American and some British and French underground, alternative and extremist literature. Includes materials from both sides of the political spectrum, such as Black Panther Party, Christian Anti-Communism Crusade, Communist Party, Industrial Workers of the World, and United Farm Workers Organizing Committee.

The collection consists of historical production research materials compiled by the Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Research Department for selected motion picture projects produced during the 1930s-1940. Included are loose-bound binders of research that may include text and/or photographic research.

Bernardine Fritz was born and raised in Peoria, Illinois. She worked as a reporter for the Chicago Evening Post and the New York Daily News before moving to Europe in 1925. She lived in London and Paris, and traveled extensively throughout India and China. After settling in Los Angeles in 1939, she established her "Hollywood salon" which brought together the leading literary and artistic personalities of the era, many of whom were American expatriates she met during her European exile.

Rudi Gernreich (1922-1985) was a controversial Austrian-American fashion designer and dancer, created clothes that celebrated the natural shape and movement of the body, including his most famous designs, the topless swimsuit and the thong swimsuit.

The collection consists of 2816 pamphlets and books on twentieth century socialist and labor movements around the world, with particular emphasis on communist, socialist, and collectivist political parties and organizations in the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, United Kingdom, and United States of America.

Holling Clancy Holling (1900-1973) was an instructor, freelance designer, advertising artist, and book illustrator. He and his wife Lucille Webster Holling collaborated on many books, including The Book of Indians (1935) and The Book of Cowboys (1936). He later wrote and illustrated fiction, combining nature and history themes, including Paddle-to-the-Sea (1941).

The collection consists of popular American sheet music dating from the mid 19th Century through the 21st Century. The collection continues to grow. Finding aids will be updated periodically.

Collection consists of business records, publication and poster samples, architectural drawings, newspaper clippings, videotapes, slides and other photographic material, audio recordings, awards and certificates of the Los Angeles Olympic Organizing Committee (LAOOC) in the staging of the Games of the XXIII Olympiad in LA in 1984.

Collection consists of pamphlets, brochures, catalogs, clippings, photographs, scrapbooks, and ephemera related to various expositions and fairs. Events include: World's Columbian Exposition (Chicago, 1893), Midwinter International Exposition (San Francisco, 1894), Trans-Mississippi and International Exposition (Omaha, 1898), Pan-American Exposition (Buffalo, 1901), Louisiana Purchase Exposition (St. Louis, 1904), Lewis and Clark Centennial Exposition (Portland, Oregon, 1905), Jamestown Exposition (Norfolk, 1907), Panama-Pacific International Exposition (San Francisco, 1915), and Golden Gate International Exposition (San Francisco, 1939). Also includes material for other U.S. fairs (up to Spokane, 1974), a historical register of the U.S. Centennial Exposition (Philadelphia, 1876), and materials from Paris, London, and other foreign fairs.

Wilhelm W. Krauss (b.1894) collaborated in writing the book, The racial characters of the Swedish nation (1926), lectured on topics of race and eugenics, and wrote several manuscripts on racial topics.

Albert Boime was born in St. Louis, Missouri on March 17, 1933 to Max and Dorothy Boime, both eastern European Jewish immigrants. In 1955 Boime joined the U.S. Army, serving in Germany before his discharge in 1958. Upon returning to the States Boime began his studies at the University of California, Los Angeles and received his B.A. in 1961. He went on to receive both his M.A. (1963) and Doctorate (1968) from Columbia University. Boime chaired the art department at Binghamton from 1972-74 and was recruited by the University of California, Los Angeles in 1978. He served as a professor of art history there for three decades.

Ralph Story (August 19, 1920 - September 26, 2006) was born Ralph Bernard Snyder in Kalamazoo, Michigan. He was a broadcast journalist and television host for more than four decades, hosting programs such as Ralph Story's Los Angeles-- an Emmy-winning weekly magazine series that ran on KNXT-TV from 1964 to 1970, The $64,000 challenge, Ralph Story's A.M., the KNXT Channel 2 Evening News and numerous prime time specials. Renowned especially for his local interest reporting, Story served as correspondent, reporter and anchor for radio and television news from the 1940s to the 1980s, and was a prolific lecturer on the media and California history.

