Music Center records
The Music Center of Los Angeles County, a seven-acre performing arts complex in downtown Los Angeles, opened when the Dorothy Chandler Pavilion raised its curtain for the first time on December 6, 1964. It has expanded to now include the Ahmanson Theatre, Mark Taper Forum, and the Walt Disney Concert Hall which includes the Roy and Edna Disney/CalArts Theater, and the W.M. Keck Foundation Children's Amphitheatre.
The Music Center records range from 1732-2018 and contain the files of the Music Center Operating Company, photographer Otto Rothschild, the Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra, the Hollywood Bowl, the Los Angeles Civic Light Opera, the Dorothy Chandler Pavilion, the Center Theatre Group, fundraising organizations, the Music Center Education Division, the Walt Disney Concert Hall, and the Music Center Reference Library, as well as memorabilia and ephemera.
The Music Center records also contain the following collections: the Dorothy Chandler collection of awards and memorabilia, the Otto Rothschild photographs collection, the Marion Burke collection, the Edwin Lester Los Angeles Civic Light Opera photographic collection, the Pat Martin Opera collection, the Pilgrimage Play Theatre records, the George Zoritch collection of Playbill Magazine, the Kenn Randall collection of theatre programs, the Charles Coburn collection of sheet music, the Raymond Barnes collection of theatre programs, Mrs. Leiland A. Irish collection of Los Angeles theatre history, and the Olga Rosenthal collection of performing arts ephemera.
Includes records of Japanese Philharmonic of Los Angeles leased events, and Japanese translations of Symphonians script files.