ECHO
ECHO includes links to over 5,000 websites relating to the History of Science, Technology, and Industry. Use the links below to access the website's main page where you can jump to links, Browse by Categories link to browse all websites by category, or Search Funciton to search ECHO for websites that include a specific word or phrase.
Scientific Illustration
- Database of Scientific IllustratorsIncludes scientific illustrators from all over the world, from the invention of the printing press around 1450 up to ca.1950. Produced by the University of Stuttgart.
In UCLA Library Special Collections
Search the UCLA Library Catalog and the Online Archive of California for 19th-century primary sources related to the history of science, technology, and/or medicine. Here is a sample of what you can find in the UCLA Library Catalog by searching "science 19th century" and limiting the location to "Biomed History and Special Collections" and "YRL Special Collections." Be sure to sort the results by publish date to find the earliest materials.
19th Century HSMT Resources
- Alice Eastwood Papers at the California Academy of SciencesFinding aid for the papers of Alice Eastwood, 19th century botanist. Includes primary source material such as field notes, diaries, letters, photographs, memoirs, and other materials.
- Burndy Library at The Huntington LibraryThe Burndy Library is a collection of some 67,000 rare books and reference volumes; the collection also contains scientific instruments. This link takes you to results from a search in the Huntington Library Catalog for "Burndy Library Collection at the Huntington Library" as a Subject.
- CalTech ArchivesThe digital collection of the archives of the California Institute of Technology. Included in their collections are manuscripts, photographs, oral histories, artifacts, a digital media collection, online exhibits, and much more. Also included are images from rare books.
- Cholera OnlineThe National Library of Medicine's resource for primary sources on cholera online. Includes images and digitized books from the 19th century.
- Electronic Enlightenment This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Searchable and browseable database offering extensive access to the web of correspondence between the greatest thinkers and writers of the 18th century and their families and friends, bankers and booksellers, patrons and publishers. Coverage includes letters and documents, document sources such as manuscripts and early printed editions, scholarly annotations, and links to biographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, newspapers, and other online resources. - Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Portal that includes visual, manuscript and printed materials sourced from multiple libraries, companies, and trade organizations. It charts the history of 15 major commodities, including chocolate, coffee, oil, and sugar. - Historical Statistics of the United States-Millennial Edition Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable updated source of historical data on government statistics, including population, work and welfare, economics, and more.
- London's Pulse: Medical Officer of Health reports 1848-1972Contains personal accounts by the Medical Officers and statistical data in the form of graphs, tables and charts. Covering a wide range of topics from birth rates to causes of death, the reports offer a rich source of material for public health research. They also cover varying aspects of London life: housing, food hygiene, health services, local trades and industries.
- The Making of the Modern World: Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital collection of books, periodicals, and primary source materials from the period 1460-1945. Focuses on economics, political science, history, and sociology, with special collections on banking, finance, transportation, and manufacturing.
- Medical Heritage LibraryThe Medical Heritage Library is a digital curation collaborative among some of the world’s leading medical libraries. This open access collection includes digitized medical rare books, pamphlets, journals, and films from 1600 to the present.
- Patent Medicine Trade Cards CollectionImages of medicine trade cards from UCLA's Special Collections.
- Travel Writing, Spectacle and World HistoryPortal contains hundreds of accounts by women of their travels across the globe from the early 19th century to the late 20th century. Sources cover topics including the arts, the British Empire, exploration, race, and more. Contents also include manuscripts, diaries and correspondence, drawings, guidebooks and photographs.
- University and Jepson Herbaria (UC Berkeley)The University and Jepson Herbaria Archives holds nearly 100 collections from botanists, extending from 1820 to the present day. Collections include primary source materials such as correspondence, field notes, manuscripts, reports, photographs, and maps focusing on California. Subjects covered include Mexican and Pacific expeditions and the formation of the Sierra Club and the Save-the-Redwoods League. Image collection included.
- Victorian Popular Culture This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Research portal for the study of popular entertainment in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Segments include: Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks; Moving Pictures, Optical Entertainments and the Advent of Cinema; Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment; Spiritualism, Sensation and Magic.
- The Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of LondonThe Philosophical Transactions is the Royal Society of London's journal of scientific discoveries. This resource includes issues from its inception in 1665 to present. (In 1887, the Philosophical Transactions split into two separate journals, one on physical sciences ("A") and the other on life sciences ("B"), both of which are also available on the site.)