Frank Buxton (1930-2018) was an actor, director, writer, producer, and host for assorted motion pictures and television programs. During his career he worked on various productions including Discovery; The Odd Couple, Happy Days, Mork and Mindy, and Hot Dog.

Bowring was born on October 17, 1792 in Exeter, England; after school in Exeter, he spent four years in a merchant's house where he learned a variety of languages. During the four years that he remained with this firm, he laid the foundations for his linguistic attainments, becoming familiar with the French, Spanish, Italian, Portuguese, German, and Dutch languages. Later he acquired sufficient knowledge of Swedish, Danish, Russian, Servian, Polish, Arabic, Magyar, Bohemian, and Chinese to enable him to translate works in those languages.

Charlotte Louise Woodbridge (C. Louise Woodbridge, Louise Woodbridge), born in China November 30, 1887, was a composer, organist, and music instructor. She later returned to China to teach music and the Bible.

The Japanese American Research Project (originally named the Issei History Project) was initiated by Wakamatsu Shigeo, President of the Japanese American Citizens League (JACL) in 1960.

The materials in this collection document the professional role of Charles R. Nixon, a Professor Emeritus of Political Science at UCLA, as a scholar of political theory, African politics, and American Politics.

Professional and research papers of Sheldon K. Friedlander, UCLA Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, 1978-2007. Friedlander conducted research in the areas of: aerosol science and technology, particulate systems, diffusion and interfacial transfer, air pollution control, air quality engineering, nanoparticle science and technology. Most of the collection dates from Friedlander's appointments at the California Institute of Technology (1964-1978) and at UCLA (1978-2007).

Collection consists of broadsides, clippings, brochures, and other ephemeral materials relating to California. Subjects include: abortion, Alcatraz Island, building and loan associations, California politics and government, Covina, drugs, Fort Ross, Greek-Americans, International Gay and Lesbian Archives, Japanese American National Museum, Hiram Johnson, William Kerckhoff, Los Angeles riots, motion picture theaters, Olympic Games, Rancho Santa Anita, Simon Wiesenthal Center, and others.

Collection consists of bound manuscripts of varying contents most notable for its early material which includes a papyrus fragment from the 7th century, a vellum Breviary (French, 15th century), a North French or Flemish Book of hours (late 15th or early 16th century), Persian and Arabic manuscripts, manuscript books from the 16th through 18th century, commonplace books, Friendship albums, and personal journals.

Earl Roy Miner (1927- ) was born in Marshfield, Wisconsin. He was a noted scholar of Japanese literature. Miner was a professor at Williams College, UCLA, and Princeton.

The Western States Jewish History Association, originally named the Western States Jewish Historical Society, began as an offshoot of the Southern California Jewish Historical Society, a local branch of the American Jewish Historical Society. The Association's founder, Norton Stern, and was appointed to create and publish a journal, The Western State Jewish History Quarterly in 1968.

Ana Bégué de Packman (1882-1973) was a fifth-generation descendant of Maria Luisa Dominguez and Juan Francisco Reyes, former alcalde of El Pueblo de Los Angeles. She was also a descendant of Maximo Alaniz, who arrived in Los Angeles in 1769 and became the first grantee of Rancho San Jose de Buenos Aires (now Westwood and the University of California, Los Angeles). She served as the Secretary of the Historical Society of Southern California from the 1930s through the 1950s, where she was actively engaged in educational outreach programs, speaking engagements, and assisting in restoration efforts for various California landmarks. In addition to her duties as secretary for the Historical Society, Packman was the curator of Casa Figueroa, a historic adobe built by Don Ramon Figueroa prior to the arrival of Anglo-Americans.

Harriet Shapiro was born in Los Angeles, California, November 4, 1924. She was a freelance writer and contributor of articles, feature stories, and reviews to magazines and scholarly journals.

Alice Jean Small (1918-2009) was a trained artist, graduating from the University of Washington School of Fine Arts with a Master's Degree. She continued her studies, traveling around the world and settling in California's Monterey Peninsula.

Carey McWilliams (1905-1980) was a writer, lawyer, journalist, lecturer, activist, as well as Chief of the California Division of Immigration and Housing (1938-1942) and editor of The Nation (1955-1975).

Margaret Galland Kivelson is an astrophysicist and professor emerita at UCLA's Department of Earth, Planetary, and Space Sciences and the Institute of Geophysics and Planetary Physics.

The Friends of the Los Angeles River (FoLAR) is a non-profit, urban environmental organization, founded in 1986 and focused on saving, restoring, and reviving the Los Angeles River.

Charlotte Crabtree (1927-2006) was a Professor of Education at the University of California, Los Angeles heavily involved in producing history standards for kindergarten - 12th grade education from 1986-1996, after which she coauthored a book about the intense political response from Lynne V. Cheney and others to the newly multicultural history standards.

Research, personal and professional files of Allegra Fuller Snyder, professor emeritus and past chair of UCLA Dance Department and World Arts and Cultures. Her research areas included performance dance, dance ethnology, dance therapy, and film as a method of preserving and documenting dance.

Charles Donald O'Malley was often referred to as the leading authority on Renaissance anatomy, especially on the life and work of Andreas Vesalius.

Willard Lee Marmelzat, M.D., renowned dermatologist, wrote multiple works on the history of medicine. In addition to his manuscripts, the collection consists of his subject files, correspondence, publications, professional society files, speeches, education files, and memorabilia.

Born Henry Fitzgerald Heard on October 6, 1889 in London, England; took honors in history at Cambridge, 1911, where he did postgraduate work in philosophy of religions from 1911-1912; lecturer at Oxford University. Heard moved to the US with Aldous Huxley and then to California. He died on August 14, 1971 in Santa Monica, CA.

Jesse Collings (1831-1920) was a native of Devonshire, though he lived most of his life in Birmingham. He started out with the mercantile firm of Booth & Co. before moving into politics, serving as mayor of Birmingham before representing Ipswich (1880-1886) and Bordesley (1886-1918) in Parliament. Collings is best known for authoring an important land reform bill, the Small Holdings and Allotments Bill, often referred to as the "three acres and a cow" policy.

Herbert D. Kaesz was a professor of chemistry in UCLA’s Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry. He received his PhD from Harvard University in 1959, and joined UCLA’s Inorganic Chemistry unit within the Chemistry and Biochemistry Department in 1960, where he researched the synthesis and applications of organometallic compounds.

The center of Sephardic life was to be found primarily in and around downtown until the 1930s, when it moved southwest towards South Los Angeles and the Exposition Park area. The Community's synagogue, Tifereth Israel, was inaugurated in 1932 and built on Santa Barbara Avenue, now Martin Luther King Jr. Boulevard. In 1959, a congregational merger created the Sephardic Community and Brotherhood of Los Angeles. Beginning in 1967, plans for a new temple in Westwood were underway that were ultimately realized during a final dedication ceremony in 1981. Over time, the organization and synagogue names would both be identified as the Sephardic Temple Tifereth Israel (STTI), as it is known at the time of processing (2019).

Yuji Ichioka (1936-2002) was an American-born Japanese (Nisei) historian who pioneered in studies of Japanese American experiences. Coining the term "Asian American," Ichioka was also instrumental in developing an academic field of Asian American Studies since the late 1960s.

Collection consists of miscellaneous 18th, 19th, and 20th century manuscript materials, typewritten transcripts, holographs, and facsimiles. Includes literary manuscripts, correspondence, letters, diaries, scripts, legal documents, photographs, and audio tapes related to various prominent literary, political, and intellectual figures.

Larry Simon Gelbart was born in Chicago, IL, Feb. 25, 1923-28 (sources vary); at age 16 he began comedy writing for radio's Maxwell House Coffee Times; from 1946-52, he continued writing for a variety of radio series such as "Duffy's Tavern" (1946), "Command Performance" (1946-47), and "The Bob Hope Show" (1949-52); started writing for television in 1950 and worked on shows including "The Red Buttons Show" and "Caesar's Television Comedy Hour"; started his career playwr iting in the early 1960s with the theatrical comedy, "The Conquering Hero" (1960); helped develop the television series "M*A*S*H" in 1972 and continued to work on the show until 1976 when he left to pursue other projects.

David L. Clark (1945- ) taught oral history and Los Angeles history at UCLA, UCLA Extension, and California State University, Los Angeles (1974- ). Collection consists of more than 100 papers presented by students in the oral history and Los Angeles history classes taught by Clark.

Carlos J. Moorhead was born on May 5, 1922 in Long Beach, Calif. He graduated from Hoover High in Glendale (1940), UCLA (1943) and, after serving in WWII, USC Law School. He became the Representative for the Forty-third Assembly District of California from 1966 until 1972.

The lives of Pat and Lily Okura represent Japanese American civil rights leadership in the face of adversity and discrimination. Their life histories give testament to service and dedication for social justice, especially for Asian American and Pacific Islander (AAPI) communities.

Richard Emery Lingenfelter (1934- ) was a professor of geophysics and planetary physics at UCLA (1969-79), and the author of several books on western American history.

Olive May Graves Percival (1869-1945) was an avid collector of books, hats, dolls, daguerreotypes, silver, textiles, quilts, fans, bookplates, Lalique, and Oriental art.

Donald F. McCallum was an art historian, professor, and chair at UCLA's Department of Art History. Born in Vancouver, British Columbia on May 23, 1939, he earned his AB at UC Berkeley (1962), and his PhD at the Institute of Fine Arts, New York University (1973). He was a scholar of Japanese art history and spent seven years doing research and fieldwork in Japan.

Yale came to California in 1850 from Jacksonville and established a law practice in San Francisco where for a number of years he was associated with the law firm of Halleck, Peachy & Billings. He was also associated with Frank Turk and other San Francisco lawyers. He later opened his own office and specialized in mining law. He was the author of Legal titles to mining claims and water rights in California (1867).

Kenneth Edwin Livingston was born in 1914, in Pendleton, Oregon. He attended Stanford University (BA, 1936) and Harvard Medical School (MD, 1939), and finished his specialization in Neurosurgery at the Lahey Clinic, Boston. Dr. Livingston and his Wellesley group did important research in limbic lobe mechanisms, temporal lobe epilepsy and drug addiction. But it was the question of pain, what it was and how to ameliorate it, that mainly occupied his mind and activities in later years.
(There is a supplemental K.E. Livingston collection as well generally covering the same topic with some overlap.)

Reuben W. Borough (1883-1970) was active in the Populist movement in Los Angeles in the early 20th century. He was a newspaper reporter for the Los Angeles Record, worked on Upton Sinclair's EPIC (End Poverty in California) gubernatorial campaign, and served as a councilmember of the Municipal League of Los Angeles and as a board member of the Los Angeles Board of Public Works. He was a key organizer of the recall campaign that ousted Los Angeles Mayor Frank Shaw and elected Mayor Fletcher Bowron on a reform platform in 1938. He was a founding member of the Independent Progressive Party, and a life-long progressive proponent for labor, civil and political rights, peace, and the public ownership of power.

John L. Fahey can be considered one of the founding fathers of the field of clinical immunology and was the founding president of the Clinical Immunology Society in 1986. He discovered Immunoglobulin D (IgD) while at NIH and delineated other classes of immunoglobulins. Throughout his career, he engaged in international education and training in immunology, building research capacity for HIV/AIDS in developing countries. One of his major contributions in the fight against AIDS has been his research in the interaction of the immune system and the nervous system, pointing out the complexity of the disease. Fahey helped to establish several UCLA Institutes, such as the NIH-funded Center for Interdisciplinary Research in Immunology and Disease (CIRID), initiated in 1978.

William Starke Rosecrans (1819-1898) commanded the Army of the Cumberland during the Tullahoma campaign and at the battles of Stone's river and Chickamauga during the U.S. Civil War. After the war, he moved to Los Angeles, California and became an advocate for railroad building and Mexican trade in the West before being appointed as the U.S. Minister to Mexico (1868). He later served in the U.S. Congress (1881-85), and as the Register of the U.S. Treasury (1885-93).

John Walton Caughey was born July 3, 1902 in Wichita, Kansas; attended University of Texas; Ph.D., University of California at Berkeley, 1928; became UCLA professor of history, 1930; editor, Pacific Historical Review, 1947-68; served on editorial boards of various western historical journals; served on boards of American Historical Association (AHA)and Organization of American Historians (OAH); chairman, UCLA Department of History; in 1949 began to fight against University of California loyalty oath; active in American Association of University Professors (AAUP), American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU), and school integration movements; author of many books and articles on Los Angeles, California, the West, and issues arising from McCarthy era; died December 15, 1995 in Lexington, Massachusetts.

Michael Bruce Braver was born on Sept. 25, 1946 in New York City; AB, MA, UCLA, 1969; MSW, Univ. of Southern CA., 1978; Ph.D, CA School of Professional Psychology, 1983; became asst. professor, Central Washington Univ., 1969-71, winning a meritorious teaching award in 1969; clinical psychologist in private practice, Toluca Lake, CA, beginning in 1980.

Truesdell Sparhawk Brown (1906-1992) was a asssistant professor (1948-51), associate professor (1951-56), professor (1956-73) and professor emeritus of ancient history at UCLA and chairman of history department (1959-62).

The Jones and Conger families were among the pioneers of California and Nevada. Thomas Conger became state senator in California. Conger's son-in-law, John P. Jones, became senator in Nevada and was the founder of Santa Monica. Jones' son, Roy Jones, helped organize the Ramina corporation, one of the most extensive developers of northern and southern California.

Collection consists of broadsides, clippings, brochures and other ephemeral material relating to the U.S., except for material on California and of the Southwest, which are in two separate collections. Subjects include Alaska, William Cullen Bryant, Richard Henry Dana, Eugene V. Debs, dime novels, Mary Baker Eddy, William Faulkner, Freemasons, Jesse James, Martin Luther King, Mexicans in the US, National Wildlife Foundation, and John Greenleaf Whittier.

In the Life (also known as In the Life Media) was a production company founded in 1992 with the mission of broadcasting LGBT stories in an effort to challenge homophobia and negative perceptions. Airing in 1992 on six Public Broadcasting Stations, the television series In the Life (ITL) was the first nationally broadcast public television series dedicated to advocating visibility and equality for the LGBT community. During its series run from 1992-2012, ITL grew to reach over one hundred stations across the United States, as well as Canada. The television series gained critical acclaim, earning Emmy Award nominations, a Lambda Legal Liberty Award, the NLGJA Seigenthaler Award for excellence in network television, and a GLAAD Media Award for Outstanding TV Journalism-Newsmagazine.

The Tourism Industry Development Council (TIDC), later changed to Los Angeles Alliance for a New Economy (LAANE), was founded in 1993 by Maria Elena Durazo, then president of Hotel Employees and Restaurant Employees (HERE) Local 11, Tom Walsh, HERE Local 814, Father Dick Gillette, Episcopal Church, Kent Wong, UCLA Labor Center, and Madeline Janis-Aparicio, Executive Director, to address conditions in the Los Angeles tourism industry, a large generator of low wage jobs and poverty in Los Angeles.

John J. Bonica (1917-1994), called "pain relief's founding father" by Time magazine (11 June 1984), was an academic and clinical anesthesiologist, educator, and founder of the International Association for the Study of Pain.

Ruth Patricia Shellhorn Kueser (September 21, 1909 - November 3, 2006) was a landscape architect who practiced in the Los Angeles area. Her best known projects include Disneyland, the Bullock's department stores and Fashion Squares, University of California at Riverside, and the Shoreline Development Study. Shellhorn's commercial work helped to establish an iconic Southern California landscape style.

John Randolph Haynes was an active reformer and member of the Progressive movement. His wife, Dora Haynes was a suffragist, leading the campaign for women’s right to vote in California. Together, they founded The John Randolph Haynes and Dora Haynes Foundation in 1926.

Donald R. Morris (1924-2002) was best known for authoring The Washing of the Spears: The Rise and Fall of the Zulu Nation (1965), a history on the Anglo-Zulu War. He wrote two novels, China Station (1951) and Warm Bodies (1957), and a number of articles for publication in various periodicals. His spent his career in the Navy, the CIA, and, after retirement, as a journalist for the Houston Post.

Richard Josef Neutra (1892-1970) was born in Vienna. He was the city architect for Luckenwalde, then worked as a draftsman-collaborator with Erich Mendelsohn in Berlin before immigrating to the United States in 1923. He worked with Frank Lloyd Wright (1924) before settling in Los Angeles. His most productive years were during 1930s and 1940s. In the 1960s, Richard J Neutra worked in partnership with his son Dion.

Charles Stuart, Baron Stuart de Rothesay (1779-1845) was a member of the British diplomatic service (1808-45). He served as joint chargé d'affaires at Madrid (1808), envoy to Portugal (1810), minister at the Hague (1815-16), ambassador to Paris (1815-30), and ambassador to St. Petersburg (1841-45).

Wanda Coleman was born on November 13, 1946 and grew up in the Watts neighborhood of Los Angeles, CA. Coleman's poetry is widely anthologized and published, and her poetry collection Bathwater Wine received the 1999 Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize. In addition to her poetic career, Coleman was also successful across genres. She had a well-known column in the Los Angeles Times and won an Emmy for her writing on Days of Our Lives.

The Los Angeles City Board of Education serves as the governing, policy-making body for the Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD).

The Orsini are one of most important families in Italian history. At the height of their influence, in the late Middle Ages and into the Renaissance, the Orsini were crucial players in Italian politics; they were closely allied to the Medici, with whom they were tied by several high-level marriages. The family produced three popes, about thirty cardinals and 62 senators of Rome, as well as several electors of Saxony and Brandenburg, and grand masters of the Knights of Malta. They were related to a number of royal houses of Europe.

The AIDS poster collection consists of 949 posters from 44 countries including Australia, Austria, Canada, China , Costa Rica, France, Germany, India, Japan, Luxembourg, Martinique, Mexico, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland, Tahiti, Uganda, the United Kingdom and the United States. The posters were issued by a variety of institutions and organizations to educate and warn people about AIDS (Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome) and to offer advice and information in visual form.

The Monday Night Class was made up of professionals and their spouses who wished to continue their education in the humanities and social sciences. Members of the group included physicians, phychiatrists, dentists, business people and people associated with the entertainment indusctry. The group first formed in the 1950s by Munn Feinberg, and Sally Anais Naiditch had responsibility for the expansion and adminstration of the group from 1963 until the mid-1970s. Lectures were held in the homes of members, usually starting at the Naiditch household in Los Angeles. In addition to organizing the lectures, Sally also recorded the sessions.

Joseph E. Spencer (1907-1984) was a professor of geography at UCLA. His fields of expertise were East and Southeast Asia and cultural geography.

William Knox Mellon, Jr. (b.1925) was a professor of history at Immaculate Heart College, the Democratic nominee for the California 24th District for Congress (1962), and the treasurer for the Oral History Association. The collection consists of periodicals and various publications of the John Birch Society, clippings and documents of the Pasadena-based Network of Patriotic Letter Writers, and papers and clippings of several political campaigns in Southern California.

Thomas Crosby Lancey (1824-1885) joined the U.S. Navy (1846) serving as baggage master on the North Carolina before being transferred to the U.S. Sloop of War Dale as captain's coxswain. He kept a journal of daily occurrences which formed the basis of the three volume manuscript, The Cruise of the Dale, some of which Hubert Howe Bancroft used in preparing his History of California. After his discharge from the U.S. Navy (1849), Lancey kept a store for Hoyt and Smith near Sacramento and ran the first stage to the gold mines while continuing to collect clippings from newspapers and information from his fellow veterans.

Julian Nava's career has combined civic involvement and teaching in the United States and in Venezuela, Colombia, Puerto Rico, and Spain. He served as the U.S. Ambassador to Mexico—he was the first Mexican American appointed to this position—and on the governing board of the Los Angeles Unified School District. He helped organize the creation of UC MEXUS (University of California Institute for Mexico and the United States), a bi-national research institute that facilitates and encourages scholarly exchange.

The collection is mostly about Korean human rights and democratic development during the 1970s and 1980s in the United States. Also, it contains information on how American religious and citizen groups participated in activities in Washington, DC and abroad to promote Korean democracy. The "Korea Church Coalition for Peace, Justice, and Reunification" (formerly named "North American Coalition for Human Rights in Korea") was formed in 1975 during the Yushin period by concerned religious and human rights activists in the United States. According to the Coalition, the organization was "the major voice which spoke out on behalf of victims of human rights abuses as well as supported efforts for democracy in Korea."

Clifford E. Clinton (1900-1969) was a restauranteur active in Los Angeles politics. He was involved with the recall of Los Angeles mayor Frank Shaw and supported Fletcher Bowron as mayor of Los Angeles (1938), helped organize the Citizen's Independent Vice Investigating Committee (CIVIC), and was active in civic reform movements. Clinton ran unsuccessfully for mayor in 1945. He was also involved with Community Food Service Centers, the development of multi-purpose food, and the Meals for Millions Foundation during World War II. His father was a missionary and Clinton spent some of his childhood in China.

The cinerama process, originally developed by Frederick Waller (1939), was the first effective wide-screen process. The Cinerama Releasing Corporation (CRC) faced competition from cheaper wide-screen processes and began major construction on new buildings designed specifically for the Cinerama process (mid-1950s). CRC dissolved (mid-1970s), leaving the buildings, many doomed to technological obsolescence.

Joseph Katz was born August 10, 1924 in New York City. After serving as a pilot in the Pacific during World War II, he attended New York University. His career in the entertainment industry started in the 1940s when while working in the advertising field, he conceived a notion to use television as a way to sell candy products. This landed him a contract with Dumont and in 1947, he produced and directed the television talent show Look Upon a Star. During the 1950s he produced and directed a number of game shows, including The $64,000 Question (1955-58) and also worked with Jackie Gleason and Art Carney on Cavalcade of Stars. Cates has also been credited with designing the original set of The Honeymooners and casting Art Carney in the role of Ed Norton.

Frank A. Chapman was born on November 18, 1909. He was an avid collector of political and popular cartoons, amassing materials that ranged from 1913-1984 covering numerous topics including presidential administrations, political and popular culture, social issues, sports, and foreign leaders. Frank Chapman died in September 1985 and was survived by his son Arnold Chapman who generously donated his father's collection to the UCLA Library.

The Buddhist Churches of America (BCA) is a national organization of the Jōdo Shinshū Hongwanji sect in the continental United States. Formerly known as the Buddhist Mission of North America (BMNA), the BCA is the largest Japanese American Buddhist organization and is currently headquartered in San Francisco, California.

Ryoichi Fujii (1905-1983) was a bilingual journalist, political commentator, and political activist. Born as Asano Katsu in Gifu city in Gifu Prefecture, he was known as “Bob” Fujii in English. A graduate of Doshisha University, Fujii came to the U.S. as a student in 1931, where he attended Oberlin and received his M.A. in 1934. Between 1936 and 1940, he was a member of the American Communist Party active in Southern California. During the wartime years, Fujii was interned first at Santa Anita and then at Heart Mountain. As an advocate of cooperation with the American government, he was a key figure in the resettlement phase of internment, especially in the Chicago area. In 1945 he founded the Chicago Shimpo. As an editor and writer, he was an outspoken opponent of McCarthyism, white racism, the U.S.-Japan Mutual Security Pact, and the Vietnam War and a supporter of the civil rights movement.

Joseph Alfred Andrews was born in 1858 and died in 1928. He received an M.D. degree from Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons in 1876 and subsequently specialized in ophthalmology and otolaryngology.

John Frederick Povey was born April 5, 1929 in South London. Povey was educated at St. Dunstan's College in London during the Blitz. After World War II, Povey was employed in a gold mine in South Africa under a plan that allowed him to study at the University of South Africa in Pretoria, where he completed a B.A. in English (1956) and an M.A. in Teaching English as a Second Language (1960). In the United States, Povey completed his Ph.D. in Third World Literature in English at Michigan State University (1964), after which he joined the faculty at UCLA. His areas of research included South African and Nigerian literature, comparative world literature, language planning and policy, ESL/TESL, and investigating symbols and rituals in African art.

Anthony Charles Beilenson was born on Oct. 26, 1932 in New Rochelle, NY; BA, Harvard Univ., 1954; LL.B, Harvard Univ. Law School, 1957; admitted to CA bar in 1957, and began practice in Beverly Hills; worked as counsel, CA State Assembly Committee on Finance and Insurance, 1960; served in CA State Assembly, 1963-66; served in CA State Senate, 1967-76, where he chaired the Senate Committee on Health and Welfare (1968-74) and the Senate Finance Committee (1975-76); authored more than 200 state laws, including the Therapeutic Abortion Act of 1967, the Auto Repair Fraud Act of 1971, and the Funeral Reform Act of 1971; served as a Democrat in the US House of Representatives, 1977-97; became chair of the House Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence (1989-90), and served on the House Budget Committee (1988-94), and the House Rules Committee; did not stand as a candidate for re-election in 1996.

Andrew Brown (1829-1909) was born in Ireland. In 1852, he sailed around Cape Horn to San Francisco. He later went into the mercantile business, purchased thousands of acres of land, built a flour mill and a lumber mill and became engaged extensively in farming as well as raising cattle and horses.

Henry Stevens (1819-1886) was a London bookseller, bibliographer, publisher, and an expert on early editions of the English Bible and early voyages and travels to America. He helped build up the collections of John Carter Brown and James Lenox, as well as the Smithsonian Institution and the Library of Congress. In 1845, Stevens moved to London and became an agent for the British Museum for procuring books from the Americas.

Nikki Keddie is Professor Emeritus in the Department of History. Keddie taught Middle Eastern and Iranian history at UCLA. Her research focused on Iran, Islam, Middle Eastern women, and comparative world history. This collection, spanning 1947 to 2003, consists of materials related to Keddie's teaching career and academic research.

This seven volume collection of manuscripts and printed materials on colonial and independent Peru focuses on the late eighteenth century, although its contents span from the seventeenth to the early nineteenth century. Three volumes of Royal Decrees feature important institutional information for the entirety of Spanish America, especially in relation to the late Bourbon military reforms under Viceroy Theodore de la Croix. Fernando Quadrado, an important eighteenth century Spanish oidor, appears prominently throughout the collection. The Peruvian mining industry is well documented in two volumes related to Baron von Nordenflicht's controversial mining expedition and Pedro Miralles' relationship to the former.

A compilation of pamphlets, books, newspaper issues and broadsides from Europe, North America, and Latin America. Major topics covered in the literature include: Marxism, communism, socialism, fascism, anarchism, and labor issues.

Henry A. Waxman served as a lawyer in private practice and as a member of the California State Assembly from 1969 until 1974. In 1974 he was elected as Congressman for the California Twenty-fourth district, and served in Congress from 1975 to 2015. During his time in the US House of Representatives, Waxman participated in creating and passing legislation pertaining to a number of issues ranging from the environment and health care to government reform. He retired from the US House of Representatives in 2015.

Robert Carlton Brown (1886-1959) was a writer, editor, publisher, and traveler. From 1908 to 1917, he wrote poetry and prose for numerous magazines and newspapers in New York City, publishing two pulp novels, What Happened to Mary and The Remarkable Adventures of Christopher Poe (1913), and one volume of poetry, My Marjonary (1916).